2008 Grand C4 Picasso reviews

26 October 2014

Search

2008 Citroen Grand C4 Picasso reviews

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso reviews by year of make:2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 Read all reviews

Buy used imageBuy new / nearly new imageContract hire image

Graham Hipkiss, England

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 2008

1 star review

I bought a Citroen C4 Grand Piccasso in 2012. Biggest mistake of my life. Lovely car but very unreliable had no end of problems with electrics. Keeps blowing bulbs and finally the dreaded turbo goes and that made me trade it in. I also had water sloshing round in the dashboard and had to have all the fuel lines replaced so my advice is do not buy one!!!

Responses to this review

Having owned various Citroen models twelve months ago I moved on to a 57 plate C4 2.0ltr diesel Grand Picasso Exclusive with EGS which I use as my second car. I needed the carrying space and the van before it a 55 plate Dispatch wasnt cutting it on fuel economy. Like most potential owners I did my homework first on what the market had to offer and being mindful of the complex build of the C4 Grand and the faults that can arise I still wasnt put off ownership, The car had 56k on it when I bought it with it now showing some 67k. Throughout this time the car has averaged about 45-47 mpg which is similar to my last Xsara Picasso so all in all Im very pleased. Having read through the various forums I can understand the frustrations when these cars go wrong so Im going to mentioned the experience I went through last week which I hope will help calm anyone down who suffers the same problem. Firstly I had noticed over the last few months that once in a while the gear selection wasnt very positive with the occasional clunk and slight take up rumble moving off from stationary. It didnt happen all the time so I wasnt unduly worried and generally the car was and still is very smooth to drive. Last Friday as I pulled out of my drive the car slipped from reverse into neutral, drive was lost and GEARBOX FAULTY appeared on the centre dash display. I sat for a moment and being an experienced engineer of some forty years reasoned that unless the gear train had physically fallen out with its brother and sister components the message I was getting was somewhat misleading. Not wanting to leave it at that especially since it was now blocking the road I stopped the engine and after about twenty seconds or so started it up again whereupon it went back straight away into A1 at the flick of the lever. I moved the car about twenty feet to park up at the kerbside and once again the car went into neutral upon stopping. Next deduction, something isnt driving the gearbox. Now I had previously read somewhere that there was an electronically controlled actuator unit in the EGS system so I now wanted to know more about it. Up until this point I had no reason to study the complexity of the clutch and gearbox partnership but I was aware that a great number of owners had fallen foul of unbelievable quotes to sort out such problems. After about half an hours research I had a fairly clear picture of what was going on and just as I had suspected the reason the gearbox wasnt driving wasnt because it was faulty it was because it was being starved of the action of the actuator unit since the drive was coming and going. It seemed very clear that once the actuator was functioning again then the gearbox theoretically should work. Making a quick call to my colleagues garage to explain what had happened we literally both concluded that the actuator was low on oil and this was why we had intermittent drive. All we had to do now was prove the theory so with the nearside front wheel off and inner arch shield removed with the car up on the ramp we inspected the actuator which is located under the air filter box and just behind the intercooler. Well it didnt take much to see where the problem was. The actuator has two pipes. A main pressure pipe in steel and a return pipe about nine inches long in plastic which delivers the circulated oil back into the plastic holding reservoir. The plastic pipe had rubbed through the sharp corner of the actuator casting causing the return oil to leak out instead of being discharged back to be recirculated. After a few calls the new pipe was sourced at the third dealers we rang but none of them kept the top up oil which leads me to believe that Citroen really dont want these parts made too easily available. Total cost £80 and about an hours labour on the ramp. The biggest difficulty is getting the old pipe off and here is the moral of this experience. If this particular problem comes up with your EGS model check first that the plastic pipe I have mentioned has not been leaking oil and if your car does intermittently fall in and out of drive dont believe that its the end of the world and lose your faith in the car. Go straight to your trusted local car repair shop and get the car up on the ramp to check it out NOT the main dealers. They are there to earn big money out of you whereas your local man is much more likely to define exactly what is causing the fault. We have all read about these gearboxes playing up and of course there are other areas of problems such as in the electrics where this can be the cause but remember the pricey horror stories youve read and worse still there should be no reason to write off a perfectly good Grand when all it needs is a straight forward repair accompanied by the basic bits. Remember if you feel that the quote youve been given makes you feel youre being fleeced there your instinct is kicking in telling you that you probably are being fleeced . The Grand Picasso isnt without its faults but dont condemn it for something simple. There are very few cars on the market as versatile as the Grand and sure no doubt I will come across other problems I wish werent there in due course but this one was easily rectified at very little cost and completely without any reprogramming either another classic main dealer money maker which time after time rectifies nothing. - from West Midlands

