2007 Grand C4 Picasso reviews

25 October 2014

Search

2007 Citroen Grand C4 Picasso reviews

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso reviews by year of make:2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 Read all reviews

Buy used imageBuy new / nearly new imageContract hire image

Kevin Claydon, Cambridgeshire

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso Exclusive 2007

1 star review

Hello! I have posted a number of posts on here and many other websites with reference to my Citroen Grand Picasso Exclusive that we bought new in 2007, which was ordered LHD from the factory with over 12,000 euros of options on it (total cost 37k+ euros). It has come to my attention that many, many people are having the same dangerous problem with the EGS Gearbox, which Citroen and its dealers are dismissing as a fault along with trying to palm this of on to each other and us the owners. What I propose is for everyone that has this vehicle and especially those that have this fault get together and join forces to either go to Citroen UK HQ or demonstrate about this OR go to Citroen France. Let’s get this in the Media’s eyes along with any TV News that we can drum up. This is dangerous. let alone Citroen’s Customer service needs to be aired. Anybody wish to help/support this please get in contact. Thank you.

Responses to this review

Hi, my gearbox cracked down after 105,000 km. I have been charged 5000 euro to repair it. I have always taken the car to a Citroen garage for maintanance. The garagiste who repair it wrote that he found a normal presence of oil in the gearbox. The customer service replied me that as a ’commercial gesture’ they were sure that when I will buy a new Citroen the dealer will offer me a good price. I am happy to join you, my email is paolo.alberti@europarl.europa.eu - Paolo Alberti from Belgium

Submitted: 2012-09-15 | ID: 38224

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Kevin Claydon, Cambridgeshire

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso Exclusive 2007

1 star review

I bought what I was told to be the highest spec Grand Picasso Exclusive to ever leave the Factory in 2007. We placed the order with the dealer (abroad LHD due to our holiday home) 07/12/06 and was told we would get the vehicle in 3 months time. It arrived 29/03/07 (nearly 4 months). The vehicle cost 25,060 euros with another 12,162 euros of optional extras we had put on (Total 37,122 euros) which we paid for in cash. The Dealership was all over us until the car started to have faults. We took the car for its first service and were told they had to do a modification due to a factory fault. Then we were told it was ready only to find they had forgotten to do the first service, which is what it went in for! Another 2 hours later done. Then the vehicle started to have signs come up on the digital display ie: Water Pressure in the Diesel Filter, ESP/ASR System Faulty, Hand Brake System Faulty, Depollution System Faulty. So we took it back to the dealer. They put it in the service bay while I watched from the gantry above, only to see two oily overall mechanics get in the back (no seat covers) and sit on our full leather interior and pull down the 2 DVD players and watch a Movie with 3 others standing outside watching! I took photos of them doing this and then went and complained to the service manager. End result the Owner of the dealership apparantly fined the staff. After supposedly fixing the vehicle I drove it away. Two weeks later while driving the car I hit a small bird, which got lodged in the front grill; I only knew this when I got home due to our dog trying to get at it. I pulled the bird away and buried it. Three weeks went by driving the car and then on the motorway I noticed white smoke coming from the back. I pulled over and looked underneath to see a pool of RED oil under the vehicle and along the length of the underside to the back. I called for a recovery as the Citroen Recovery (Red Button) system wasn’t working. The vehicle got taken (flat bed) back to the dealer (100 miles away). A week went by so we went to the dealer only to be told that I had hit a bird (found some feathers) and I was not covered (I had also taken out an extended warranty for the vehicle at time of purchase). I was then told by the service manager that he would fix it, but he would make sure I would have further troubles with the vehicle at a later date! This alarmed me, which ended in me having to pay £50 to get my vehicle released (this was what the staff got fined earlier) and a flat bed recovery came to take the vehicle to my house. I complained to Citroen France (Dominique Delacour and Veroni Brean) who said they would look into it, but guess what? Nothing! Three years have now passed and we’re still no further forward, the vehicle hasn’t moved with only 29,000 on it. Citroen I own 10 vehicles (Retired Math Graduate Cambridge aged 51) Volvos/Lexus/Merc G Wagon etc., but I will never buy another Citroen. Avoid at all costs.

Submitted: 2012-09-15 | ID: 38226

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Mary AttMAryA, Lincolnshire

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso Auto 16 2007

3 star review

Apart from the sluggish gear change and wet feet when it rained, the major recurring problem I have had is the car showing a depollution system faulty message! This flashes up just before the car locks up and comes to a grinding halt! The first time this happened I was on the motorway in the middle lane doing 60 as we were slowing down for roadworks. I managed to get to the near side lane on that occasion. Since then it has happened three more times. I am nearing the end of my lease now and will not be getting another Citroen. I no longer feel safe driving it, which is a shame because it suits my needs. I just have no faith in it now as no one seems able to find the cause of the problem.

