2007 207 reviews

25 April 2014

Search

2007 Peugeot 207 reviews

Peugeot 207 reviews by year of make:207 2003 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 Read all reviews

Buy used imageBuy new / nearly new imageContract hire image

Gordon, Durham

Peugeot 207 2006 - 2009

4 star review

Hi,thought I'd share my experience of owning and buying my Peugeot 207,the model is the 1.6 vti (120bhp) petrol model,purchased from a branch of Stoneacre in Durham,tuck it for a test drive and loved it,the driver door card was a little loose but I was advised this would simply clip back on,so I signed my life away on finance,18,000 miles,3 years old,was due it's first m.o.t a month later and looking back now I should have got the dealer to throw it in with the sale,anyhow it passed with only 1 advisory of a corroded rear exhaust hangar bracket,all was well until 6 month later when it needed a new auxiliary drive belt and pulley at a cost of £256 from a local Peugeot dealer,the following year in the February I had to have the whole exhaust replaced at a cost of £550 again from the Peugeot dealer,I later found out I could of had a custom stainless steel one built at half the cost!! Made the mistake of fitting a k&n cold air induction filter and drove into a flooded road nearly destroying my engine! Luckily no damage but the cat did fail,managed to get a second hand replacement cheap,got a local mobile Mecanic to fit this time to fit as he had done previous service work,the gearbox them started to make a whining noise which later turned out to be a faulty differential,again source a replacement gear box and had a new clutch fitted by my local mobile Mecanic,the car does use a fair bit of oil,approx 1 litre every 1000 miles,car now has 44500 miles and is going well,plenty of power and a joy to drive and own,I do try and do some maintenance myself,getting 38 mpg around the doors and a recent trip to Manchester it showed 52mpg so quite happy,I would never return to a main dealer as they only interested in getting my cash and that's it!! I guess there's good and bad in all makes of cars

Submitted: 2014-04-19 | ID: 94434

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Neil McMayon, England

Peugeot 207 GTi 2007

1 star review

DO NOT BUY PEUGEOT. I have had numerous problems with this car, and am now taking the bus to get around whilst a £16,000 from new car just sits rusting on my driveway. I have had the car 5 years and it only has 28,000 miles on the clock. In this time I have had de-pollution faults, tyre pressure sensor faults and the dreaded esp/asr fault which will cost around £1200 to fix. I want to give this car to Top Gear to destroy. If I didn’t have a job I would sit outside Peugeot garages and warn people off from going in.

Responses to this review

I think the dealer has a moral duty to fix the problem you have. I am sorry, I would post my car on the web and place an ad highlighting the problem you have and complain to Trading Standards - Papa Louis from England

Submitted: 2013-05-18 | ID: 44919

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Pawan Chohan, Warwickshire

Peugeot 207 2007

1 star review

Absolutely rubbish! I bought this car one year ago then suddenly a message appeared on the dashboard about an abs fault, then break system faulty etc. The dealer’s asking for £1000 to repair what is apparently a common problem. Give your money to charity instead of buying this rubbish car.

Responses to this review

Had the same problem with faulty ABS and braking system warning lights etc - the car only has 33,700 miles on the clock now and I’ve only had it for about 3 months. Apparently it is the ECU unit which is now going to cost me over £500 - I previously had a 302 but never had problem - the used car dealer has been absolutely useless! - Kasey Cooper from Northumberland

Submitted: 2013-03-09 | ID: 44912

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Michael Snabel, England

Peugeot 207 1.4 Petrol 2007

1 star review

Well, I am disappointed. I purchased it at 22,000miles and have treated this car with love and respect. I practically live in it as I’m courier. I service it every 10-12,000 miles and I even take it through the expensive car wash (£5 a go). I have had the cam-belt and water pump replaced at the correct time and then, one day, it started mis-firing. Having checked a few things I found the injector on C4 needed replacing so after this was done all seemed well. A few weeks later it began mis-firing again, so I replaced the other three injectors. This seemed to fix the problem, but later that very same day, the mis-fire came back. This mis-leading "anti-pollution system faulty" error actually turned out to be faulty wiring on the engine. Also the lights on the centre console around the fan and heater intermittently come on and off, but mostly off. The notification screen flickers dim, the back seats belt alert doesn’t work and finally, today, 96,486.3 miles, the head gasket has died. This was probably caused by an air-lock in the poorly designed cooling system. The over-heating warning came on so I pulled over immediately and had it checked by the AA. The AA man put a pint of water in and all was good for around 5 hours, but then it started running rough and kicking out white smoke. This car sucks!

Submitted: 2012-02-22 | ID: 44906

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Paul Woodhead, Yorkshire

Peugeot 207 GT 110 tdi 2007

1 star review

This is the worst car ever. It leaks water when it rains, which means stripping the front of car to fix it. The tyre sensors failed after about 1 month of purchase. It is sluggish and really heavy on fuel. It keeps blowing bulbs and throwing different problems up on the computer. I would not buy another Peugeot ever or recommend one to anyone.

Responses to this review

This car must have been in a crash. Currently driving a 2006 207 HDi 110 Sport with 130,000 miles and she has give me no bother at all. The light bulbs are an issue however, but I found that if I buy Hella lightbulbs at £8 a go they last so much longer since they are good quality! Sorry to hear you are having trouble with yours, but I love mine - from County Armagh

Submitted: 2012-01-09 | ID: 44900

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Joan B, Dorset

Peugeot 207 1.4 petrol 90bhp sport 2007

3 star review

Bought this 2007 car with 27000 mls and two previous owners, four days ago from a dealership. This is my first Peugeot and it will probabley be my last! I have been driving for fifty years, mainly Renaults, without any problems, but thought I would have a change - fool that I am! The car appeared OK on the test run and had apparently a clear history. It also has a one year warranty. I am already have great difficuty getting into 1st gear from start up, which is aggravating in traffic, (the dealer suggested trying to go into 3rd gear first!!) I have tried depressing and releasing clutch. The 2nd gear is very notchy too. Tonight it took several attempts to get into reverse gear. The gear box is the worst I have ever had, my shoulder aches. I saw the dealer earlier, who said they will have car in next week as they "may be able to do something." I am a relaxed driver, but the suspension is awful on bumpy roads; it jars up through your spine and neck it feels like the car is being thrown around. The dealer says manufacturers have tightened up the suspension, but the springs break, (I thought that was due to speed humps), due to our bumpy roads. But others say not!! The dealer said the mechanic could loosen suspension a little. WATCH THIS SPACE 20.9.2011.