Having owned various Citroen models twelve months ago I moved on to a 57 plate C4 2.0ltr diesel Grand Picasso Exclusive with EGS which I use as my second car. I needed the carrying space and the van before it a 55 plate Dispatch wasnt cutting it on fuel economy. Like most potential owners I did my homework first on what the market had to offer and being mindful of the complex build of the C4 Grand and the faults that can arise I still wasnt put off ownership, The car had 56k on it when I bought it with it now showing some 67k. Throughout this time the car has averaged about 45-47 mpg which is similar to my last Xsara Picasso so all in all Im very pleased. Having read through the various forums I can understand the frustrations when these cars go wrong so Im going to mentioned the experience I went through last week which I hope will help calm anyone down who suffers the same problem. Firstly I had noticed over the last few months that once in a while the gear selection wasnt very positive with the occasional clunk and slight take up rumble moving off from stationary. It didnt happen all the time so I wasnt unduly worried and generally the car was and still is very smooth to drive. Last Friday as I pulled out of my drive the car slipped from reverse into neutral, drive was lost and GEARBOX FAULTY appeared on the centre dash display. I sat for a moment and being an experienced engineer of some forty years reasoned that unless the gear train had physically fallen out with its brother and sister components the message I was getting was somewhat misleading. Not wanting to leave it at that especially since it was now blocking the road I stopped the engine and after about twenty seconds or so started it up again whereupon it went back straight away into A1 at the flick of the lever. I moved the car about twenty feet to park up at the kerbside and once again the car went into neutral upon stopping. Next deduction, something isnt driving the gearbox. Now I had previously read somewhere that there was an electronically controlled actuator unit in the EGS system so I now wanted to know more about it. Up until this point I had no reason to study the complexity of the clutch and gearbox partnership but I was aware that a great number of owners had fallen foul of unbelievable quotes to sort out such problems. After about half an hours research I had a fairly clear picture of what was going on and just as I had suspected the reason the gearbox wasnt driving wasnt because it was faulty it was because it was being starved of the action of the actuator unit since the drive was coming and going. It seemed very clear that once the actuator was functioning again then the gearbox theoretically should work. Making a quick call to my colleagues garage to explain what had happened we literally both concluded that the actuator was low on oil and this was why we had intermittent drive. All we had to do now was prove the theory so with the nearside front wheel off and inner arch shield removed with the car up on the ramp we inspected the actuator which is located under the air filter box and just behind the intercooler. Well it didnt take much to see where the problem was. The actuator has two pipes. A main pressure pipe in steel and a return pipe about nine inches long in plastic which delivers the circulated oil back into the plastic holding reservoir. The plastic pipe had rubbed through the sharp corner of the actuator casting causing the return oil to leak out instead of being discharged back to be recirculated. After a few calls the new pipe was sourced at the third dealers we rang but none of them kept the top up oil which leads me to believe that Citroen really dont want these parts made too easily available. Total cost £80 and about an hours labour on the ramp. The biggest difficulty is getting the old pipe off and here is the moral of this experience. If this particular problem comes up with your EGS model check first that the plastic pipe I have mentioned has not been leaking oil and if your car does intermittently fall in and out of drive dont believe that its the end of the world and lose your faith in the car. Go straight to your trusted local car repair shop and get the car up on the ramp to check it out NOT the main dealers. They are there to earn big money out of you whereas your local man is much more likely to define exactly what is causing the fault. We have all read about these gearboxes playing up and of course there are other areas of problems such as in the electrics where this can be the cause but remember the pricey horror stories youve read and worse still there should be no reason to write off a perfectly good Grand when all it needs is a straight forward repair accompanied by the basic bits. Remember if you feel that the quote youve been given makes you feel youre being fleeced there your instinct is kicking in telling you that you probably are being fleeced . The Grand Picasso isnt without its faults but dont condemn it for something simple. There are very few cars on the market as versatile as the Grand and sure no doubt I will come across other problems I wish werent there in due course but this one was easily rectified at very little cost and completely without any reprogramming either another classic main dealer money maker which time after time rectifies nothing. - from West Midlands

HI JUST TO SAY thank you for this information.best regards Richard - from Derbyshire

Hi i just read your review. i brought a 57 plate c4 picasso 2.0 hdi and and after some days iv started getting huge clunking noise from under neither the car when i reverse. a neighbor who's a mechanic has said it could be the gear box which would need replacing, I'm almost to scared to take it to Citroen and i know they will make up a huge bill . Any suggestion's on where i could take it? Thanks - from West Midlands

Hi i just read your review. i brought a 57 plate c4 picasso 2.0 hdi and and after some days iv started getting huge clunking noise from under neither the car when i reverse. a neighbor who's a mechanic has said it could be the gear box which would need replacing, I'm almost to scared to take it to Citroen and i know they will make up a huge bill . Any suggestion's on where i could take it? Thanks - from West Midlands

Submitted: 2014-02-04 | ID: 38248

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Sean Green, England

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 2008

1 star review

Bought this ’08 plate 7 seater from an independent dealer with full Citroen history with it in Oct ’10 with 35,000 miles on the clock. Now Apr ’13 with 59,450miles and it’s just blown its 4th Turbo. The 1st went 6 months after I bought it, the 2nd 11 months later, the 3rd 4 weeks after that and the 4th only a further 5 weeks later. Now after all the tests they decide it’s new engine time and can I pay them £5,500 to replace it? No I can’t, it’s their fault!

Responses to this review

My son had the same problem but the car was Ford 1.8 diesel, he just bought the car 3 months later the turbo fails has a new one fitted fails 4 months later 3rd turbo later we find out the bits of the turbo will find they way into the oil feed that supplies the turbo... so if the mechanic’s don’t clear the oil ways correctly.... new turbo’s forever!!! - David J from Hampshire