Submitted: 2012-07-03 | ID: 38219

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Mark, England

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 1.6hdi exclusive 2007

5 star review

Mine is top spec in metalic black with sat nav, phone, and the best engine I think. A brilliant car that has everything and more. It’s very economical,the egs is superb and no problems with performance. I have owned it for 3 months and I don’t know why people slate them so much as you wont get better for the money.

Responses to this review

You’re right, it’s a great car, when everything is working. When the problems strike however it’s a different story. Bought mine new in 2007 and loved it until earlier this year when the electronics started acting up. No climate control in 33 degree heat is not fun, especially when two Citroen dealers couldn’t fix it - Alan Swaffer from France

Submitted: 2012-04-26 | ID: 38232

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Tax Payer, England

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 2.0 Hdi Ets Vtr+ 2007

4 star review

I bought this car 18 months ago, and I’ve not had one ounce of trouble. Do you find the people that have purchased this car on mobility all moan? You have got a car for free and you moan, get off your fat a*ses and work for a living and then you’ve got the right to moan about something you actually paid for.<br /><br />

Responses to this review

People on Motability schemes don’t have a choice, they are on disability for a reason and for someone like you to run them down cause you’re up your own a*se is pathetic. Most of these people have worked and have suffered from health problems which leaves them no choice. You just go enjoy your wee microwave dinner there mate! - Barry McC from Ireland

As a taxpayer and someone who has worked all our lives, we have a C4 for my disabled wife. First the clutch went after 2,000 miles, now it’s gone in for its first MOT and we have been told the steering rack has stripped the threads on the mountings so it has been taken off the road while it’s being repaired. This is after me telling the garage there was a problem and something was loose. I was told "no it’s just a heat shield come loose, it wont breakdown on you"; some fitter! As a retired mechanic, it makes my blood boil to read rubbish from a cretin like you about Motability people getting something for nothing we pay for these vehicles out of our disability money, and have worked hard all our lives. I wonder how hard you have worked. You will be old one day and possibly in pain, will you not claim a Motability vehicle? I think so, remember what goes around comes around and I dearly hope it bites you big time in the a*se. You will be sorry you’ve slagged disabled people off - from Cardiff

I am one of the lazy motability drivers you refer to. I worked a 16 hour a day as an LGV long distance driver for 15 years, even though I suffered with Crohn’s Colitis. I then fell off a lorry from some height and broke my back. I have since developed type 2 diabetes through inactivity. You wouldn’t have done my job in perfect health, mate. I may have suffered from diarrhea for years but it doesn’t come out of my mouth. You probably blame lorry drivers for all your bad driving habits also. Well done man. My one wish for you is that one day you will also need a motability car! - Dave Preece from Neath Port Talbot

Hello, it’s people like yourself that the problem to all our owes in this country, a simple fact of no understanding of the disability payment system in this country. We too have a Citroen C4 Grand which is on the Motability system, the car is paid for the money my wife would receive because of her disability BUT (and this is a huge BUT), she is working full time, earning £30,000 per year paying 20% tax. She is also putting fuel in the car paying 70% tax to allow her to work. I too work part time but I am also a carer to my wife earning a measly £55 per week. You have not got a clue about people’s circumstances, everyone getting a car on Mobility gets one because their disability is deemed that severe that having access to car is their one point of access to this world, where they can spend money pumping huge amounts back into society. We are all tax payers not just the rude people of this world who have no clue what so ever. I would happily swap my wife’s condition with you and lets just see what its like with the shoe on the other foot. Good day - from Yorkshire

Some people on mobility do work! I work full time and I childmind, maybe you should keep your thoughts to yourself until you know all the facts - Jenna O’Leary from England

Oi, people on mobility don’t get given cars for free!! We have to surrender our benefit for a car. This is because we are disabled!!! I used to work so have paid my taxes and my husband works now. I’d love to work, but ill health prevails. Some people are so small minded???!!! I love my Picasso, it’s a great car, and it enables me to get where I need to go, like school runs. Perhaps your blinkered opinion will change slightly now. Most disabled people are truly grateful for mobility!!! Those who are actually genuinely disabled - I take it you aren’t and don’t know or understand anyone who is?? I hope you never have to - Rebecca Fewins from England