Submitted: 2011-09-20 | ID: 44908

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Clare S, Wales

Peugeot 207 GT CC 2007

2 star review

I purchased my 207GT cc 2nd hand in September 2010. Since then I have had no end of problems. It is very rattly from a cold start especially in the winter, Peugeot have told me this is just how the car is. I also suffer terrible with the car cutting out as you approach junctions or are coming to a stop, the rev counter goes up and the engine just cuts out when it drops. It is very sluggish when you 1st pull off then its like it gets a boost and pulls at propery speed. Peugoet have told me there are no faults and there is nothing wrong with the car. The rear parking sensors only work occasionally and again as no fault shows on the ems they say no fault. All in all I would never buy a Peugeot again as despite these problems being common amoung their cars they don’t seem to acknowledge the problem or want to help to repair.

Responses to this review

I had a very similar problem with a Renault Laguna - downright dangerous. The cure was to remove the throttle body and clean it out. Just used WD40 and a clean cloth and this fixed the problem. Needed doing again about 30,000 miles later - Paul Yates from Kent

My daughter has the 207cc on a 57 plate. She had the same cutting out problem. Took it to Toomey Peugeot dealers. They said this was a known fault and updated the software in the ecu which has fixed this problem. Over a year later, it’s still okay. Also agree with the sluggish pullaway. Doesn’t seem to really be a mechanical fault though. Apart from that, she’s had new rear screen because the heated window didn’t work. A dashboard panel replaced because a light wasn’t working. Aircon stopped working. Fortunately, all covered on the extended warranty. I also notice a petrol smell every now and again. Peugeot don’t seem to be very good cars! - Lee W from Essex

I have a Peugeot 207 on a ’56 plate. I have had the car for 3 years and the problems have started which you have experienced. I have been advised by Evans Halshaw to take the car to a dealer and have an update to the ecu system. It has cheered me up to know that the update worked on your car. I love my car. Is your car still running smoothly? - Janette Hill from Devon

The lack of power is caused by timing that is out and the rattley start is a faulty chain tensioner, these are well known problems! Easily fixed but pricey, don’t let Peugeot fob you off - from England

Difficult to be precise with fault diagnosis without having the car to look at but there are serious design faults with the BMW/PSA small petrol engine family. It’s a joint development engine and these issues affect BMW MINI, Peugeot, Citroen and Volvo models using the 1.4, 1.6 and 1.6 Turbo models, also engines with the Vanos VVT system. It cannot be diagnosed with the computer diagnostic system used by many repairers as it is a failure in the mechanical system that keeps the timing correct. Essentially the cam and crank sprockets loose their position due to a substandard parts and technique used during original manufacture. There are new parts and a revised setting to correct this. Symptoms can be varied but include, failure of parking sensors according to central info unit (bizarre but its French electrics remember!) "Depollution system fault" (most common), stalling, hesitation, misfire on tick over, excessive oil consumption, poor performance, no turbo boost (on THP/Cooper) noisy clattering on start up, and generally tapping noise from engine. Cure, we have repaired a number of cars fitted with these engines now after franchised dealers have either been unable to find the fault or just been over enthusiastic on pricing. It does require a special set of engine locking tools, some precision and care and a reasonable shopping basket of parts however it does cure the issue and prevent re-occurrence. As a guide price, we are a specialist motorsport engineering company rather than a main dealer and charge £550 including parts and VAT for this job with all work coming with 12mnth/15kmile warranty - Matt Stephens from Northamptonshire

Hi Matt, I’ve read your comments on the 207 issues, please let me know if you are still carrying out the work mentioned in you comments? My car is suffering with some of the faults mentioned. Many thanks, adam-mcgrath@hotmail.co.uk - Adam MCG from Northamptonshire

Submitted: 2011-06-13 | ID: 44839

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Davinder Sohal, London

Peugeot 207 2007

1 star review

If I could I would have crushed this car!!! I’ve NEVER had so many problems with a brand new car in my life. I had so many faults with it the list is endless. The one thing that happened was my car wouldn’t start so I had to have it towed to the Peugeot garage in Chiswick (worst place ever), they checked it and gave it back and I didn’t question it and on my way home a light flashed. I called them straight away and they told me bring it right back as it is dangerous to drive!!! I took it back 3 weeks later got it back. I was on a motor way to a friends wedding reception and my car switched off in the middle lane and the hazard lights stopped working! I could have lost my life. It was late and had a few people stop and push it off the road. I had it taken to Peugeot the next morning they kept my car for 3 MONTHS I got it back and 2 weeks later same thing but lucky it was on my road and again they had me pay for it to be towed to them and another 2 months they had it!!!! As I gave the car back I have a print out of all work done to the car it was 5 pages long and while printing the guy was in shock, as was I. This in only 2% of what I’ve been through with Peugeot I regret the day I got it.

Submitted: 2011-05-16 | ID: 44831

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Tony Collins, Wales

Peugeot 207 2007

1 star review

Bought 207 April 2009. Nov 2010 required new clutch. Jan 2011 abs light came on, had new sensor fitted to right rear wheel.  Had back rear brake light fault on dash, took it back to garage, mechanic told me could be faulty bsi unit and the car has only done 22000 miles, what a heap of rubbish! I wouldn’t touch another Peugeot if it was given to me. I’m going to go back to a Chevvy from now on.

Submitted: 2011-03-01 | ID: 44823

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Mark Anthony, Yorkshire

Peugeot 207 2007

1 star review

Had this car 8 months, took it for first MoT main dealers wanted £1000 to pass it. Now Radiator leaking due to it being rusty, it’s only done 29,000. Don’t buy one, dealers are rubbish and of no help.

