2009 C1 reviews

03 September 2014

Search

2009 Citroen C1 reviews

Citroen C1 reviews by year of make:2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 Read all reviews

Buy used imageBuy new / nearly new imageContract hire image

Krenna, Swindon

Citroen C1 2009 - 2012

1 star review

I bought my C1 a year ago with 10,000 on the clock. It has now reached 17,000 and my clutch started making an odd whining noise. I took it to my local garage who told me the thrust bearing has gone and that they were shocked it could do so at such low mileage. The clutch needs replacing at a cost of £350 at this garage. I rang Citroen direct and was told that the clutch should indeed not fail at such low mileage and that there would be some 'goodwill' regardless of the fact that the warranty had expired. They sent me to a Citroen dealership who took over an hour to diagnose the same fault that my garage had diagnosed in 2 minutes!! Rang Citroen who promptly tried to backtrack on their offer. Luckily the earlier phone call had been recorded and therefore as a gesture of goodwill they have offered to pay 50% of the cost provided it is done at their chosen dealer. The cost for this repair at said dealer... £699, so therefore I still have to stump up £350!!! It is interesting to read that someone else has been offered a goodwill gesture of 90% for the same issue. This appears to me to be a design fault which needs to be addressed urgently. I also have the leaking seal and condensation problem reported by so many others on here. I am going to use the Sale of Goods Act 1979. I am also going to report this to Watchdog, publish it on facebook and shout it from the rooftops to anyone else who will listen. This part is not fit for purpose and I feel this is very shoddy business practice. We should all put our voices together and see if we cannot bring about a change

Submitted: 2014-06-16 | ID: 97806

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

John Shurie, England

Citroen C1 2009

4 star review

Overall, quite satisfied, apart from the air bag light coming on, which is now still being investigated outside of w/tee. At 19660 miles the pads are only 1/2 worn, yet the discs are rotten through. They look like they’re 10 years old. Just had them replaced with quality items, which hopefully will last longer. Years ago when I taxied Cortinas I got 40/50k on a set of pads and never changed a disc! Apart from all that I’m very happy with my ’Pocket Rocket’.

Submitted: 2013-02-23 | ID: 37496

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Sarah Aston, England

Citroen C1 2009

1 star review

I am disgusted with Citroen. It returns 45 miles to gallon (should be 60) and it has so far needed: Two new door locks, a new exhaust, a new clutch at 18,000 miles, new wiper blades, three new tyres and new brakes. I would have been better off buying a second-hand vehicle. Rubbish Citroen. Despite numerous emails to the CEO of Citroen. I’ve had no reply. I will never buy a French car again!

Responses to this review

It’s plain to see that you drive like a idiot! From what you say, it seems you knock fxxx out of this vehicle. Brakes. tyres, fuel consumption says it all. Learn to drive in a professional manner and see your running costs fall - John Shurie from Warwickshire

While I do get around 60mpg from mine with gentle driving other things have not fared so well in the 5 years and 40,000 miles I have had it from new. It has needed a new exhaust in year two which Citroen would not cover on the warranty, it has had two complete sets of new tyres, new front brake pads and discs, new back wheel bearings and the door locks are absolutly s**t to the point most of the time I leave it unlocked and am not prepared to pay to have new locks fitted which are also rubbish having spoken to several other owners that have the same problems, oh and the hindges on the back windows have broken, they should be shot for this rubbish - from England

You only need to replace the key. Cost me £16 online - Alan Miller from England

Submitted: 2012-08-04 | ID: 37491

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Simon Coope, England

Citroen C1 2009

1 star review

A whole list of problems. What started out as a really fun, nippy car ended within 2 years. The clutch seems too high, the whiperblades are rubbish and need replacing all the time. The glove box wont close after the warping on the dash so it is constantly dropping open when driving over a bump or braking, which gets annoying! If you have one of these your exhaust will go followed by the clutch. If you brake going around a corner or over a speed bump, it sounds and feels like you have a bike stuck under your car. I have also had condensation problems with the interior. The handbrake gets stuck, the alloys are too soft and the chrome coverings on the inside trim fall off at he slightest change in temperature (cheap glue). When you offset the road tax savings against what you will spend in the first 18 months on front tyre wear, new clutch, wiper blades, exhaust, you would probably be better off with a Range Rover! A rubbish, cheaply put together car using the cheapest parts with more glue on than welds resulting in an expensive burden. Sure it’s cheap on fuel and nippy when you’re on your own, but so is a Ducati.

Submitted: 2012-04-02 | ID: 37488

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

David Brooks, Scotland

Citroen C1 2009

1 star review

My girlfriend has just returned in tears from the garage, The car she was sold was a total banger; windy up windows, clutch that even I cant depress, and gears that require two hands to engage. The service was terrible. They told her that 4mm tyres are illeagle and need replacing, and did a service for £246, no oil change, no filter change and when I challenged the garage they just said "tough!" They say they replaced the pollen filter yet it was still black and the felt tip mark I left on it was still there. This has now been reported to the police as I’m disgusted by the service of what is meant to be a major manufacturer, Would I buy a Citroen?? Never, ever, ever, they are a waste of money.