All cars can have problems, but nobody can excuse bad service. I had a FIAT which was cutting out for no reasons especially when slowing down to enter on a round about. FIAT technicians tried to fix it for nearly 3 years. Eventually I went to Head Office in Slough and waited to see a director. They took the car back from me, but it was a nightmare for 3 years as it was dangerous. Ford was even worse, telling me my second fan (Mondeo 2300 diesel) was not working when there was only one fan, screwing a tonneau cover to the back seats rather than using the proper kit and telling me they have never seen the kit (shown on the brochure) before. Replaced gearbox 4 times in less than 2 years on an Escort 1.6 diesel before I sold it on (all done by the 2 dealers in Leicester). Refused to accept faulty brakes on my Galaxy until the car was just over 1 year old and I had an accident due to the brakes (both main dealers in Nottingham). Car came back repaired and no more fault after that. Citroen serviced my Picasso from new. At 14,000 miles, my local garage noticed bolts missing on the cylinder head. Citroen (Evans Halshaw - Mansfield) said that somebody had removed them and did not put them back and charged me £75 to put 2 new bolts. Car is still with me after 9 years, it has never let us down. The most reliable car ever. Renault Mansfield (Bristol Street) told me that to investigate a wobbly wing mirror on an Espace would take at least half a day and would cost £160. I did the work myself in less than 30 minutes. Fortunately, Renault Chesterfield (Gordon Lamb) is better. - Philippe Turner-Loisel from Nottinghamshire

I have got the same problem. I have an 08 plate with 37000 mileage. The Citroen dealer told me its turbo charger break down, they needed to check why it’s broken down before putting the new turbo in. Nearly a week has passed and today they said they had not found out the reason why. They know it is low oil pressure, which they tried to solve but the turbo is still not working. It may need a new engine. It will be over £4000 for an engine and £2000 for the turbo. The eat blower and resister was under fix at another garage for £540. What should I do? - Rita Lin from England

WHEN YOU STOP,WITH A TURBO ENGINE YOU SHOULD NOT SWITCH YOUR ENGINE OFF IMMEDIATLEY. LET IT TICK OVER AT LEAST 30 SECONDS,NOT DOING SO IS THE MOST COMMON CAUSE OF TURBO FAILURE,AS OIL WILL"COOK" ON SHAFT. - clive naish from Vale of Glamorgan

WHEN YOU STOP,WITH A TURBO ENGINE YOU SHOULD NOT SWITCH YOUR ENGINE OFF IMMEDIATLEY. LET IT TICK OVER AT LEAST 30 SECONDS,NOT DOING SO IS THE MOST COMMON CAUSE OF TURBO FAILURE,AS OIL WILL"COOK" ON SHAFT. - clive naish from Vale of Glamorgan

Submitted: 2013-05-12 | ID: 38242

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Heidi Atkins, Warwickshire

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 1.6 2008

3 star review

Was really happy with this car, perfect for our family needs, economic, safe, until the anti-pollution lights, ESP lights and handbrake lights all came on. I rang my local garage who said it was odd and to bring it in. When I turned the engine off two of the lights went off and then the other, all was ok. Months later the same thing happened again, but now the anti pollution light is constantly on. The garage have fixed it twice and it comes back on after fuelling, especially if filling up the car. When you get above 2000 revs the hand brake light and ESP come on and it goes into limp mode and grinds to a hault. Occasionally it will let you drive still, but only under 3000 revs. Really not safe if you are going anywhere on the motorway. Funnily enough though it doesn’t happen if I keep the tank around a 1/4 full. I have tried to give it a good rag round, which is what they say is causing the problem, but because of limp mode I cannot physically do it. I’m not happy at all and don’t have any ideas. Have seen another person say they ’put redex in tank and no problems since’ so thats my next move :o\.

Responses to this review

My 2007 Picasso does the same thing. It is very unsafe to drive due to it being prone to stop when driving in traffic. Citroen garage in Stockport and an independent garage have both confirmed that the main harness / loom has rotted and needs replacing - £3,500. Citroen cars have a design fault allowing water ingress to rot the vehicles from underneath. The main harness should only need replacing if a vehicle has been on fire. Mine was the third car in Stockport Citroen with the same fault that week. A six year old car which has not been on fire should not need to have the entire main harness replaced. Tell Citroen what your think of their car - Lib Rose from Derbyshire

Submitted: 2013-03-30 | ID: 38237

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Ray, Norfolk

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 1.6 HDi VTR+ manual 2008

4 star review

52,000 miles and no significant problems! Fantastic main dealer - Duff Morgan, Norwich, who are polite, efficient and fair. Had a recall for some waterproofing in the engine bay and recently some corrosion in the bonnet area; discovered in 4 year corrosion check and sorted out under terms of warranty with a courtesy car included. Never had a problem on the road. Very low tyre wear and excellent economy for such a large car; over 50 mpg at motorway speeds is normal. It does use more head and sidelight bulbs than any other car I’ve had, but this is really only a minor annoyance and they are easy to change. Buy Bosch replacements and they last a lot longer than the Citroen ones.

Submitted: 2012-11-11 | ID: 38241

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Nikki Anderson, England

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 2008

2 star review

I bought this car 3 years ago and I initially thought it was great. It is really comfortable to drive and gives great mileage. However, I’ve had constant problems with the electrics, causing the windows to not close or open properly. Now my automatic break has failed causing my car to roll into the back of someone else’s. Despite the break failing a further two times, the Citroen garage where I purchased the car say after running a diagnostic that they can find no fault with the break. I don’t where this leaves me? I have lost confidence in the car and its safety. I have three kids and will now have to pay for damage to this other person’s car as Citroen are sure not to take responsibility. I will never buy Citroen again.