Submitted: 2011-02-04 | ID: 44830

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

K Molly, England

Peugeot 207 2007

2 star review

Also have fault on passenger airbag when weather hot. Dealer attributed it to sensor problems and replaced but the following summer problems reoccured and continue to do so. In addition have had to have the battery and alternator replaced at several hundred pounds cost. Had a 106 before this which was mega reliable, not sure i would buy 207 again, even though I love design and interior.

Submitted: 2011-01-16 | ID: 44827

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Other people need your help

Your review will help others decide which vehicle to buy. By spending just a little bit of time filling out a consumer car review you can share your experiences with other drivers, giving information only owners will talk about, no marketing spiel, just the real thing. We publish all reviews, whether you rate the vehicle high or low. We are impartial. We are independent. We are committed to 100% real reviews. Please give others the benefit of your advice: give them your review.

Your review will be checked for offensive language within the next few days and then put on RoadTestReports.co.uk and all of our partners websites.

Have your say!

L G, England

Peugeot 207 2007

1 star review

Would give it no stars if I could. Worst car I ever bought. Nothing but problems. Cam belt broke at 29000 miles, cutting the engine out in the fast lane of the motorway! Car less that 3 years old. Alternator has had to be replaced 3 times. Numerous other faults and now at 3 and a half years old the dreaded anti pollution light has come on! I think we should stick it on a tip, I would not inflict this car on anyone. DO NOT BUY A PEUGEOT - MOST UNRELIABLE CAR EVER!!!!<br /><br />

Responses to this review

Simply because you have have had a bad experience, doesn’t make all Peugeots bad cars. And I don’t mean to be rude, but it’s very silly to warn people against buying any of the range based on your own limited and very unlucky experience. I have a Peugeot and have NEVER had any trouble with it and love it. I also know various other people who love them. I have also bought brand new Mercs for the past 20 years and have had umpteen problems with my E-Class but would never be stupid enough to say they are rubbish cars because the figures speak for themselves! So let’s be realistic here, if Peugeot are rubbish, no-one would buy them and they wouldn’t be one of the most popular cars in the world would they? - Mike Collins from Dorset

I’d agree with LG England, I’ve had a 307 for just 7 months and had no end of problems with it, it’s only a few years old. Never experienced so many problems with any other car before. Now my catalytic converter has a fault after numerous other faults - also now getting the anti pollution message! - Liz R from Warwickshire

I have had my 207 m:play for four years and spent £2,700 on faults. The dealer was fresh out of school so he didn’t sell it very well. I got it cause I wanted it, now I just want to burn it out and call it a day. What a joke. Oh if you get one on finance, watch out for the ppi trap. It cost me £2000+ :( - Milk Milk from England

I do agree with these comments. I have owned five Peugeots before my 207 and would not give a single star, furthermore it will be my last. Problems after problems, brakes changed fully after three years, gearbox had to be reconditioned six months later, strong smell of fumes inside! I do not expect this after three years - Laurent Maresse from Warwickshire

My daughter bought a Peugeot 207 (2007 model) second hand from a local Peugeot agent three years ago. She was told it was a demo car. What a disaster, comedy of errors by the agent. They just don’t seem to bother about customer care. Problems with the cooling system, other problems & the latest was the timing chain that broke at 86,000 kms. Even then the agents were very sloppy. We had to resort to being insistent, aggressive and almost abusive language to get some reaction. After all this, they have now - after the car had been fixed & returned almost three weeks ago - not even bothered to inquire from the customer whether all was now going well. Although my dad, brother and I have driven several Peugeots since the 1980s, I will never touch or go near one again - from South Africa

My 207 has spent the last 18 months in and out of the dealership with the dreaded anti-pollution warning problem car just shuts down this also happened when it was three and half years old. They can’t fix it and this is obviously a common fault with this model as I have read numerous reviews, they should do a recall! - Charlotte Thomas from England

I’ve not owned one of these, and after my experience of hiring one whilst on holiday in Spain, I wouldn’t touch one with a barge pole. It was a small diesel, which would not pull your socks off. On mountain roads, I was constantly changing between first and second gear, struggling to keep up with my son-in-law driving a ten year old Ford Ka, which he said never dropped below third gear. It would not pull at anything below 1,800 rpm which meant that at roundabouts I had to change down into first gear despite the fact that I was still rolling. Coupled with the not very comfortable driving position I can honestly say this is the worst car I have EVER driven - from Hertfordshire

Oh my god! I totally agree with the comments made above, I bought my Peugeot 207 (June 07) on Christmas Eve 2008. Whilst driving up the motorway, the car made a horrendous bang and the engine management light appeared. It became apparent when the car was taken to the dealer where I purchased it from, that the water pump had gone causing the cam belt to snap and total engine failure! Like the person above, it happened at exactly 29,000 miles. Now at 45,000 miles, I’ve been told the gearbox needs replacing? I hasten to add I’ve been driving 20 years and never had this problem before with any other car. I will never buy another Peugeot clackety pile of rubbish! - from Kent

Submitted: 2010-11-24 | ID: 44872

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Matt Taylor, Middlesex

Peugeot 207 1.6 GT 150 2007

3 star review

BEWARE!! Avoid the 207 and Peugeot if you can. Bought my 1.6 GT with 27,000 and one former owner. Great for first few months then problems started. Clutch failed at 31,000. Engine Mount bolt failed as well so engine was moving around. Break disks had to be replaced at 33,000. Squeaking noise when pulling away, had to have capillers aligned. Can’t change down to 1st gear from 2nd when slowing in traffic, told this a "part of the cars character". Oil leaks, engine fault lights, issue with drivers door list goes on. I am lucky that the original owner extended the 3 year warranty to 5 year with Peugeot otherwise I would have had a very expensive repair bill. I have to say that the Peugeot dealer near me have fixed everything and only tried to get out of fixing the clutch. Car has been fine now for last few months, touch wood. Will be selling after warranty expires in 2011 and never buy Peugeot again. If you have a 207 still in warranty, extend it. I gave this car 3 stars because it’s quick, cheap to run and insure and has lots of standard equipment. But a modern car should not have so many faults. My Clio 197 I had for 3 years and did 35,000 miles with no faults at all!!