Responses to this review

I feel for you, mate. I’m 18, my dad bought me a Citroen C1 for my 18th with insurance. The total cost came to around £9,000. My dad knows cars well and when he drove it home he said the clutch felt too high so he took it back and said "It’s gonna go". The garage insisted it would be fine. aAweek later the clutch went when I was on the motorwar (The M6, AT RUSHHOUR) and wouldn’t change gear. I managed to kick it into gear 2 and literally drove home in gear 2. The garage fixed the clutch and within 2 weeks that horrible clicking sound was back, and it kept cutting out! Absolute sh*t car! F*cking French! - James Catlin from England

It’s not French, it’s a Toyota with Citroen badges - from England

Submitted: 2011-07-08 | ID: 37475

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Ru Trow, Kent

Citroen C1 2009

1 star review

I had what was usually termed a "petrol guzzler" for 12 years, but always felt safe in a car that had hardly any problems. With the "Scrappage scheme" I thought the C1 would be a reasonable buy, low fuel, as far as the research showed. So bought NEW, but now less than a year on with just over 3000 miles on the clock, the car is giving intermittent problems: stalled a few times at intersections, no reason found; water seems to collect in the car even though there are rubber sealers around the doors; during the snow there was frost inside the car. I never used the car for five days, when I drove it there was a loud grating sound each time I had to brake, so I drove home rather than cause more problems. The dealerships mechanic says there isn’t a problem; it is NORMAL rust on the brake pads as the car was not driven for a period. It would go away with a long drive. I feel nervous as I had no such problem with my OLD car and now wish I had kept the petrol guzzler, I could drive when ever and feel really safe. This car seems like a disposable, but it was nearly £9000, though the mechanic made me feel that the car was given to me, not paid for with hard earned money. If anyone asks me about my car, I would have to say NOT A GOOD BUY and I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND. Fuel usage not bad, but hey if one has to worry about everything else what have I gained? Definitely not peace of mind!

Responses to this review

I bought my C1 last summer and was really pleased with it then...during the recent bad snow spell when I drove it there was a loud grating sound once when I had to brake on a slight gradient. Then around three weeks later when there was just a slight ground frost the same thing happend again twice on separate occasions with a slight gradient again being a common factor. I’ve took it to the dealer and they have give the car a complete clean bill of health. It would be interesting to hear from anyone else with this problem - G Mac from England

Probably ABS kicking in on slipping road, can sound like a grating knocking sound, it’s normal - Dave Murphy from England

Kind of strange that because the Citroen ’expert’ said that they had never EVER heard of this before and implied that I MUST be the only Citroen owner in the whole of the UK experiencing this problem. Which by the way, by the time it had ’kicked in’ I had slid significantly into the on coming road. Would that also mean that the ABS light would come on? Because it never. I have owned a Vauxhall with ABS for many years before purchasing a Citroen with NO such problem so is it a Citroen issue. Of course if I’d have known it was normal I would never have bought the car - G Mac from England

Me too! It happened during the winter, the breaks were juddering and kind of missing every now a then. I took the car to Citroen who had a look, they came back to me by saying I needed new break pads and discs, the cost fitted would be £250. I got my mechanic friend to change the pads, when he had done he showed me the pads and they were only 30% worn! Also now having problems with exhaust noise! Not happy. - Rachel Firth from England

This is definitely the ABS kicking in, quite normal, if a little oversensitive on the C1. Brakes were two expensive! £250! You can buy all the parts for £60 from the CityBugStore online and have a local garage do it for an hours labour - Mark Colgan from England

Hmmm... So I keep hearing this is quite normal?! So what can anyone suggest? All through the winter months I only drive on level roads and don’t even bother going out if it’s icy!!! If there is anyone out there with a better suggestion I’m all ears. Prospective Citroen owners, BEWARE! - G Mac from England

The working part of the disc brake is normally bright shiny metal due to the rubbing action of the brake pads. It is completely normal for the cast iron disc to develop surface rust overnight in wet or damp conditions. If the car stands for a longer period in damp and with the added corrosive action of winter salt, the disc will rust and can rust unevenly where the pads are resting on the disc. So when you re-use the car, the brakes will make unpleasant noises until the surface rust has been worn off by using the brakes. Your garage is correct - the fault will sort itself out if you use the brakes rather than being afraid to use them - Peter lawson from England

Submitted: 2010-03-04 | ID: 37417

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Wilma Jeffrey, Moray (Elgin) and Nairn Shire

Citroen C1 2009

2 star review

I have only been driving this car since December and while its quite nippy, a good sound system, reasonable on fuel,I find the controls to access the radio is a bit awkard as its situated on the top and to the left, which to my mind is pretty dangerous. It is not a knob or button ,which is normal but a flat thing(?) you press, which is integrated in the fascia! The other complaint I would say about this car is its rev counter, which is situated on a stalk! This detracts from the looks of the vehicle and will put many people off. All in all I wouldn’t recommed this car, which is a shame as Citreons are usually excellent and lovely looking cars.

Responses to this review

Aren’t we picky now? I’ll bet you can’t afford it! - Jon Shu from Warwickshire

You clearly aren’t very coordinated, perhaps a voice activated stereo would suit you better and maybe a rev counter that you can move anywhere you please. My car doesn’t make coffee but i’m not bitter - from Conwy

Submitted: 2010-01-28 | ID: 37432

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

The latest Citroen C1) deals on our sister site ContractHireAndLeasing.com (links open in a new window)

    Other people need your help

    Your review will help others decide which vehicle to buy. By spending just a little bit of time filling out a consumer car review you can share your experiences with other drivers, giving information only owners will talk about, no marketing spiel, just the real thing. We publish all reviews, whether you rate the vehicle high or low. We are impartial. We are independent. We are committed to 100% real reviews. Please give others the benefit of your advice: give them your review.

    Your review will be checked for offensive language within the next few days and then put on RoadTestReports.co.uk and all of our partners websites.

    Have your say!

    ^ Back to Top