Submitted: 2011-10-20 | ID: 38203

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

IM Ross, Hertfordshire

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 1.8 petrol 2007

2 star review

I bought my Picasso second-hand through a Citroen dealer in 2009. A great vehicle to drive - when it isn’t giving problems! After a number of light bulbs going and several fuses for the wipers (that seemingly can’t cope with anything beyond a touch of frost), I am now starting to see ’my error’ in buying this vehicle. It is way too ’technology-dependent’... too many ’sensors’ perhaps? (A fuel cap that periodically ’decides’ not to function). A couple of days ago the engine started surging badly and then completely lost power after leaving home in morning traffic. Somehow I managed to crawl home (fortunately only about a mile) and as I stopped, all manner of ’fault indicator lights’ came on. I did a little fuel and carb ’cleaning’ and the engine and power significantly improved again, but far from a smooth idle and the one engine warning light now flashes with the (occasional) message - "Depollution System Fault"?? However, a mechanic has just run a diagnostic check and he gets the code error P1340, which apparently is a ’camshaft sensor’ fault?? I’m now ’battling’ to get some definitive and accurate info, before I get ’ripped off’ by the dealer. I’m also looking at the trade-in market too!<br /><br />I bought my Picasso second-hand through a Citroen dealer in 2009. A great vehicle to drive - when it isn’t giving problems! After a number of light bulbs going and several fuses for the wipers (that seemingly can’t cope with anything beyond a touch of frost), I am now starting to see ’my error’ in buying this vehicle. It is way too ’technology-dependent’... too many ’sensors’ perhaps? (A fuel cap that periodically ’decides’ not to function). A couple of days ago the engine started surging badly and then completely lost power after leaving home in morning traffic. Somehow I managed to crawl home (fortunately only about a mile) and as I stopped, all manner of ’fault indicator lights’ came on. I did a little fuel and carb ’cleaning’ and the engine and power significantly improved again, but far from a smooth idle and the one engine warning light now flashes with the (occasional) message - "Depollution System Fault"?? However, a mechanic has just run a diagnostic check and he gets the code error P1340, which apparently is a ’camshaft sensor’ fault?? I’m now ’battling’ to get some definitive and accurate info, before I get ’ripped off’ by the dealer. I’m also looking at the trade-in market too!

Responses to this review

The fuel filler cap release problem was a known design fault in the earlier models and was a free warranty fix. - L T from Dorset

Submitted: 2011-06-21 | ID: 38147

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Wayne Goodenough, Yorkshire

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 2.0vtr+ 2007

2 star review

Oh my God! Having so many problems with the EGS gearbx. The severe juddering when setting off in first gear is a nightmare. I’ve had the car for 3 months and it’s been back to Evans Halshaw 5 times. All they tell you is its a characteristic of the car, well I’m sorry but Citroen do not design these cars to judder so it is classed as a fault. I would advise anybody buying a C4 Picasso with the electronic gear system to take it out on a long test drive; I would put money on it juddering when setting of in first. It’s a real shame because the model I have 2.0vtr+, has everything you could wish for in a car and more but this fault is really letting the car down. When will Citroen admit the fault and arrange for a solution?

Responses to this review

We also have a 1.6 C4 Grand Picasso with the EGS semi-auto gearbox. It’s done 43,000 miles and we’ve been told it needs the clutch replacing at a cost of £1,300. I was told they were seeing lots of these and it was down to how people were driving them. Thing is, we had issues at 17,000 miles just after buying it and it went in and out of a garage three or four times before it was ’fixed’. I was never convinced of the explanation that the problem was caused by contaminated fuel. Now I find out they actually replaced an actuator, so seems to be the problem was associated with the gears/clutch and we are now paying the price of it not being sorted out then. Citroen is denying there is any general problem with these gear boxes so we have to argue our individual case for some sort of good will - Lee Hayhurst from Berkshire

I am undecided whether to purchase a Picasso 2008 with semi-auto gearbox or automatic gear box. What do you think? - from England

I decided against the EGS when I got mine in 2007. It had too much lag. Citroen clearly hadn’t sorted the design out, partly caused I believe by designing to suit a very tight production budget. How a dealer could blame a fault on an ELECTRONICALLY CONTROLLED gearbox on "how people were driving it" is completely ridiculous - as is calling it a "characteristic". Basically the design wasn’t up to the job. If I remember rightly there were Mercedes out at the time that had a similar system. As far as I know, they didn’t suffer the same maladies, but then they weren’t designed and made on the same kind of budget!. - L T from Dorset

Submitted: 2011-06-21 | ID: 38180

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Noah Kendall-Hall, Warwickshire

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 07 VTR Plus 2007

5 star review

This car is amazing. It is so refined and the ride quality is excellent. The 1.8 litre engine gives enough power for both in town and cruising on the motorway. The power delivery is smooth and predictable. The steering is quite light but precise and the car is quite easily manoeuvred around town because of the amount of visibility available. I particularly like the split A pillar, which boosts visibility in the front. However, the fuel consumption is disappointing. Around town, you are lucky to get more than 25mpg out of it, making fuel costs almost unaffordable at today’s prices. Then again, you don’t buy a big car and expect good fuel economy. As far as practicality is concerned, this car excels with a vast amount of space available to both the front and back seat passengers. However, the very back seats should be reserved for children or small adults. With the back seats down, there is an enormous boot space. Inside, the plastics are relatively soft compared to a lot of cars and the build quality is almost as good as the Germans can manage. There are quite a few cubbyholes to put odd things in and the speedo and rev counter look great in the centre screen. Overall, this is a very good car for big families that offers interior space and comfort by the boatload.