Submitted: 2010-11-03 | ID: 44889

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Joanne Laverty, Northern Ireland

Peugeot 207 1.4 VTi 95 Sport 2007

5 star review

Hi, I bought my 207 brand new back in March 2007. It has been a fantastic wee car to own, never any problems except from the time it lost power and was in ’limp home mode’. But that still doesn’t stop me loving the car, it’s quite brisk out on the open roads and it certainly takes a good thrashing on the b-roads. I opted for the Sport because I felt the ’S’ specification wasn’t as nice as the Sport. For instance, my car has cool metallic inserts on the dash and along the radio and heater controls which was funky, also the seats in the Sport are far better as they are more sporty and comfortable. I used to drive a 1.6i 206 and my 207 is just as fast as the 206. I was going to buy the 1.4i 8v but it was very weedy and underpowered, then I looked at the 1.6 VTi which was superb but once I drove the 1.4 VTi I thought it was powerfull enough for me. Overall its a great wee car, has been a joy to own and drive.. 10/10 from me

Submitted: 2010-09-21 | ID: 44867

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Colin Clark, Durham

Peugeot 207 2007

1 star review

Must be the biggest heap of rubbish I have driven in 30 year. Can’t get 1st gear on rolling stops at roundabouts traffic lights etc, just crunches. No power when overtaking. Had the car 5 months, 15,000 on the clock, thought I was getting a good buy NOT LIKELY. Just had it to the dealers today they said there was nowt wrong, picked it up at 5pm, within 300yards 1st gear still crunching goes back in tomorrow. Need help, it’s bought on finance. Give it 1 star, would have been 0 if possible.

Responses to this review

You put it in first while still moving! no wonder gearbox is complaining - Reg Molehusband from Cheshire

Submitted: 2010-09-07 | ID: 44864

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Natalie, England

Peugeot 207 Sport 1.6 HDI 2007

5 star review

If you want a truly honest opinion on the Peugeot 207 then read on...I am extremely bad for writing "essays" but I do get the point across, so please don’t be daunted by the length of my review! I do think people are forgetting that you can easily get a "bad egg" with cars and that doesn’t necessarily mean the car is no good just because they got a dodgy one. I brought my 207 1.6 HDI Sport 6 months ago, upgrading from my little KA Luxury. I miss my KA a great deal; but the only thing I miss is the leather interior! The 207 drives really lovely, I find it a lot more smooth than my KA and even my boyfriend’s "old" (2005) Fiesta. Don’t get me wrong if you compare it to a more executive car like a Jaguar or Audi then yes it’s not as smooth. It is very powerful and nippy despite being a diesel and accelerates more like a petrol. I love the gear change of the car and the overall seating position is great. I love that I can move just about everything to get in the right seating position. It feels big and spacious but is very deceiving in its size when you park it. It has a 5* NCAP safety rating and isofix clips. I have had my baby niece in the car and it is extremely easy to get her seat in and out, with plenty of room for 2 other passengers in the rear, and plenty of boot space for her pushchair etc. The sports seats that come in the Sport and GT models are extremely comfortable. Again I would have loved to have kept my leather interior and really miss it. But if it is a must have then you should go for the GT version which is part leather, or just pay to have it recovered, which I will definitely be doing at some point! I get around 550 miles to a tank of diesel (I do drive like I’m a girl racer and have been told I drive more like a bloke (!). With "sensible" and economic driving you would easily be able to get 600 miles + to a tank) which with current fuel prices of £1.14 a litre costs around £50 to fill up. If you want to know the mpg then you can work out for yourself! (I’m a girl racer, not a mathematician!!) I was extremely surprised that despite it being a 1.6 and a Sport it is only a group 5 insurance so my premium is extremely cheap. Tax is only £35 a year for the diesel Sport as well so overall extremely cheap to run. If you do want the extra bhp and get the GT your tax will cost more for the year, but still cheaper than if you brought a petrol GTI. The only problem I have had with my car since I brought it was with the rear wiper motor not working which was done under the warranty. When I was looking at getting a Peugeot I was sceptical for it being a "French car" but have found mine reliable (I got a good egg!!). All the reviews I read before buying advised that the diesel engine seemed to be the more reliable car and a lot more efficient than the petrol. Overall I think it is a good reliable car and is cheap to run. My boyfriend loved driving mine so much when his Fiesta started going wrong all the time that he went and brought the GT version with glass panoramic roof and hasn’t looked back!!!

Responses to this review

I posted this review on my own car a good wee while ago... "I have had my 207 HDi Sport 90 for a year and two months now and I have to say it has been a credit to me. I do a lot of motorway miles and have covered over 20000 trouble free miles!!! I can honestly recommend this car to anybody who’s thinking of buying one. I am even getting 65mpg from a 1.6 Diesel and the £35 per year tax is a big bonus!! Peugeot have made a true star, a huge 5/5 from me."... Currently I now have 43k on the clock and it will be 3 years old next may. Still love this car to pieces, I totally can see where you are coming from because they are marvellous wee cars! - Ciaran M from Northern Ireland

Submitted: 2010-08-25 | ID: 44856

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Pat Baker, Cheshire

Peugeot 207 2007

2 star review

Pleased with my 207 however experiencing problems when going into first gear. As long as the car is fully stopped no problem selecting first gear. If however you are in traffic, which starts to move so you put the car into second gear, then suddenly the traffic ahead slows (roundabouts and traffic lights for example) so you are below the speed for 2nd gear and you try to slip into first gear, the gears crunch very loudly. Pointed this out last week when the car was serviced, response was they could find no problem and perhaps I wasn’t despressing the clutch sufficiently. Made a mental note to watch my driving style, however problem still occurring. I have asked two other people to try the car for me and they are experiencing the same problem. The car is still in warranty ’just’ and I’ve booked for it to go back in next week. I wondered if anyone else had experienced problems with first gear in a rolling stop situation?