Responses to this review

Hi Nikki, sorry to hear what you are saying but it is NOT just you who has/are having this problem along with many others. We have this problem along with many others. Our Dealer is so bad you would not believe even saying "he will fix the car under warranty but will make the car have bigger problems later!" (willing to stand up in court on this statement). So ended up have to pay them £50 just for them to release my vehicle which had to be put on a recovery truck to my home. So then went direct to Citroen France who could not care one bit and kept passing me from people to people saying they would come back to me. They never did. Now suing the Dealer and Citroen France like Mark from Ireland did (read in forum about him). So sorry, but just have to let you know what you are in for. Citroen always pass the buck, it’s never their fault if they can help it. Regards, - Kevin Claydon from Cambridgeshire

Having problems with my C4 Grand Picasso and Citroen will not cover it under warranty. How did you get on when you sued them. Any resolution or compensation? - from Ireland

All same faults. Been running to Citroen dealer for 2 years, but surprisingly they can find nothing wrong with it even telling me to "drive it til it breaks". Handbrake sticks in traffic yet releases when engine turned off, which has given me a few near-misses. Have gone to trading standards who say car should be "fit for purpose" which it is not. Dealer should offer "like for like" replacement if can’t fix it (or failure to after ample opportunities). Strong burning smell and faults logged with another Citroen garage. Complaint now with Citroen finance because its a HP car and they are in the 9th week of trying to get paperwork from the dealer. Have spoken to solicitor who recommends taking case to county court as car cost £7500 plus interest. Have given the manager from Citroen finance until tomorrow (19.9.2013) to get me a resolution otherwise my solicitor will deal with it. Car is sitting in my driveway as it failed MOT due to faults. Definitely believe it to a wiring problem in car as handbrake switch replaced three times, boot switch twice and passenger side window switch once. Dealer also had to replace wires that had corroded in the engine harness. Have read other reviews quoting 3500 - Melissa Walsh from Northern Ireland

Submitted: 2012-08-29 | ID: 38220

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Ian Woodcock, Yorkshire

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 2008

1 star review

The car was purchased new in Sep 08’ on (what I though at the time) a good 0% finance deal (wonder how many others got suckered into that one?). I Have had so many problems with it that I’ve literally lost count, the latest being a sloshing sound of water behind the dashboard. This is due (apparently) to a build up of leaves in the scuttle panel at the bottom of the windscreen, which caused water to pour out over the drivers feet! It’s apparently a common C4 fault. The leaves were cleared but the sloshing sound still exists. "Nothing wrong with it" is the official Citroen dealers reply and naturally this was not under the warranty. Now all 4 door seals are collecting water to such an extent that they constantly drip water long after everywhere else has dried out! I’m dreading the first MOT! I’m now desperate to get rid of this car. My advice? Do not buy a Citroen, shoddily made, incredibly bad design flaws (which Citroen simply ignore). I can’t wait to sell and buy a Mondeo!

Responses to this review

I have had exactly the same problem with my 2008 C4GP Exl. I took it in for a recall to do with sealing the soundproofing under the bonnet and the Citroen main dealer had the cheek to charge me £100 to cure the problem of the water flooding the drivers floor. I wont list the other warranty jobs here but it includes new EGS clutch at 2 years and numerous other items. At 4 yrs and 58K the turbo charger broke up which I paid for myself at an independant Citroen specialist to make sure the job was done right. His report was that the engine had ’coked up’ blocking the oilways. I asked the the Citroen main dealer about this when they did the recall job and they siad it was probably due to the ’wrong oil being used when it had been serviced’ !! . It has had every service done from new by a Citroen main dealership. - I could criticise Citroen but I fear that all car ma from Surrey

I have had 4 Xsara Picassos over a 10 year period. LOVED THEM TIL PASSENGERS FLOOR WELL got wet. Took local dealer 4 attempts to fix and finally resorted to removing the dash board. Lost all faith in the car and now have a wonderful Toyota Verso - Catherine Malcolm from Ayrshire

If you have water sloshing behind the dash and you have air con on your car remove the exhaust heat shielding from under the gearshift area under the car and you will probably find the rubber drain hose from the air con is blocked. I had this problem on a Citroen I had in my garage. The drain tube has a tapered end with a cross cut in the end but it gets blocked and the water backs up the pipe and fills the drain trogh up behind the heater unit inside the car and spills out to soak the carpets. I just cut the end of the drain tube to leave a bigger hole to allow better drainage and refitted the heatshield. No more problems. Check it out - Steve Jarvis from Cambridgeshire

Hello Ian, my experience sounds like yours, had it from new in Apr 09 and the heater motor, ie hot and cold air, had to be replaced a year ago at a cost of £500. I was very unimpressed that this would be needed on a car that had only done 20,000 miles. Now it’s happened again, Citroen garage want even more, £700, and they’re telling me about the leaves and the scuttle board, this sounds like a design fault to me and I intend to try to recover my money from Citroen. Also I find it incredible that they’re telling me I need to watch the build up of leaves, the car should surely be designed to deal with rain and Autumn - Kevin O’Sullivan from London

Submitted: 2012-07-14 | ID: 38214

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Steve Spreadbridge, England

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 1.6 hdi egs 2008

2 star review

I bought my vehicle second hand from a main dealer and have only owned the car for 5 months and I am experiencing juddering in first gear. The dealer checked for a software update, but no joy. They want me to spend £900 to take the clutch apart in order to photograph the fault and send these to their head office, but if they do not cover it under warranty I will have to pay the full £900 labour just for a photo that I won’t see!! Don’t buy citroen is my advice!