Responses to this review

Great review, convinced me to buy this car! - Dave McDuff from Scotland

Submitted: 2011-05-10 | ID: 38178

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Iain Thompson, Essex

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso Exclusive 2.0 HDi 2007

1 star review

What a terrible car! The gearbox is awful, the EGS is at best beyond irritating and at worst stupidly and terrifyingly deadly. What people have said here about say rolling upto a roundabout on a slip road.. Then you put your foot down and wait maybe 8 seconds with your foot on the floor before it moves. Is sadly true and I intend to write to my MP about this as its clearly indicative of the car and not just mine. I bought mine as an ex mobility car from a main dealer with FSH. The brake pads needed replacing straight away as they were grinding. Then they have had it back 4 times now to fix a knocking in the drivers door area which they have not sorted yet. The clutch is now slipping every time it changes gear, then finally it pops off and you lurch forward. Its like being driven by a learner on their first lesson. To make matters worse, and this is the icing on the cake really.... If you take the car back to the dealer they have a culture of 1) Blame the customer 2) Deny anything is wrong at all 3) Give the car back to you having achieved nothing at all. Seriously if your thinking about buying one of these cars DON’T under any circumstances. It’s not that you might be unlucky and get a bad one, more like at some point the car will fall apart, stop working, roll off, catch fire, or just be the most miserable thing to own you ever had!! DON’T DO IT TO YOURSELF. 1 star is the least you can give... That’s so wrong...

Responses to this review

Totally agree, Iain. It is a great car considering the flexibility, but what does it help when things go wrong all the time? Our 2007 Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 1.6 HDI EMG just broke down at 93.000km, probably the gearbox and in addition to that, there are some electricity problems. We bought this car nine months ago and before this one, we had a Citroen C8 which also broke down, the cambelt broke. I’m now done with Citroen in general - from Norway

Submitted: 2011-03-04 | ID: 38167

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Paul Mordey, Hertfordshire

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso Petrol 2007

1 star review

Bought the car in February 2009, since then it’s spent as much time in the dealers as it has on my drive. Main problem is the EGS Gearbox which started to play up 2-3 Months after it was purchased. Continual problems with extremely slow Gear change, acceleration problems once moving, and pulling out onto a junction or a roundabout you take your life in your own hands. The dealer has replaced the Clutch Cylinder and the Actuator and reset the Software numerous times. The Warranty expired in May 2010 and now it needs to go back in again the dealer is saying that I’m probably going to have to pay for the repairs this time as Citroen won’t commit to there being a problem. The Main Technician came out for a Test Drive and in his words the car didn’t seem to know what gear it should be in, hence in the indecision with the acceleration. On top of that it’s also had a new Water Pump and 2 Thermostat Assemblies replaced, and now it has a Cracked Windscreen which appeared overnight, all this on a car that’s only covered 24,000 Miles. It goes back in on Monday and I’m fully prepared for an arguement and having to resort to threatening Legal Action to try and resolve the problem. Personally had I known then what I know now, I’d have avoided this motor like the plague.

Responses to this review

I had the same problem - but asked the dealer to put the software update for the gearbox on and it has worked fine since... - from Surrey

Submitted: 2011-01-13 | ID: 38176

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Geoff, England

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 1.8 VTR+ 2007

1 star review

Drives well generally, very comfortable. VERY poor in snow and resorted to using my wife’s 11 year old Picasso, which handles the conditions far more impressively. Have a major probem with it now though as water ingress has caused damage to the wiring resulting in the front wipers developing a mind of their own along with numerous other error messages, which have rendered the car impossibe to drive. The car was purchased from motobility after my father had it from new and he experiened a similar problem last year after the heavy snow which the RAC mechanic put down to water ingress. Citroen said it was not this and replaced the wiper motor. A year later when the same thing has occured after similar weather conditions they say it is water ingress which is not covered by the warranty and will cost £2000 to repair. Not at all happy and considering legal action, beware when considering.<br /><br />

Submitted: 2011-01-06 | ID: 38175

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Other people need your help

Your review will help others decide which vehicle to buy. By spending just a little bit of time filling out a consumer car review you can share your experiences with other drivers, giving information only owners will talk about, no marketing spiel, just the real thing. We publish all reviews, whether you rate the vehicle high or low. We are impartial. We are independent. We are committed to 100% real reviews. Please give others the benefit of your advice: give them your review.

Your review will be checked for offensive language within the next few days and then put on RoadTestReports.co.uk and all of our partners websites.

Have your say!

