2010 Ceed reviews

24 November 2014

Search

2010 Kia Ceed reviews

Kia Ceed reviews by year of make:2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 Read all reviews

Buy used imageBuy new / nearly new imageContract hire image

Tony, England

Kia Ceed 3 2010

5 star review

The first time I drove a Kia Ceed was in March 2010. It was the limited edition strike model with the 1.4 89bhp petrol engine and I bought it. What a nice, smooth, refined engine it has, and what a nice car it is to drive. I had no problems with it from day one. The quality and kit you get for the money over and above the class leaders is a reason to own one in itself. However, I did decide to change it recently for a different car simply because I’d found another bargain . My new car is ........ Another Kia Ceed . The difference is that I have now bought the 1.6 CRDI Ceed 3 model, and what a car this one is. The fuel economy is brilliant, it’s fast, it’s very responsive and the road tax is only £30 a year! How’s that for value? The best thing, however, is what I paid for this six month old car with only 11,995 miles on the clock. All I will say is that a pound a mile isn’t bad value now is it? A differently badged car would of cost me around £14,995 in slightly lower spec and probably have 40,000 miles on the clock. Look no further eh? Only my opinion of course.

Responses to this review

Was this a reps car? - Geoff milles in 6 months] Geoff from England

No, not a reps car, but it probably had lots of drivers because it belonged to Hertz car rental. The mileage of 12,000 has no relevance to the Ceed as it comes with a 100,000 mile or seven year warranty. With the car being six months old, the warranty is topped back up to seven years and as I don’t see myself doing that sort of mileage within the seven years then I rest my case. Oh by the way Geoff, it is now March and i’ve had the car six months and guess what? I haven’t had to go back to the dealer at all for anything - from England

Still have a Kia Ceed. 50,000 miles on the clock. Happy smiling mouth on my clock . HOW NICE. - from Yorkshire

I previously worked for a company who ran a fleet of five Kia Ceeds that their reps ran around in. I was one of those reps. During my time with this company nothing went wrong with any of the Ceeds they ran at all, not even a blown bulb. The cars were routinely changed at 100,000 miles for another Ceed and I worked for them for five years getting through two Ceeds in that period. In my opinion the Ceed is quite simply the best car in its sector, it drives well, is extremely well made and the reliability is astonishing. I am now self employed so have bought myself a second hand Ceed with 50k miles on the clock. It is six years old and I have added another 20k onto it with not a hint of trouble. - from Hertfordshire

Submitted: 2010-11-01 | ID: 41942

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Mike Smithson, Bedfordshire

Kia Ceed Ceed 3 CRDI automatic 2010

5 star review

There is only one problem with the Kia Ceed and that is the badge on the front. The firm has yet to build up a brand reputation but this model will go a long way towards meeting that goal. Three months ago I had no idea what a Kia Ceed was and had no intention of changing my four year Mercedes A160 even though I found the seats to be exceedingly uncomfortable. Then, with just 51,000 miles on the clock the fuel pump failed. The cost of fixing it was £1,200. Holding onto the car as it got older looked like an expensive proposition. My search for a new vehicle covered first the Citroen C4 but I found that exceedingly difficult to get in and out of. Then there was the Ford Focus which was ruled out for the same reason. The Peugeot 308 seemed fine but my local dealer could not get me an automatic diesel for me to test drive. What attracted me to Kia was the seven year warranty which would provide considerable peace of mind. At that stage I had no appreciation of how good a car it was. With lumbar support and lots of seat steering wheel adjustment options I quickly found a comfortable driving position. I could drive without back pain. The car is extraordinarily spacious for the driver and both front and rear passengers. The really amazing factor is the overall feeling of quality you get from the moment you close the doors with a satisfactory "thunk". The steering wheel and all the controls just feel right and I like the subdued but functional dashboard design. There is an old true-ism "you only get one chance to make a first impression" and that seems to have been central to Kia’s German design team when they were developing the vehicle. The immediate impact is great - it feels right. My previous cars have included two Audis, a BMW and two Mercedes A-classes. The Kia Ceed beats the lot of them. I love driving it and I have not had that feeling about a vehicle since I got my first car more than forty years ago.

Submitted: 2010-10-07 | ID: 41941

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Jon de Quincy, Shropshire

Kia Ceed 1.6 grdi auto spec 3 2010

5 star review

In May my 1.8 Astra auto estate, low miles came up to 3 yrs old and it was end of lease and time to look. I started with Renault, I liked Megan coupe style but on close inspection found its bulky boxey design and interior not great and the garage poor so legged it to VW. There met with a problem, no stock for 14 weeks, also expensive. I felt for what you get up specs very over priced indeed, so on to Ford who are processing brand new Focus range to fight with new Astras’, Golfs’ etc. The dealership, Furrows of Shrewsbury had very pleasant sales dept. Immediate offer to try 1.6 Kia grd sw 6 speed sw , totally impressed , i signed up order there and then. I found the gearbox lovely as well as the clutch, steering bang on, specification frankly huge on the 3 spec, quality inside out truly amazing. I picked up my new car 31/5/10, I paid extra and had dynobrite paint and fabric upholstery protection, guaranteed product, helps if the car has to face acid rain sits outside, stands parked more these days, so made sense. My Kia arrived as promised, turnout was impressive, sales helpful. I speak as I find; the issues as opposed to my Astra one gets much more for much less money. Drive excellent; prefer manual but clutch difficult due to leg problems, the auto box is great refined smooth generally, low mile user, but thus far totally taken with high quality. Driveability, functions, brakes, steering etc., great. Does not suffer huge buttons like new Astra, very clever car. Kia intent on transforming their sales. Problem: Unless you drive one, you will not appreciate just what a cracking car this model is. For great deals, specs, choice, I recommend you visit a Kia dealer and check out this new Ceed. Driving is sure-footed performance, obviously nursing it in gently but delightful for new car in price range. Simply stuffs Astras, VWs and the Peugeot, lots of real space, fantastic. However, fuel won’t be great for 10k miles, bear in mind new, tight auto averaging locally 37/38 mpg in town, I’m yet to enjoy a long journey, but that 7 yrs warranty shouts confidence in this product. These cars as cheap as 15k on net new from main dealer. My early impressions cannot but say winner throughout, pity about name perhaps, however, I can give it 5 out of 5 and predict these cars will soon be on a waiting list. Best new car to date, wish I had found tried it years ago. Just experience one you will truly be amazed. Quality, door shuts, even rear door, quietly. As good as BMW sends Merc to shame, try it and you like me will order, no hesitation, guaranteed winner.