Submitted: 2012-03-18 | ID: 38213

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Chris Southwick, Hungary

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 2008

1 star review

We bought used a 2008 C4 Grand Picasso 3 months ago. It had one previous owner. The car had always been kept up on regular services. In fact, it was given a thorough check-up just two months prior. 5 days ago, it spontaneously caught on fire as I was driving in Budapest, Hungary, where we live. A warning light began flashing on the dashboard, and within 1 minute, someone behind me was flashing their lights, I pulled over, rolled down my window and the guy said my car was burning. I turned off the car, got out and saw some significant steam coming from the hood. Before I could open it, the steam turned to black smoke. Then I saw flames. Luckily, there was a police officer near by who called in the fire department and the fire was out within 10 minutes, but not before it completely destroyed the engine, and melted everything else under the hood. The rest of the car was unscathed, but the insurance company said it was totalled. I was surprised, but after having read similar reviews from others, and having a Budapest Citroen dealer mention that they had two other vehicles in recent past randomly catch on fire, I’m beginning to wonder about the C4 Grand Picasso. The fire was blamed on an electrical or engine fault. Too bad, because we really liked it, but we don’t trust Citroen anymore.

Responses to this review

I have just heard of a C4 going on fire in Ireland last week. Who pays for damage or replacement - Citroen or insurance company? - from Ireland

I’ve had the same thing happen to me on the way to work in Leeds. Our 58 C4 Grand Picasso had been in the dealers 5 days earlier with a central locking fault as the doors would not lock, a renowned fault stated by the dealer. Anyway, on the way to work the driver in front of us stopped, jumped out of their car, pointed to our bonnet shouting the car was on fire, luckly enough a Traffic Officer was driving in the opposite direction and he had seen the flames from underneath the car as he was driving opposite. There was no flashing warning light on the dash board before I switched off and left the vehicle - P Sableman from Yorkshire

Submitted: 2011-11-19 | ID: 38200

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Steve Right, West Lothian (Linlithgowshire)

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso VRR+ 1.6 hdi egs 2008

5 star review

I bought my Grand Picasso two weeks ago and I am blown away with how good it is. I had the juddering problem when pulling away, but it was sorted with a quick software update. Getting nearly 60mpg on a car this size is impressive. Having enough space to take the extended family and the dog in comfort is nice. I went from a Zafira to the Grand Picasso and although I loved my Zafira, now I have the GP I wish I had made the change sooner.

Responses to this review

Hi Steve. I have also experienced the juddering problem you had when pulling away in first gear. What software update did they do to get it back to work again? - Mike London from England

I recently bought a Grand Picasso (2008 model). I am experiencing shuddering when pulling away in first gear. This especially happens once the car has warmed up ie. starting a second journey soon after finishing the first. I will now take it back and see if a software update helps - Graham Craik from England

I’m also experiencing this 1st gear judder, was there any resolvement to this? - Mark Smith from Staffordshire

Submitted: 2011-11-09 | ID: 38196

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Mark Aughton, Yorkshire

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 2008

1 star review

I bought the car April 1st 2011 (I know the date should have warned me). After just a day of ownership, the car started to judder in 1st and reverse badly. I took it to the garage in Peterborough where I purchased it however they refused to acknowledge the fault. They had the car a total of five times. The car went to local Citroen dealers in Huddersfield who checked the gearbox update and that was unto date. Now I need to have the gearbox removed to inspect the gearbox and clutch assembly. This is the worst car I have owned and will never buy another Citroen car.

Responses to this review

Same thing happened to me. I will never buy Citroen again! - Susie Clark from England

Submitted: 2011-08-30 | ID: 38192

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Vivienne Fairley, Angus (Forfarshire)

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso vtr+ 2008

3 star review

I got my car on motibility, great help from them then!!!, Within 4 weeks my screen wash shorted (said it was a safety feature in freezing temp) ok, its not done it since, I have had all the bulbs changed twice in the last year and a half, all 4 went at same time on the dual carriage way, now fixed. The clutch jumps every so often, garage say there is nothing wrong. Now the panel on the underside has come away. Looked like a bolt was missing, took it for repair and told it will get done at the service and now secured. It fell off again and they have resecured it and have now told me it’s my fault and I have to pay to get it fixed. I must have hit it off of something in the bad weather,( car was stuck in street for three week and went nowhere, it does not drive off road it goes up and down a dual carrage way twice a day 5 days a week from mine to my dads and back again. I’m really begining to hate it, I want my wee Pug 206 back, dents and all, no issues with that and it was 7 years old when I got it...

Submitted: 2011-06-01 | ID: 38184

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Other people need your help

Your review will help others decide which vehicle to buy. By spending just a little bit of time filling out a consumer car review you can share your experiences with other drivers, giving information only owners will talk about, no marketing spiel, just the real thing. We publish all reviews, whether you rate the vehicle high or low. We are impartial. We are independent. We are committed to 100% real reviews. Please give others the benefit of your advice: give them your review.

Your review will be checked for offensive language within the next few days and then put on RoadTestReports.co.uk and all of our partners websites.

Have your say!