Melissa Davies-Wright, London

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso Diesel Exclusive 2007

1 star review

Just after midnight on Friday 29.10.10 our 2007 Gran Our C4 Picasso Diesel Exclusive spontaneously combusted. That night we drove from London to Blackpool. We arrived just before midnight, unpacked the kids and (not all) contents of the car, put the kids to bed. My husband then moved the car from the front drive to the side of the house. 5 mins later the car alarm went off. When he went outside he found the car was on fire, so ran back into the house telling us to get out. We had to get our 1.5 and 3.5 year olds out of bed and we escaped the house with my parents in law. A good Samaritan had been banging on the front door telling us to evacuate and he let me and our kids into his car to protect us from the cold and thick black acrid smoke. The fire brigade arrived too late to save the car, which is pretty much missing the front part of it, the heat damaged my parents in law house, shattering the double glazing through to the kitchen, and 2 other windows, and the fire was minutes from getting inside the house. It damaged the next door bungalow too. As it is only days ago, there has been no results from the insurance investigation. The car was stationary and off - one of the fireman said it is hard to tell, but it could have been an electrical fault near/in the engine. We have been shocked to the core. The what ifs - what if it happened on the motorway, what if it happened when we were unpacking the car, leaving the kids asleep in the back, what if it happened after we’d all gone to bed... If you want to see what it looked like as it was towed in the morning see this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rJej2PTSyBY We loved our C4, but I just cannot bring myself to replace it with another one, and now are are probably going to be 3-4-5 thousand pounds out of pocket to buy something else. Thank God for - the car alarm - good Samaritans - quick thinking from my husband - Fleetwood fire brigade - our health and lives

Responses to this review

Dear Melissa, sorry to hear about your predicament. Only the same incident happened (with our Citroen Picasso exclusive 57 registration) yesterday Tuesday 2nd November. My Partner was driving to school when she could smell burning, she phoned the fire brigade, by the time they arrived the car engine had completely burnt out. It’s a big shock, fortunately like yourselves we were all OK. It seems to me that there well could be some manufacturing fault with this car and you shouldn’t be losing any monies - Thomas Mills from Lancashire

Submitted: 2010-10-31 | ID: 38156

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Shaun, Nottinghamshire

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso VTR+ 2007

3 star review

My wife has this car under the mobility scheme but I am duty driver. The car has been great over the last 3 yrs with it only going back to the dealers once to have the fuel cap flap replaced due to it not opening when the button was pressed. But having taken it in for its 1st M.O.T I was surprised to find it fail due to the brakes and an oil leak. Now the car has under 16,000 on the clock and the front discs and pads were so badly worn they had to be replaced before I could even take the car home. The oil leak was from the crank case and had fouled the timing belt so that work was covered under warranty. The mechs then found out it wasn’t the crank case gasket but was a bearing and seal failure on the crank. All this work is covered by the mobility scheme but if I had bought this car at £18k then had to spend several thousand to get it through its 1st M.O.T I wouldn’t be a happy bunny. Just ordered the new mobility car and its going to be the Renault Grand Scenic 1.5DCI not another Citroen.<br /><br />

Responses to this review

Looks as though we’ll be keeping the C4 a bit longer now as the newly ordered Grand Scenic has fallen off the transporter enroute to the dealers - from Nottinghamshire

Submitted: 2010-10-01 | ID: 38163

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

C Cox, England

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso petrol vtr+ manual 2007

3 star review

Delighted with the car which is still under manufacturer’s warranty. Only thing that makes me wonder how expensive this car will turn out to be is the fact that it needed a new clutch at 28,000 miles. I have had many cars and have never had to replace a clutch before. (Last car Ford Galaxy which had done 140,000 miles) Anyway - surprise surprise - it was not covered under the warranty as they said it was wear and tear. This cost me £750. Not pleased.<br /><br />

Submitted: 2010-09-14 | ID: 38155

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Jim Tucker, Sussex

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso Exclusive 2.0 EGS 2007

4 star review

Just coming to the end of a 3 year motability lease. I’ve read the other reviews and it seems like you either get a good one or they’re total c**p. That being said I’ve covered 35000 miles and its had 1 service (apart from the 500 mile) and had no real problems. It’s been a relaxing, effortless drive once you get used to the EGS. Great load lugging capability (we drive to Denmark on a fairly regular basis). On these trips I can just about manage 52 mpg, using cruise control, at about 68 mph. Other than that it’s around 40 mpg. On the minus side I’m not sure about the service intervals at 20k. The oil gets pretty black - so goodness knows what the filters are like. The suspension crashes over pot holes and drain covers and shimmies the car off driving line - you learn to avoid them where possible. The EGS can become confused leading to sharp intakes of breath when it chooses too low a gear to accelerate out of trouble or even just doesn’t engage (vary rare these). The only electrical problems I’ve had are: 1. All the mileages, including service interval, (except the total) reset themselves at with about 12k miles covered. No one at citroen believed me. 2. With 34.5k on the clock warning lights for the ESP and Electronic handbrake (incl hill start assist) showed as failed. Drove carefully home, turned off engine left for 5 minutes restarted - no problems. Would have preferred to give 3.5 stars but hey ho all things considered I’ve enjoyed the car.