Responses to this review

Yes having exactly the same problem rolling stop at traffic lights, roundabouts etc. Only way to hit 1st gear is to stop the car to sluggish to pull away in 2nd. Also finding reverse is hard to hit at times. My wife has had it to the dealers we bought it from today and they said it was alright nowt wrong. Just been on the phone 5 mins ago and she said within 300yards it was as bad, if not worse than ever. Cars 07 reg and honestly is the biggest heap of c**p I have ever had its going back in tomorrow - Colin Clark from Durham

I can’t believe you want to use first gear for more than just starting off, unbelievable! No wonder your car isn’t happy. Learn to drive properly - Good Driver from England

You must not, in any car, change down into first gear whilst on the move. Some older lower geared cars can handle this but I would not recommend doing it in any car - from Cornwall

Submitted: 2010-08-13 | ID: 44858

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Joseph Maguire, Northern Ireland

Peugeot 207 1.6 HDI 110PS SPORT 2007

5 star review

I have a 2007 207 1.6 HDI 110 Sport with 67,000 miles on the clock and the car is perfect. I love to absolutely thrash it, it sticks to the road like glue, it handles really well, the steering is perfectly weighted, the chassis is smooth and quiet and the engine is superb. I get over 50mpg even when I’m driving it hard! It’s a fun little car to drive and I’m not telling lies when I say it’s almost as good as a MINI Cooper to drive! Inside the car is solidly built and the materials wouldn’t look out of place in a Jag or Merc. The seats have plenty of adjustment and they are excellent for hard cornering because the sides are very long and support you very well in your chair. The gearbox is very direct and easy to use, also its very smooth shifting... The steering wheel adjusts for reach and rake which is very handy! Overall this little car is fantastic! My wife owns a new Ford Fiesta and I’m not joking, the 3 year old Peugeot is a better car in nearly every area except for rear legroom, though im 6ft 5in and our son, who is also over 6ft, can sit comfortably behind me in the 207 when I’m in my driving position so it isn’t all that bad! I wouldn’t give this car up for the world!

Submitted: 2010-07-26 | ID: 44850

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Kim, Hertfordshire

Peugeot 207 2007

2 star review

I bought my 207 cabriolet from a dealer in the summer of 2007. Within less than a year there was a fault in the driver’s front window; I had to argue with Peugeot to get them to realise it had to be a manufacture fault and they eventually honoured it. I took it for its first service and after a week it began to leak oil; the gear box seal had gone. Approx 8 weeks later another oil leak appeared, this time it was a rear seal of some description. More time in a courtesy car!! Over the last month or 2 I have also noticed an increase in ’creaking’ noises on the rear passenger side, I have now been told this is a weakness in the car. I love this car but I can’t help thinking it’s a pile of rubbish that is causing me a lot of stress, frustration and lost time, which is a real shame as it’s so asthetically pleasing and a joy to drive ..... when its not in the dealers being fixed.

Submitted: 2010-07-08 | ID: 44848

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Paul Ramsbottom, Cornwall

Peugeot 207 GT 2007

5 star review

I replaced a faulty 206cc (after a couple of brilliant 206’s D turbo’s) with my current 207 GT. It’s wonderful, easily the best car I’ve ever owned, great performance from the 1.6 Hdi engine and good economy too. Had a few minor niggles which were sorted under warranty. I plan to keep this one for a while as they’ve stopped doing the GT spec! Looks great in black 3 door and build quaility is up there with the Germans.

Submitted: 2010-06-30 | ID: 44777

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

John P, Kent

Peugeot 207 1.6 hdi s 2007

2 star review

Bought mine in Feb 2009. Spent the first three weeks back in the dealership arguing about the gearbox. Eventually, after a lot of back and forth a new gearbox was fitted under warranty as there is a design fault which has now been resolved. Keep arguing on that one is my advice. I now have the Anti Pollution fault and loss of power on the car at 60560 miles. A friend who works in the trade is going to link up the computer tomorrow and check the fault. He seems to think that he can run up the anti pollution filter to a high tampreture on the computer which clears it out and reset the computer. He has had a few of these and it seems to work okay after that. However, what he cannot understand is why the power drops when it’s only a warning. It would be far safer for a warning message but leave the power alone so you can get home. It’s the computer that shuts down the engine’s power and limits it to 2500 revs there about. I had to limp home 138 miles. I’ll post tomorrow with regards to the pollution fault if it clears once he has had a look. If anyone has any expereince of this fault and what they did to clear I would appreciate it.

Responses to this review

John, did you get the car sorted out? I’ve had the same problem with my 207, it cuts out then says low oil pressure or anti pollutant! And it cuts out at any speed, so very dangerous. I’ve been into the garage and,  because it’s a fault that can happen up to 8 times a day then can be fine for a few days - they can’t find the fault as everytime it’s been in its been OK. Hopefully hear from you soon, thanks, - Sinead Smith from England

Hi, unfortunately I have a 207 1.4 sport. I have had it since Nov 09. The oil light warning came on in April, filled it up but then it came on again two months later, now the anti pollution warning light is showing constantly. Peugeot are replacing the catalic converter on Thursday, they say it is ok to drive ’til then. I can’t see why it would need replacing after 20,000 miles? Also, my car now sounds quite noisey. Any advice on what to say to garage Thursday? I am worried that the converter will just go again if they dont know what caused the converter to go. The warranty runs out in September so I havent long - Jenny Hider from Surrey

Noisy engine on the BMW sourced 1.4 sport was a cam chain knackered @ 20k miles. Oil was disappearing too - probably clogging up the cat in the process - I`m going to get its first MOT before the Peugeot warranty runs out. Lambda sensor packed in (might have been Tesco fuel). Variable valve timing solenoids packed in, Water pump died. All in 3 years from new. NEVER AGAIN will I buy a Peugeot. I was seduced by the comfortable old 306 I used to run in the late 80`s - it was a reliable old banger. This 207 is a pile of c**p and has wasted thousands of my £s - John Trench from Sussex

Hi John, what was the design fault with the gearbox as our brand new sportium diesel has a fault that you can slip into the reverse gear position and grind your idler gear from 5th at any speed. Main dealer says this is how it is. I am a race mechanic not a fitter and all manual gearboxes have a physical lock to stop this from happening - Kirk Twyman from Kent

Submitted: 2010-06-07 | ID: 44765

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Rob Walker, England

Peugeot 207 1.4 2007

3 star review

Bought mine new and am pleased with the comfort and design; I do mostly city driving for work. Within the first year the clutch began to judder badly when used for any time in city traffic, still juddering another 2.5 years later! There is an unresolved ignition problem which causes the engine to bog down when starting off or at slow engine speed, slipping the clutch with a lot of revs is the only solution. The main dealer is worse than useless. They could not identify the clutch judder, mainly because it only appears with prolonged use in traffic. The ignition problem still persists even thought they guaranteed to was the coil pack and replaced it. It is a VERY unpleasant car to drive in the city due to these two faults which Peugeot have failed to solve. I have decided to run this car into the ground as I also have use of other cars. I would be very reluctant to buy another one given what the other makers offer now.