Submitted: 2010-08-08 | ID: 41934

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Jay, Nottinghamshire

Kia Ceed Strike 2010

5 star review

Took delivery 5th March from Draycotts Kia. Everything works fine, good drive, good mileage, comfortable, pleased as punch.<br /><br />

Submitted: 2010-07-23 | ID: 41933

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Michelle, England

Kia Ceed Strike 2010

1 star review

Kia Ceed Strike purchased from Clarks of Kidderminster. Two days after I purchased I tried the cd player and it did not work correctly, it has a crackling noise when original cds are played. After promises from Kia help line and Kia head office we eventually had the car booked in at the garage to replace the cd unit only for it not to turn up on the parts order and the thoughtful member of staff at Clarks did not have the decency to advise me of the back up plan ie a new strike in the showroom which was to be a doner got delivered the day before we were booked in. We are now reaching 3 months from the date of purchase and no sign of a new one. The after sales service is totally unacceptable and for this reason I would not touch another Kia car, which is a great shame as other aspects of the car have been well thought out and it drives nice. The worrying aspect is if anything major went wrong how long would that take????

Responses to this review

It’s a shame that the dealer has let you down and not the manufacturer of the car . I myself have had no problems with the Kia Cee’d Strike and have yet to undergo the dealer-customer relationship which may or may not be satisfactory if and when I do have a problem. However, I do think that the 7 year warranty and the cost of this vehicle far outweighs the worry of having a bad dealer sell you the car in the first place , especially when you have such a broad dealer network to go to if anything does go wrong. I would like to think the dealer who sold me the car will look after myself and the car or I take my business elsewhere. It would not put me off buying another Kia - from Yorkshire

I fail to see how you can say the 7 year warranty is good, when the original reviewer says that their car has not been fixed for 3 months. What is the worth of a warranty that does nothing? I would recommend legal advice - from Kent

Sorry Alan from Kent, but I disagree with your point about the warranty issue. Trust me, under the terms and conditions of the manufacturer warranty Michelle’s fault on the Kia Car will be addressed. It is not the whole car that is at fault but the CD unit. I think the dealer may be at fault here for not contacting the customer with any follow up calls. The best course of action would be to ring Kia motors and ask why this problem hasn’t been addressed. I have a Kia and many people I know have them too. All are happy with them - from Yorkshire

Hi I have looked on this site for reviews on this car and this is really no help. Okay so the CD player was a problem but what about the car? You know the expensive stuff like engine, gearbox etc? How does it drive? Is it economical? Is the boot space of a good size? This is what is important in a car not the CD player surely? - from Kent

Does Tony from Yorkshire work for Kia? There is no need to defend them like they are your own family. It is only a business and only a car! You must be great fun in the pub, my own opinion about this car is it is cheap. It is Korean, there are going to be some problems you just have to decide what is more important to you, money or service, if service is more important then buy an Audi or BMW - from Durham

No, Tony does not work for Kia and I am great fun in a pub, but like all of you I just put my honest and truthful opinion across to those who are interested in buying a Kia, NOT an Audi or BMW. All I am stating is that I have not had a problem with my Kia. What makes you think that you get better service from Audi or BMW? It is the individual dealer that gives you service NOT the manufacturer of the car. Nobody is perfect are they Col from Durham? Only MY opinion of course - from Yorkshire

Submitted: 2010-06-06 | ID: 41916

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Paul Williams, Buckinghamshire

Kia Ceed SR 1.6 Auto 2010

4 star review

Lovely car, with only a few minor problems. It goes through tyres quickly, there is a knocking from the steering head, flap won’t easily open due to linkage wear in the petrol cap control, driver seat clonks into position when breaking after adjusting to rear position, 31mpg around town.

Submitted: 2010-06-04 | ID: 41923

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Rob Bruty, Kent

Kia Ceed 1.4 2010

4 star review

Have had my Ceed about 2 months. The remote central locking has packed up and waiting for the garage to contact me when they have obtained the spare part. Bit alarmed that other Ceed customers have had problems with the central locking jamming up in freezing conditions. Nice smooth ride when driven at normal speeds but not so when pushed. Have given the car 4 stars on proviso I have no further problems.

Submitted: 2010-05-13 | ID: 41914

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

The latest Kia Ceed) deals on our sister site ContractHireAndLeasing.com (links open in a new window)

    Other people need your help

    Your review will help others decide which vehicle to buy. By spending just a little bit of time filling out a consumer car review you can share your experiences with other drivers, giving information only owners will talk about, no marketing spiel, just the real thing. We publish all reviews, whether you rate the vehicle high or low. We are impartial. We are independent. We are committed to 100% real reviews. Please give others the benefit of your advice: give them your review.

    Your review will be checked for offensive language within the next few days and then put on RoadTestReports.co.uk and all of our partners websites.

    Have your say!

    ^ Back to Top