Anthony Downs, Warwickshire

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso VTR Plus 2008

4 star review

A good car for our needs on Motobility, large enough to take my mobility scooter and ramp. Always been relaible until its 40k service. After it came back the screen said Anti-Pollution system failed, ESP failed, handbrake failed and engine light on. This happened all over weekend so took it back but lights had all gone off. Told it was the computer checking and resetting everything. Didn’t happen again until 11k miles later I took it for its first MoT. As I picked it up from the garage the Anti-pollution failure again came on. Engineer said emissions are out, I asked how did it pass its MoT, but told must have just happened. They examined it and said only firing on three cylinders and no reason. It has just returned from the Welsh Mountains so no loss of power. They replaced two valves and followers. I took the car but horn not working, told fuse blown, took it away again and it was fine for an hour, then all messages came up again, car shut down and when restarted only firing on 3 and 15mph top speed. Took it back told it needed new spark plugs. Waited whilst these were fitted, took it away, later that evening the Anti-pollution failuer and brake failure lit up again and engine light indicated dont drive. Garage say nothing wrong, I said RAC say it could be ECU, but mechanic said he has never known an ECU fail. I suggested he looked at owners reviews. He said there had been no recalls or suggestions from Citroen to say there was a problem. I now have a DS3 Disesel today, and hope mine is back as I am off to France this weekend and booked my car. Has anyone else had ECU Problems? The dealer have been very good and attended to it immediately on each visit and kept me informed of progress and issued courtesy car. The car is not three year old so under Citroen warranty.

Submitted: 2011-05-29 | ID: 38185

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Shaun, New Zealand

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso grand picasso c4 2.0 hdi non egs auto 2008

4 star review

Great vehicle though I hunted high and low to find a non EGS 6 speed auto diesel and what a diifference, although I had to buy used only 25000miles on it verses a horrid potential nightmare for a new egs auto variant. Have they stopped making the tradional auto 6 speed in this as you can get a 4 speed petrol over here? I can only tell it’s non egs as the gear wand has a P for park whereas the egs only has R N A M<br /><br />

Responses to this review

They do still make them. My car is a 6 speed automatic VTR ’59 plate so I hope this answers your question - Malc Wilson from England

Submitted: 2011-04-02 | ID: 38187

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Paul W, England

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso Exclusive 1.6 HDI EGS 2008

3 star review

Bought my ex-motability car used at auction a year ago and touch wood it has been ok, it had 10k miles on and I presume all the issues highlighted on this forum have been sorted. The EGS was a bit lumpy initially but a software upgrade totally transformed the car! Clutch is totally smooth (believed original after 25k miles), gearchange is smooth with little or no lag - even when rolling up to roundabouts etc. Economy has been reasonable 38mpg average with mixed driving. The build quality is just about acceptable, everything works on my 3yr old 25k miles car but the fit and finish is not as good as my previous Ford and some of the trim is starting to look a bit tired - especially inside the boot area. The running costs have been ok, Citroen service from my local dealer (Yeomans) is again reasonable rather than outstanding, it has not required much and needed servicing only once so far but they do collect/deliver locally which is a bonus. Not sure I’d buy another, but it has been reliable overall and is far from the doom and gloom that some owners have suffered.

Submitted: 2011-03-08 | ID: 38166

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Ken, Surrey

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 2008

1 star review

Very unhappy. Poor gear box. Bad verging on dangerous accelleration. Hand brake failure in the snow. Poor verging on dangerous handling in the snow. Rear suspension just gone outside of warranty, and Citroen don’t have the parts. Have to wait 3 weeks for repair. Can only assume many others must be in the same boat and Citroen are all out of suspension parts. Would not recommend or buy again.

Responses to this review

I have to agree this is the worst car I have ever had. My Citroen C4 Grand Picasso broke down last Monday with rear suspension failure and they can not tell me when it will be fixed as the parts are on back order and I have no courtesy car! This car is terrible to drive, the gearbox is rubbish and dangerous when trying to pull away quickly I have had a few near misses. Really wish I had bought a Mondeo - Sarah Dobb from Kent

Submitted: 2011-02-19 | ID: 38172

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Hugh Osborne, County Antrim

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 18 VTR+ 2008

5 star review

I will be changing my motability Grand C4 Picasso for a 16HDI Exclusive in March and can’t wait, my current car has driven like a dream and l will to be sorry to see it go, the only reason I did not purchase from motability is because of the poor fuel consumption. I have read reports of poor handling in snow I have went up lanes with 45degree climb in deep snow as other cars fail maybe it all comes down to the driver!  I test drove Fords S Max Renault’s Grand Scenic Peugeot 3008 Toyota’s Verso all didn’t even come close for comfort and feel of the road l have pushed my Grand C4 into corners a high speed and although some body roll if you have faith it sticks to the road like glue. Before you Knock the handling take a look at your own driving ability. I taxied for years driven every car you could think of and love the Grand C4 Picasso.

Submitted: 2010-12-27 | ID: 38165

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

M Green, Warwickshire

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 2008

5 star review

I have had the car since June 2008 no probs, I have recived 55mpg on a run from Birmingham to Newquay cornwall, fully laiden. Only ever use the auto gear setting as I find it most practical and it runs happy. Front seats comfy, rear second row seats not too bad, third row seats a bit thin with limited leg room ok, for the kids. Good all round visability, Rise and fall rear suspention brill load it up and the system pumps up the rear of the car. The only prob I have is that I really have to stretch to reach the front windscreen inside the car to clean it (not the car’s fault) Love the dash digital display very clear, All switches to hand and on the steering wheel. When you want speed it gives it to you (turbo) no delay. Good safe car (ncap 5 star ) Please think this as an MPV not a sports car; it’s a good all rounder and great for the family, I am happy with mine.

Submitted: 2010-08-23 | ID: 38150

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Donald Stockdale, Yorkshire

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 1.6hdi VTR +EGS 2008

4 star review

Had the vehicle practically from new. Driven all over France, northern Spain and UK in last 14months covering 25000 miles. Not a blip. 50+mpg. Suddenly am getting a booming sound at any speed. Anyone with any ideas of cause would be appreciated.