Responses to this review

Have you found a cure yet? We have the same problem. RAC told us it`s the sensor no 2, I changed it and within 2 weeks it has come back - Alan John Clarke from Cardiff

Submitted: 2010-05-23 | ID: 44795

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

LD (Disgruntled), Derbyshire

Peugeot 207 2007

1 star review

If I could give this car zero stars I would!! It drinks petrol, worse fuel consumption that my previous car and that was a Rover automatic (I never thought Rovers could be beaten for poor performance and build, how wrong I was). Just hit 22K miles and the clutch has gone! Peugeot UK deny a fault and accused me of bad driving and causing the ’wear and tear’ as they phrase it. Bring on the lawyers Peugeot Uk I’m not backing down!!

Responses to this review

My 57 reg has recently had the clutch go, however, my garage can’t re-start the car. They have had the car a month and have no idea how to mend it. Ideas please? Also too I agree a clutch go in such a short time. Seems to be a design fault - Margaret Pernavas from Derbyshire

We to have got a PeUgeot 207 Diesel 57 plate and our clutch has gone at 23,000 miles. Same as you, Bristol Street Motors in Chesterfield in a round about way said it was "wear and tear" and that we hadn’t looked after the car. We have contacted Peugeot themselves, this has been going on now for more than 3 weeks, they keep saying "it’s under under investigation". We have had to pay out just under £500 for a new clutch which and we are hoping to get reimbursed for some of the money soon. This must be a fault on this particular model. Another problem we have had is the drivers side door - the hinge went after 6 months, after we had bought it. Luckily this was under warranty, not that it’s worth the paper it’s printed on!!!!!! On the whole the car is a very reliable car, brilliant on fuel, quite easy to do your own service once you have done the first one, don’t go paying dealership prices!! It is nippy, comfortable and quite jazzy inside. It’s just the after care from Peugeot that lets the whole thing down - Laura Nicholson from Derbyshire

This all makes for very interesting reading. I have a 207 GTI on a 57 plate, 25000 on the clock. I absolutely loved it from the start, it’s a gorgeous looking car and drives like a dream, but now the clutch has also gone on mine. I’ve got a mate who’s a mechanic sorting it and apparentely it’s a complete pig of a job. Interestingly he’s also doing another one at the moment on a 207 HDI with exactly the same problem. He phoned Peugeot and they said I was looking at at least £700 - £800 for them to sort it. What I’m getting at is that if this has happened to so many of us, surely it is a manufacturer’s fault and Peugeot should be footing the bill? Or is there fat chance of that happening?! I would be interested to hear from anyone who’s contacted Peugeot about this problem. - from Warwickshire

Had been delighted with my 207 1.6HDi110 sport for about 1 year then earlier this week the clutch started to make a noise and I got it towed to dealer. Car just over two years old 25K on clock and cluch release bearing gone. Wear and tear my a**e. Can the bearing wear out when the actual cluch is OK or have I got this wrong! Peugeot don’t want to know. The warrent would not cover clutch or gearbox wear and tear under any circumstances! Surely this is a fault or this makes the car not fit for purpose. They did say it could be my driving! My 4th diesel Peugeot - all went to more than 100K with no clutch problems. I’m very very disappointed with Peugeot. I’m going to fight Peugeot all the way on this! If anyone else want to tag along the company would be nice - Linda Petrie from Aberdeenshire

Interesting... my clutch has just gone on my 2007 207 - at 25k miles. Very annoying! Until now it’s been fine. I think I’ll contact Peugeot too - from Hertfordshire

Mmmmm seems like all these clutch failiures are from lady drivers! - Very interesting ;) -me you from England

Submitted: 2010-04-25 | ID: 44788

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Peter Moore, Essex

Peugeot 207 207CC 2007

1 star review

Car bought in 2007 and has done 16000 miles. Two weeks ago the anti pollution light came on, engine very rough and stalling . Garage said ok to drive(!). Not driven ’til booked into garage. Top half of engine stripped down, fault not found, complete engine strip down revealed loose pistons!!! Peugeot technical dept have agreed to a new engine, now waiting for confirmation from Peugeot head office. So if your anti-pollution light comes on beware!! Anyone else had this problem?

Responses to this review

I think I may have a similar problem. My antipollution light came on. Engine also lost power, was unable to overtake and slowed regularly all way home. The garage cleared the car computer and told me it was OK to drive and no faults were found. I got car delivered back and drove less than a mile before car cut out and stopped dead in traffic whilst driving along. It is in the garage now and I have been told the car computer is dead?? I was asked to pay for part but reminded garage that car less than 3 years old. I am now waiting. The car has been serviced as instructed and is very good. This is all very sudden and am concerned I may have the same problem - Marianne North from England

Oh dear, that light came on my (08 model) this morning, - but not loss of power or anything so far...- Jane from Wiltshire

Submitted: 2010-01-13 | ID: 44815

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Glenn Widdowson, Scotland

Peugeot 207 1.4 HDi S 2007

1 star review

Very disappointed with poor reliability of this car. I have had two previous Peugeot’s with absolutely no problems. Not this one sadly, problems aggravated by unacceptably poor service from dealership. Four separate visits to cure rainwater leak to front driver side footwell. Then three further visits to mend oil leak. During the most recent visit they managed to damage the airfilter housing, causing it to be seated incorrectly- the resulting vibrations caused the electrical loom to break, which resulted in the car breaking down whilst on holiday in France!!!! Towed to Peugeot dealership in Brighton who wouldn’t honour the warranty - they didn’t believe me when I told them a Peugeot dealer had done the last repair, such was the poor standard of workmanship! I’ll be getting rid of this car before the warranty expires, never to touch a Peugeot again!

