2010 C1 reviews

21 October 2014

Search

2010 Citroen C1 reviews

Citroen C1 reviews by year of make:2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 Read all reviews

Buy used imageBuy new / nearly new imageContract hire image

Krenna, Swindon

Citroen C1 2009 - 2012

1 star review

I bought my C1 a year ago with 10,000 on the clock. It has now reached 17,000 and my clutch started making an odd whining noise. I took it to my local garage who told me the thrust bearing has gone and that they were shocked it could do so at such low mileage. The clutch needs replacing at a cost of £350 at this garage. I rang Citroen direct and was told that the clutch should indeed not fail at such low mileage and that there would be some 'goodwill' regardless of the fact that the warranty had expired. They sent me to a Citroen dealership who took over an hour to diagnose the same fault that my garage had diagnosed in 2 minutes!! Rang Citroen who promptly tried to backtrack on their offer. Luckily the earlier phone call had been recorded and therefore as a gesture of goodwill they have offered to pay 50% of the cost provided it is done at their chosen dealer. The cost for this repair at said dealer... £699, so therefore I still have to stump up £350!!! It is interesting to read that someone else has been offered a goodwill gesture of 90% for the same issue. This appears to me to be a design fault which needs to be addressed urgently. I also have the leaking seal and condensation problem reported by so many others on here. I am going to use the Sale of Goods Act 1979. I am also going to report this to Watchdog, publish it on facebook and shout it from the rooftops to anyone else who will listen. This part is not fit for purpose and I feel this is very shoddy business practice. We should all put our voices together and see if we cannot bring about a change

Submitted: 2014-06-16 | ID: 97806

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Pal Moodley, South Africa

Citroen C1 Seduction 2010

3 star review

I purchased my car in Sept 2010. It now has 51000 on the clock. When I bought it I was having problems changing gears even though it was brand new. I reported it but to no avail. Now 2013 I have had to do a clutch overhaul! Still the gears aren’t very smooth. Very disappointed.

Submitted: 2013-12-16 | ID: 37502

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Ian Bayne, South Africa

Citroen C1 1.0i Furio 2010

2 star review

My daughter purchased this car second hand with 25.000 kms on the clock. After just 2 months is failed to start, and she had to have it towed to a local Citreon Main Dealer, who diagnosed the problem as a faulty ignition and the starter moter is U S Neither the warrant or Citreon themselves accept that this failure is unacceptable, in fact the quality of the starter motor is not fit for purpose, having broken down withe car being less than a year old. There is also the point of price structures, A starter moter for this model in the U K costs £230-00, however in South Africa the same conponent costs £630-00, does third world mean you can triple the prices? How can a company like Citreon charge one tenth of the vehicles cost price for a starter motor?

Responses to this review

My auntie bought a Citreon C1 Vibe in 2008 when it was 18 months old. After six days, the clutch went but it was replaced free by the dealer. Four months later, it went again but was replaced free. It happened a third time two months afterwards and she was charged £699 to replace. A garage reckons she was riding the clutch, she’s 74 and had several cars with no problems. Last month after only two years, the clutch had to be replaced again costing £265 at a local garage, not a dealer this time. This car, not even four years old, has done only 9800 miles and has had four new clutches. She sold it last week - Sue Hou from Lancashire

Its plain that she never gets her foot off the cluch pedal. That’s the reason for a lot of clutch failures, all makes. The worst habit is people riding the clutch at traffic lights etc. Clutches are made for hard work, NOT ABUSE! - John Shurie from England

Submitted: 2010-12-15 | ID: 37453

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Karen Kavak, Yorkshire

Citroen C1 2010

4 star review

Bought my Citroen C1 April this year; although delighted with my car, I have now encountered when braking hard my wheels lock and I skid to a halt. Fortunately I haven’t run into anyone or anything, but that is more luck than judgement. My car has now been at the garage under test conditions the problem has happened for the engineers who are now in talks with Citroen to try and resolve. Is there anyone else who has encounted this problem and what was the outcome? Please let me know, thanks.<br />

Responses to this review

Try cleaning the sensors on the brake - John Shurie from Warwickshire

Hi, my Citroen C1 was bought brand new in 2010. I have had this problem when braking hard: my wheels lock and I end up skidding. Thankfully I’m the same and somehow haven’t gone into the back of anyone. What was the outcome with your car? I’ve mentioned it several times to Citroen when it’s gone in for service etc and nothing - Elen Milton from Bridgend

Hi. Well I bought my Citroen c1, March 2011 brand new and loved it. I had problems with the seats rubbing/pulled, they have been replaced once, but didn’t get a response the second time it did the same - and no it wasn’t due to what I was wearing. Now August 15th 2013, I put the breaks on as I was driving onto the drive and the breaks didn’t work, I pumped the breaks but nothing happened. By the time I’d come to stop it with the handbrake I’d run out of drive and run into the house wall. I rang the Citroen dealer straight away and they said they are going to ring back tomorrow. All I can think is, thank God It didn’t happen when I was on the road. Has anyone had this problem? - Diane Binns from Yorkshire

Submitted: 2010-09-12 | ID: 37461

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Karen Kavak, Yorkshire

Citroen C1 TVTR+ 2010

5 star review

Used the citreon C1 as a courtesy car and was very impressed so with my findings I have decided to purchase the C1 TVTR+ which is much quieter and more luxurious than the basic C1. After reading other review I hope I am happier than the 2 other people who have written their reveiws.

Submitted: 2010-04-19 | ID: 37414

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

The latest Citroen C1) deals on our sister site ContractHireAndLeasing.com (links open in a new window)

    Other people need your help

    Your review will help others decide which vehicle to buy. By spending just a little bit of time filling out a consumer car review you can share your experiences with other drivers, giving information only owners will talk about, no marketing spiel, just the real thing. We publish all reviews, whether you rate the vehicle high or low. We are impartial. We are independent. We are committed to 100% real reviews. Please give others the benefit of your advice: give them your review.

    Your review will be checked for offensive language within the next few days and then put on RoadTestReports.co.uk and all of our partners websites.

    Have your say!

    ^ Back to Top