Submitted: 2010-06-29 | ID: 38106

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

David C, Cheshire

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 2007

2 star review

My two stars are for the look, feel, design, space and drive position of the car, I really like driving it, but it ends there. My car is three years old but has only done 18000 miles and is immaculate internally but in the 4 weeks I have had it, we have replaced the water pump, and apparently the replacement was faulty, the back door operating mechanism has been replaced, then the back door actuating swich, the rear washer, the glove compartment door would not lock, the rear high level light casing leaked at the first sign of rain, and the trye compressor which has never been out of it’s compartment does not work. This is our second car and we needed it for family reasons, I have driven my other cars 50K per year for the past 40 years in minis, vivas, hilmans, rovers, vauxhalls and toyotas I have never had a car that has needed so much attention in such a short space of time due to build quality, had I needed it for business travel I could not have managed, my current Toyota has 140K on the clock and it just goes from service to service. This is my first French car and I won’t buy another, AND I am a Francophile.

Submitted: 2010-06-10 | ID: 38109

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Steveott Hofton, Nottinghamshire

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso VTR + 2007

3 star review

I bought the car when 11 months old, the first problem was a squealing noise from the engine area, after 3 visits to the dealer the waterpump was changed, Then the car was losing water with no evidence of drips under the car. This was then confirmed while having the car serviced that the air bleed valve was not tight. The car has been in 3 times for the fuel flap relase not working. The upgrade was carried out but the problem still exists. One of the rear boot area seats would not collapse, this problem is yet to be looked at. I had a puncture and proceeded to get the compressor to inflatete the tyre, I could not get any air via the compressor into the tyre, I had to get the breakdown company out to get me to a garage to replace the tyre, they only had the top of the range £200 tyre available. Now that the hot weather is here I went to use the AC but no cooling was apparent. I proceded to look under the bonnet and to my shock one of the pipes to the compressor has split and was hanging around in the engine compartment. Has anyone had an AC problem of this nature? I am expecting a resounding "not under warranty" comment when I take it to the dealer...........Frustrated Sh**tron owner.

Submitted: 2010-06-06 | ID: 38112

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Daz, Nottinghamshire

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 2007

3 star review

I’ve had quite a few problems with mine. I got it on the 4th of September 2007. On the 6th I took it back via the RAC truck, it would not start, immobilizer fault. After it came back the dash fault light was still on, I also have problems with the gear box going from 5th to 4th. Citroen won’t admit there is a fault. I have a ghost in the passenger seat system says there is someone there even if door has not been opened. De-pollution fault x4, front fog-lamps flash on and off over 55mph – I’ve been pulled loads of times by the old bill - they fixed that, they took out the relay as they couldn’t find a fault. I usually keep a car for 5 years but this one will go in September when it’s 3 years old and I will be looking for a different 7 seater.

Submitted: 2010-04-15 | ID: 38113

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

John Marsden, Yorkshire

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 2007

3 star review

Super car except for the Auto Gear box/clutch. This caused an accident when on a rolling start the clutch did not engage until a lot of revs applied and then went off like a rocket into a fence!! More recently the car has been setting off in a series of judders and jumps until it eventualy settled down. Auto gear change when on a journey has also been so clunky it makes rear passengrs car sick. Today I have had the software updated to version 9666649580 and the car is a different machine as a result. Why don’t Citroen chance a recall on this problem rather than accept all this criticism Just over 30000 miles covered in nearly 3 years. The citroen dealer says that I should have complained earlier but it wasn’t until two other drivers drove it with me as the passenger that I realised how bad it really was.

Responses to this review

Hi John. I read your review with interest as I have just picked up my used 2.0 litre petrol egs automatic c4 Picasso. 2 years old and covered 30k miles. A lovely car but I have been experiencing exactly the same problems with the gearbox as you did. Jerky, especially setting off up hills. Was yours the esg gearbox? I am taking it into the citroen dealer shortly and am thinking of quoting the software download number that you did. Did this eliminate the problem altogether? The dealer that I bought it from did a software download before I bought it, but it has made no difference. Your reply would be appreciated - Stuart Mapp from Yorkshire

Hi People, I too own a Grand C4, 2.0l petrol with the EGS (semi-auto) gearbox, at 15,000. I started getting the juddering and bunny hopping at very low speeds and also the whining noise, (the whining noise was eventually sorted by some sort of greasing of the rear brake pads which are in constant contact with discs). After a further 12,000 miles, 8 months, 6 software updates and untold visits back to my local Citroen dealers in Ashford they finally admitted that the problem was a ’faulty clutch bearing’ and suddenly had great knowledge on the subject. The bearing is located inside the gearbox. They then argued that it was poor driving that caused the problem and refused to fix problem free of charge and told me that that the gearbox is only under warranty for 15000 miles. I then took the car to a main dealer (not a franchised dealer) who were a lot more sympathetic and changed the bearings free of charge under the warranty after immediately agreeing that it is in fact is a ’failed component’ and not driver error (how can you have control over a automatic clutch on an automatic gearbox?), although I think I was lucky because the original dealer logged the complaint 8 months early so I could prove the problem existed so early on in the gearboxes lifetime - Mr Disgrantled from London