Responses to this review

Hi, can you tell me how the problem with the rain water in the drivers footwell was resolved? I have the same issue and every time I take the car into the Peugeot garage they tell me there is no fault - from Cardiff

Hi Glen, been having same issues with with a dealership and was wondering which dealership you were having these problems with??? Thanks in advance. My e-mail is philgrist1981@msn.com - Phil Grist from Clackmannanshire

Hi, I do not understand why everyone complains about Peugeot dealerships. I have bought several Peugeot of both of my local Peugeot dealers in Armagh and Portadown and I cannot fault them at all. They are exceptionally helpful and would go 2 any length 2 make sure the customer gets what they deserve. Also they have clean modern up to date showrooms (here in Northern Ireland anyway) and are not in your face looking a sale. I cannot complain about them and they are quite cheap to get a service done and you always get a courtesy car, Also they always washed and valeted my cars when they were in for a service. 5 Stars. My dealerships are Howard Abraham Peugeot, Portadown and Roadside Motors Peugeot, Armagh - from County Armagh

Hi Glen, could you please tell me how the water in the drivers footwell problem was solved, as i have the same problem. Please email dereklyall@blueyonder.co.uk if you or anyone can help, thanks - Derek Lyall from Mid-Lothian (Edinburghshire)

Found the answer to the driver’s footwell carpet being soaking wet: Lift the bonnet up, on the far left and right hand side there are drain holes, you can see the one on the right easily, however the one on the left is hidden. Water comes down the windscreen and drains in to the plastic mesh and then out the drain holes. It’s the one on the left which is the problem, if it’s blocked then water builds up and eventually over flows into the filter compartment, down your steering wheel column and on to your drivers carpet,if you do nothing it eventually spreads to the passenger seat behind the driver. Ok what to do? Get into the left side, lift the mesh, remove the access panel to the filters if you have them (1.6hdi) get your hand in and try to find the drain hole; it’s at an angle, same size as the right side, the smaller your hands are the better the chance. Once you find it, use something like a plumers flexable rod or maybe even a wire coat hanger to clear the blockage. If more help needed email me at dereklyall@blueyonder.co.uk - Derek Lyall from Lothians

Submitted: 2009-10-12 | ID: 44807

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Luke Hodges, Nottinghamshire

Peugeot 207 2007

1 star review

I got my 207 in March 07. Since then I’ve had problems with an anti-pollution system fault; the front seats have worked loose; I’ve needed new pads and discs plus a new exhaust system and 2 alternators. The hazzard lights come when I go over a bump.

Submitted: 2009-10-09 | ID: 44806

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Charles Coleman, Lincolnshire

Peugeot 207 1.6 diesel 2007

2 star review

I purchased a NEW pug 207 1.6 diesel. Having had, between myself and wife, some 13 NEW cars in the last 15 yrs, this is undoubtably the WORST car we have ever owned. In the 1st year (under warranty) it needed the abs sytem sorting at a cost of £1,000 and it’s now in the garage as the n/s driver folding mirror has packed up working, the car has done 11,000 miles in 2 years, and upon inspection, the front discs on both sides are very heavily grooved. The dealer states they are OK, I DON’T AGREE, in my opinion it needs new discs and pads. It’s difficult to get into reverse gear most times - dealer states the car has no syncro on reverse gear, and it’s a well known fault, the warning light keeps coming on warning of pollution/ something or other. STEER clear of this model. It will definitely be going before it’s warranty runs out. FRENCH C**P AT IT’S BEST.

Responses to this review

Just picked up a 3.5 year old 207 from the dealer. Driving home I got ABS failure. It’s going into to be sorted tomorrow! Having read this lot, I’m tempted to get a refund on the damn thing! - from Norfolk

Submitted: 2009-09-28 | ID: 44804

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Donna, Peebles-shire

Peugeot 207 HDI S 2007

4 star review

I ’ve had my car for just over 4 wks, I have noticed that stereo switches from the cd to the radio as if I had selected it. Then today my son tried to open the passenger door and the handle came off in his hand!! My son is 8! I have contacted my dealer and booked it in to be looked at, but they are making noises, that it couldn’t possibly be a fault and that I will have to cover the cost. I find this terrible as the car is still under manufacter’s warranty and it’s clearly a fault. If anyone has any advice it would be most welcome.

Submitted: 2009-08-20 | ID: 44802

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

David Greenland, Essex

Peugeot 207 2007

5 star review

I have no problems with my 207 thp, a lovely car but what is the point of owing such a vehicle? As soon as anything goes wrong you are told you have to wait 28 days for delivery - If you can’t buy off the shelf. And this is from Peugeot, France. I think its a disgrace; so it might have to be a Focus ST.

Submitted: 2009-08-17 | ID: 44797

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

David Walker, Cheshire

Peugeot 207 SE Premium 90 2007

4 star review

Had the car now for 18 months and very pleased with it. No faults to date other than a slightly juddering clutch when in 1st and the car is not warmed up. I suspect a minor fluid leak onto the clutch plate but have yet to present the fault to the dealer as it doesn’t affect the car much. Interior is well designed and very well put together although it does need some reading lights in the back. The glass roof is superb and really makes the car feel spacious and light. I’ve got the 1.4 90BHP engine which I find is strangely well suited to motorway use but really struggles to move the car around town (and sounds like its in real pain over 4,000 rpm!). Oh, and the glove box is useless! Trouble with the 207 is its not really a Peugeot; it’s too well built (!) and the ride/handling are far too ordinary. However, I would certainly consider another as long as it had a bigger engine.

Submitted: 2009-04-24 | ID: 44958

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Jas Kaur, Kent

Peugeot 207 2007

1 star review

I have had a problem with the car door opening too wide unless you hold the door as you get out it swings wide open an has got damaged at the hinge. I would not recommend the 1.4 as it is very sluggish to drive doesn’t pick speed up moving off unless the gas pedal is down to the floor in which case you will only be doing about 18 miles to the gallon.