Submitted: 2010-07-08 | ID: 38149

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Karen Green, England

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 2008

3 star review

I purchased from new, and although it is a a great car to drive, and very roomy, I have had to take it back so many times for different reasons; the petrol cap stuck, the radiator seal leaked causing overheating, lots of squeaks that seem to be there one day then disappear for a few days. On a shopping run a few days ago I had steam coming from the under the bonnet and am now told the head gasket is leaking. I have been lucky up ’til now that most have been covered by the warranty but I am now considering changing before I need to pay for things.

Responses to this review

You don’t say what suspension your one has?... Does it have it have adjustable height air rear suspension or coil springs? If it’s the former then I’m just guessing here but perhaps the squeaking your hearing could be the rear suspension airbags failing? - Alf Beharie from Middlesex

Submitted: 2010-06-21 | ID: 38107

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

James W, Kent

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 2008

1 star review

Hi all you Citroen Grand C4 lovers, hope you’re all getting on fine with your cars? I bought one a couple of weeks ago and it’s the worst move I have ever made. The car is a 2008 model vtri, the rain comes in through the aerial on the roof and it leaks in through the rubber door seals on every door. After it rains, for about 20 mins, it starts to come in and what you need to do to check this is to go out to your car with a hose and hose the doors from the top on both sides and then open the doors and see if you have water coming in the car, it will be on the right hand side of the drivers side and the left hand side of the passenger side. I dont know if I am the only one to suffer this problem? We have water in the LCD screen on the dash, rust all under the stering column, too much to list. If you do this test and have the same problem email me jimscom@aol.com, thanks.

Responses to this review

It’s a badly fitted replacement windscreen that is allowing in water. You need to get it checked by Citroen. The windscreens are held in place by glue, which if not cleaned before putting new glue on allows tiny holes which let water through. I should know, there are too many Mickey Mouse companies who fit windscreens badly and we at Citroen have to put them right - James King from England

Submitted: 2010-03-31 | ID: 38114

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

David Paton, East Lothian (Haddingtonshire)

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 2.0hdi.vtr+ 2008

5 star review

Bought this car around a year ago from Citroen Edinburgh, after previously owning a 1.6hdi Xsara Picasso, which served us well for 4 years. If the Xsara Picasso was good the Grand Picasso 2.0hdi vtr+ has been brilliant. A brilliant load lugger when making regular 200 plus mile excursions with all the family and dog plus roof box. Even sitting at the legal max of 70mph on the motorway fully laden with roof box it still returns near enough 40mpg. I was a little apprehensive about the EGS box, but I have found it to be easy to adapt to, just lift off the throttle slightly at gear change revs, which becomes second nature after a short time, if you want a sportier drive just flick it in to manual mode and use the padels to shift gear. The car has been used reguarly with 7 seated and even the back 2 seats are quite comfy. I am well over 6ft and I find the leg room and head rom great as well. All in all I have been really impressed by this car.<br /><br />

Submitted: 2010-02-21 | ID: 38124

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

David, Warwickshire

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 1.8 VTR 2008

1 star review

First the good news: We have the vehicle on a 2 year lease and it is going back in January 2010. The bad news? Everything else. I cannot be positive about this car, however much I try. Lots of other options on the market, I wish I had looked at more before ordering.

Submitted: 2009-12-11 | ID: 38134

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Simon Goodwin, England

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 1.6vtr+hdi 2008

1 star review

Have had my Grand Picasso just over a year. In the last 2 months it has been back to the dealers 4 times. The parking brake activates whilst being driven bringing the car to a standstill, the dashboard lights up like a christmas tree warning me that the parking brake has failed, gearboke falure, low oil pressure etc, I could go on! The dealer has downloaded new software, replaced brake sensors and the fuse/relay board complete, but the problem still persists!!!!

Responses to this review

What gearbox did yours have? This may be a fault with the auto box but I find it hard to believe you would get a gearbox warning for the manual version - Alf Beharie from Middlesex

Submitted: 2009-09-22 | ID: 38128

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

landroverman, Nottinghamshire

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 2.0 HDi Exclusive EGS 2008

1 star review

You will see from my name that I am a fan of Landrover products. I replaced an ageing Range Rover with over 180,000 miles on the clock with a leased C4 Grand Picasso due to rising fuel costs and growing family. What a fatal error I made!! The C4 is great to ride in and use as a family car but that is where it stops. The engineering is very poor, in 2 years and 25,000 miles it have been recovered on a lorry 3 times! 1st time some oil was pouring out of the rear end, something to do with the exhaust dosing system and the particle filter. 2nd time hand break locked on. 3rd time total and complete gearbox failure. The EGS box is not sorted and doesn’t work. When approaching a junction if you role up to it and put your foot down to the floor to pull away nothing happens! You just role under no power out into the traffic, deadly !! you have been warned. The gear box judders on pull away and slips between changes like mad. I have had it back to the dealer twice for this problem and been told that they have downloaded some new software and fixed it. Well I have news for Mr Citroen, you didn’t and today it finally went bang. So RAC back to the dealer with a big sign saying I told you so stuck to the dash board. The moral of this story, buy another Range Rover at least it doesn’t get stuck in the fields on the farm! Verdict, in case it isn’t clear, the worst car I have ever had the misfortune to drive.