Hi John where did you have your softwhare upgrade done as my c5 has the same problem? Thanks - Mark Cooper from Lancashire

Hi, I have just had my worst driving experience in 50yrs of driving. The C4 Picasso 2 years old had had a service and a software update to correct a fault causing the engine to run on at slow speed. The next day I was in a line of traffic coming to a halt at a red light, the car surged forwards like a rocket, I swerved and nearly ran down a young girl It was as if the car was possessed. I was left a gibbering trembling wreck. I have returned the car and am refusing to drive it again - Mike Dee from Yorkshire

Submitted: 2010-03-24 | ID: 38116

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Murrey Convery, Ireland

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 2007

4 star review

Although bright, roomy and very comfortable on a long journey, this big Citroen, has one major flaw, the tailgate switch. It is a moulded plastic handle with a very thin joint that holds it to the body. this snaps through wear and tear, after only a short period of use. The actual switch is far too fragile and not up to the job. If you look at the letter"l" and double it in width, thats the citroen switch. A replacement costs £59 (inc vat) I am on my third tailgate handle/switch combined, and my car is an 07. If the switch fails, you have to remove the interior trim of the tailgate from inside the car, which can be quite tricky. I have added a small push button switch in parrallel that I can access from inside the car, just in case of an emergency.

Responses to this review

Hello. I also have a broken back door switch. The whole thing is very flimsy. I have had the de-pollution fault on several occasions which has meant being off the road for weeks at a time. They could not find the fault at first, but changing the fuel filter seems to have cured it. There have been other faults eg. fan staying on and flattening the battery, catch on glove box broken etc. At low speeds the car stops to change down on steep hills (it is an automatic). I will be glad to get shut - Eric Green from Lancashire

I am on my 4th boot lock, and now it is locking and unlocking the boot when it pleases, not great with kids in the jump seats - any ideas? - from Kent

Submitted: 2010-02-16 | ID: 38121

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Mark Madeley, Yorkshire

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 2.0 HDi EGS 2007

5 star review

The Grand C4 Picasso is a virtually faultless car with technology and comfort that far surpass most in its class. The fuel economy is excellent even up to 50 MPG on a long journey, which considering its engine size and the weight of the vehicle, fully laden, is impressive. The engine is punchy once it is going, but can occasionally lack power on leaving junctions or accelerating away, which can leave you fearful that it will not perform. Once going it is excellent. The ride comfort is pretty good generally.<br /><br />

Submitted: 2010-01-31 | ID: 38127

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Rob Jackson, England

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 1.6HDi VTR+ egs 2007

1 star review

Just a load of junk, I’m so glad it will be going in September. I have had most of the faults noted by other unfortunate owners. I think it’s a S**troen built by robots. It should be driven by a crash test dummy into a wall, at speed and recycled into a decent car.

Submitted: 2010-01-21 | ID: 38145

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

John White, England

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso C4 Picasso BTR 2007

5 star review

Excellent car. 1.6HDi zippy and economical - even with 4 adults, 2 top boxes and filled for camping. Covered 25000 miles so far and no faults / unexecpcted visits to garages. Everything works as advertisd and no rattles anywhere. Towed my trailer tent for 500miles - excellent - better than my C5. Worthy upgrade to our Xsara Picasso (and that’s been VERY impressive @ 106,000 on 2 exhausts and original clutch). I know you can get lemons - but everyone else I know who has one of these has loved them.

Submitted: 2010-01-19 | ID: 38141

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Janet Page, Essex

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 2007

1 star review

Where do I begin? It’s a pile of rubbish, we have had nothing but trouble with this car. When pulling out on to a roundabout, this is in automatic mode, it hesitates and loses power, which has nearly caused an accident several times. As you pull away at a junction it has no power and it can’t make its mind up what gear it should be in. The engine is constantly revving so the petrol usage is very high. We have had it back to the gargage several times, they can’t find anything wrong with it but they keep downloading new software. We are getting rid of it in June as it’s a mobility car thank god we didn’t actually waste our own money on this pile of rubbish.