Submitted: 2009-02-12 | ID: 44959

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Fayah, Northern Ireland

Peugeot 207 2007

4 star review

Does your 207 have any roll back problems? My car rolls back when it is stationary. Is this common?

Responses to this review

Not wishing to be sarky but are you using the handbrake? If so may need adjusting - Nigel Rowe from Yorkshire

Submitted: 2009-01-21 | ID: 44962

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Andrew Allison, Dumbartonshire

Peugeot 207 2007

4 star review

I bought a 1.4 207 sport almost 3 month ago it is my first car and is a great drive and also good on fuel. The stereo is great and the car looks great too. Recently, when I was out driving, a warning light came on saying de-pollution failure; the car has now become more sluggish and when I first start the engine it is bumpy until the engine heats up, could anybody tell me what is the cause of this and roughly how much it is to repair?

Responses to this review

I have had a 207 1.6 HDI, 90 bhp sport for about 18months. I was reading the manual because just had a service and had to have new brakes pads and discs on a 36k service! Not something I would have expected although I see it has happened to others. I noticed the comment about the pollen filter causing lumpy engine and have just seen reference to this in the manual. I also find the car door opens very wide, having said this it has excellent road holding, slides round corners, it’s solid and the doors feel solid. The excelleration is brilliant and it can hold its own against mini coopers, all this for an average 53 mpg in winter and 63 mpg in summer. I’ve had to drive a brand new Corsa the last couple of days, yuk, tinny, expensive to run and uncomfortable with no excelleration and sounds like a tank, i’ll take my 207 any day - Allen Griffiths from Kent

Submitted: 2008-10-17 | ID: 44940

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Josie Vevers, Cumberland

Peugeot 207 2007

3 star review

I am inquiring if anyone has had problems with the driver’s door opening too far and that has damaged part of the car? (3 door)

Submitted: 2008-05-14 | ID: 44939

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Steve Bradbury, Scotland

Peugeot 207 1.6 VTi 120 Sport 2007

1 star review

I purchased my new 207 in October with an additional body kit which I had seen in the showroom. I had no problems until 4 weeks ago when the car broke down on the motorway with an indication of low oil pressure. The oil was fine and I was towed to the dealers that I had purchased it from. One month later I still don’t have the car and they are replacing the engine after many promises to have it fixed earlier. The excuses have been varied. I am disappointed with the service given and yet to have my car back.

Responses to this review

I have been having the same problem with the warning coming on regularly to check engine oil although when checked manually it seems fine, but if I leave it without adding oil it says that the engine oil pressure is too low. A local garage seems to think the engine will need stripping to try and locate the fault. Did they ever find out why this message was appearing? - from Hertfordshire

Submitted: 2008-05-06 | ID: 44937

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

A Barrable, Kent

Peugeot 207 Sport 2007

2 star review

The turbo whistles like a police car when cold, normal I am told, and the boot lid has to be primed to open and close properly, normal I am told but the cuts and bruises on my head dont think so. Dealer is useless no enthusiasm, unless I pay!! Wanted a Clio but they stopped doing the colour I wanted, should have chosen another a colour. Had Clio for 4 years no problems whatsoever.

Submitted: 2008-03-17 | ID: 44928

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

C. Jackson, Suffolk

Peugeot 207 Sport 2007

1 star review

After purchasing a fine looking Peugeot 207 Sport from our local Peugeot dealer just a few weeks ago, I’m sad to say that with only 200 miles and 2 weeks motoring the car is back with the dealer & off the road. The fault appears as a pollution system error showing up via the cars management system which took the dealer 5 working days to admit they didn’t know what was going on & ended up down loading the data to Peugeot direct for their review- why not that do on the 1st day I wonder. The manufacturer’s response and the dealer’s constant excuses why the fault cannot be sorted are very unimpressive- so far. May be we should have stuck with a Clio!

Submitted: 2008-01-25 | ID: 44929

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

K P, Torfaen

Peugeot 207 1.4 Sport 2007

3 star review

I have had this car for 1 year now. The first fault that occurred was that the speedometer just stopped working and dropped to 0 as did the rev counter when I was doing around 70mph on a duel carriageway. This was down to the EMU which needed to be replaced. After much quarrelling with the dealership I had bought the car from just 3 weeks previously I manage to get a courtesy car for free rather than paying around £11 a day for it. This was a good thing because it took 5 weeks to fix it rather than the estimated 5 days. Then the seatbelt warning light would come on intermittently with a warning saying that there was an airbag/seat belt pretension system failure. 3 trips back to the dealership and (fingers crossed) the problem seems to be solved. Finding fuel economy quite poor although that could be due to my driving! Having said all that, I still love the car and am planning to get the 1.6HDi within the next 6 months.

Submitted: 2008-01-14 | ID: 44930

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Andrew Elliott, Hertfordshire

Peugeot 207 1.4 M Play 2007

5 star review

Picked up the car 2 weeks ago, and for the price it is a bargain. 1.4 engine pickes up well, great on fuel and also looks the part. Stereo system is great also and more importantly, feels safe to drive and easily fits 3 kids in the back.

Responses to this review

Hi. I am thinking of buying one of these, can you tell me if you have had any faults with yours? Thanks - Sarah Hopkins from England

Submitted: 2007-10-01 | ID: 44932

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Marcus Reid, Shropshire

Peugeot 207 1.6T 150 GT 3 dr 2007

5 star review

I’ve only had my 207 for 2 months but I am more than happy with it’s performance. It’s a really smooth drive and very responsive. Looks really good too. Really pleased.

Submitted: 2007-09-05 | ID: 44931

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

The latest Peugeot 207) deals on our sister site ContractHireAndLeasing.com (links open in a new window)

    Other people need your help

    Your review will help others decide which vehicle to buy. By spending just a little bit of time filling out a consumer car review you can share your experiences with other drivers, giving information only owners will talk about, no marketing spiel, just the real thing. We publish all reviews, whether you rate the vehicle high or low. We are impartial. We are independent. We are committed to 100% real reviews. Please give others the benefit of your advice: give them your review.

    Your review will be checked for offensive language within the next few days and then put on RoadTestReports.co.uk and all of our partners websites.

    Have your say!

    ^ Back to Top