Responses to this review

Hi Landroverman, sorry to hear of your troubles, I bought one a few months back and realised that this is the mistake of my life. Never driven such a poor quality built car in my life. Nothing is good about it. It’s unfair to say that - there is one thing it is good at and this is the petrol consumption. Don’t expect support from Citroen UK when it comes to the warranty thing. Thanks - Davey Premsing from Lincolnshire

Submitted: 2009-09-15 | ID: 38130

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Paul B, Staffordshire

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso vtr+ 2008

5 star review

Although price is king, when looking at the ’budget’ end of the market, sometimes you get what you pay for. Having had a contract hire deal on a Peugeot 407 SW, I was looking for something more spacious and cheaper to run. The C4 GP is a delight. Easier to drive than the 407 ( the 407’s turning circle is abysmal), much, much better on fuel and for a 1.6 diesel packs as much punch as the 407 2 litre hdi. I have always had 2 litre plus engined cars so was a bit wary of getting the 1.6 Citroen, but it is really good, not boy racer stuff but perfectly respectable. With it averaging 43 around town and 45-ish on the motorway (not exactly sparing the horses), you could easily get 50 plus if you stick to 70, it is great on consumption. We haven’t used the 7 seats much but they work very easily. On the minus side, the plastic boot casing, backs of seats etc, is breakable, if you get the seat belt caught in it and try to put the seats back up (it would not have happened on my old BMW 525) but apart from that it is well worth the lease fee. P

Submitted: 2009-06-03 | ID: 38262

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Bob Aitch, Yorkshire

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 1.6 hdi VTR+ 2008

5 star review

I have had this car for over a year now and it has served me well, it has never let me down and is a pleasure to drive. The EGS gearbox took a little time to get used to but once you get the hang of it it works brilliantly. In full auto mode it never skips a beat and is silky smooth, (it can be a little jerky if you are a little heavy with your right foot ) but its not a sports saloon. My vehicle has now covered over 12000 miles we have travelled through France and Spain in it and it was very economical. I would not hesitate in recommending this vehicle to anyone.

Submitted: 2009-05-19 | ID: 38261

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

John, Kent

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 1.6 HDI EGS VTR+ 2008

5 star review

No problems with our C4 GP, it is comfortable, very economical and above all spacious enough to get the grandchildren and all their luggage in when they come to stay. The EGS is great around town or in traffic and coupled with the variable rate steering it makes for a very relaxed and easy car to drive. I do wonder at some of the reviews I read about the C4GP before I bought one, why it is said to suffer from body roll when pushed hard on twisty road’s... it isn’t a sports coupe but a very capable seven seater that has performed perfectly for us so far.

Submitted: 2009-01-22 | ID: 38258

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Maurice, Sussex

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 2.0 HDI Exclusive EGS 2008

4 star review

Owned it for 8 months & 5000 miles so far, despite what others have said nothing at all has gone wrong. EGS can be a little lurchy until you get used to it, and it still sometimes chooses the wrong ratio. But usually it’s brilliant and it gives much better MPG & lower emissions than standard automatics. So economy is pretty good for such a roomy car, 32-33 MPG around town 45 on motorway. Interior is an absolute pleasure to use, seats fold really easily, kids love all the features it feels unlike any other car which all seem boring in comparison.

Submitted: 2008-12-31 | ID: 38260

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Anthony, Buckinghamshire

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 1.6HDi VTR+ egs 2008

5 star review

Was concerned that the 1.6 engine would be lacking, but it is great. EGS gearbox is smooth when you get used to it, and easy to override even when in automatic mode. I travel a bit on the motorway so economy is 50mpg, coupled with the low tax bracket this is such an economic car. Best looking in its field (s-max comes close but way too expensive). No problems yet (only 2000 miles on clock).

Submitted: 2008-09-24 | ID: 38250

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Ian Cocks, Staffordshire

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 2008

1 star review

You must be one of the lucky ones. My Citroen is only 1 month old and has received 3 down loads for the electronic gear shift and still to no avail and the sister car is the same. This is a common problem and Citroen are aware of such problems.

Submitted: 2008-05-02 | ID: 38253

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Dave Axford, Lincolnshire

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 2.0 hdi vtr egs 2008

5 star review

Having read several bad comments about the electronic gearbox on this car, I was quite concerned that I would be disappointed. How wrong can people be?-The gearbox is the smoothest thing since Guinness! I can only think that the bad comments have been left by people who can't drive! The car is already giving 45 mpg, with less than 1000 miles on it, so it's not yet even run in and is getting better all the time. As stated earlier, the gearbox is superb, even in auto mode, which can be over ridden at any time using the paddles and has not missed a beat. I've owned several "people carriers", from most main line manufacturers and this is definitely the best! My family love it and the standard features are nearly all "extras" on other cars (particularly, my previous favourite, the Zafira)-This knocks the Vauxhall into a cocked hat! Don't worry whether you'll like it,-If you can drive-You'll LOVE IT!

Submitted: 2008-03-04 | ID: 38254

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

The latest Citroen Grand C4 Picasso) deals on our sister site ContractHireAndLeasing.com (links open in a new window)

    Other people need your help

    Your review will help others decide which vehicle to buy. By spending just a little bit of time filling out a consumer car review you can share your experiences with other drivers, giving information only owners will talk about, no marketing spiel, just the real thing. We publish all reviews, whether you rate the vehicle high or low. We are impartial. We are independent. We are committed to 100% real reviews. Please give others the benefit of your advice: give them your review.

    Your review will be checked for offensive language within the next few days and then put on RoadTestReports.co.uk and all of our partners websites.

    Have your say!

    ^ Back to Top