Submitted: 2010-01-16 | ID: 38142

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Acílio Ribeiro, England

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 1.6 hdi 2007

1 star review

First of all, not England, Portugal. I used to be a Portuguese C4 grand Picasso owner, used to, because the C4 was completely destroyed in a terrible accident, unfortunately involving my 2 young children. The electric brake failed, and the van fell into a 20 meter ravine, smashing onto the road. My children, aged 3 and 6 years old suffered multiple fractures, but thank God they are alive, even if the hospital visits are becoming a regular routine, either for physiotherapy or plastic surgery. Few days after the accident, Citroen France, sent an expert to Portugal in order to do an inspection to the car to find out what happened, the accident was on the 15th March, we still don´t know nothing, we still haven´t received any reply from them. Is it possible that these type of cars received 5 stars EuroNcap, and then almost kill my children? I have pictures that I can share, just post me a request with email address.

Responses to this review

Hi there, I too have had a crash involving my C4GP. The brakes failed as well, resulting in me hitting a wall. Luckily, nobody was hurt. The front of the car was a mess. At first, Citroen did not want anything to do with it, trying to blame the crash. Can you share your photos with me as an extra backup please? Here is my address - davidmcinulty[at]btinternet[dot]com. <br />Thank you - David McInulty from Renfrewshire

Submitted: 2010-01-02 | ID: 38138

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

landroverman, Nottinghamshire

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 2.0 HDI Exclusive 2007

1 star review

Well here we go again, after the C4’s last trip to the garage and some new servos to repair the gear box things have got worse. Hand brake that doesn’t release, severe judder on pulling away from junctions when cold, crap acceleration, carpets and arm rests that look as though they belong in a 300,000 mile car not a 30,000 mile car and today to top it off complete brake failure on the trip to the office. I can’t find reference to the brake failure on any forums but I suggest that it felt as though the servo had failed, it felt like pushing onto a hard bit of wood not a progressive travel and feel, oh and it didn’t stop either!!! This is truly the worst car I have ever had the misfortune to drive and believe me there was some rubbish about in the 1970s. Does anyone make a decent reliable large people carrier with 7 seats plus boot space for a wheel chair and a pushchair and shopping for a family of 7? If so let me know because Mr Citroen can have this heap of junk back.

Responses to this review

I agree heartily with your comments!! This car has to be the worst car we have ever had (on motability scheme). The build quality is garbage. We are start ing our final 12months with this car, thank God. We have driven just over 28,000miles - certainly not carefree, troublefree miles either: Handbrake releasing itself Mirror lenses not remaining stuck in their housing Handbrake faulty warning light coming on at 70mph esp faulty light coming on at 70mph dashboard information disappearing at random Door trims coming loose Rear passenger seats folding on own accord Locks on gloveboxes not holding closed Remote door locks replaced Over the 24month period we have been ’using’ this heap - its been in the service bay of our local Citroen main dealer for around 6 weeks in total. This is the last Citroen we will ever have - Joe Jones from Lancashire

I agree with the both of you. I have had this car for 2+ years on mobility and what a load of s*#t it has been. The dealers have had it more than i have. Its been on the back of an RAC truck more than the road itself. Went in for a service and came back with more faults then it went in with.The hand brake kept coming on as I was driving which was quite scary as another car could of easily crashed in to my behind. Rear seats broke twice. First time they fixed it but took them 7 weeks now the other one broke they’r saying it’s neglect an won’t sort it. Jet washers broke twice. Boot wouldn’t shut or lock that been fixed twice. petrol door wont open without pulling it open. Reving loudly and preformance really sluggish but when it went in then said it was nothing. The latest was a frozen pump so they said, which they say made the engine go bang and they were trying to bill me for at more than 3 grand, what a joke. Now it turned out after more investigation it was the head an not my fault and they have had it now a whole 4 weeks and not even started it. I have never driven such a heap of junk. I would never touch another Citreon. I went fot this car as we are a family of 6 and needed a boot space for a wheel chair and double buggy. Luckily this car goes back in a few months and I will be buying my own car after this. looking at a Toyota Previa, they seem a safer option - Stressed Out from England

Submitted: 2009-12-17 | ID: 38135

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Lisa Carroll, Surrey

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 1.6 HDI VTR PLUS 2007

1 star review

At the moment I am unable to give this car a true star rating! Why? - read on ..... As of Friday evening we were attending a friends party - myself and our two children (aged 10 and 2) got out of the car and waited for my husband to find a parking space. Within minutes my husband had got out of the car, parked it but smelt burning - he checked the underneath of the car only to find that it was on fire! We rang the fire brigade and could only watch as the entire front of our Citroen C4 Grand Picasso went up in flames. I used to think this was a lovely car to drive but am wondering if with so many electrical mod cons that a fire could happen all too easily - although with most cars another hindrance has been the amount of plastic as the entire front of the car collapsed - with tyres, rims, bonnet etc all melting.

Responses to this review

Dear Lisa, same happened to me end of October 2010. If you don’t mind, would you email me on melissagw.davies@btinternet.com? Thanks - Melissa Davies-Wright from England

Submitted: 2009-10-21 | ID: 38132

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Mitch Trainor, Yorkshire

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 2.0 Diesel EGS + 2007

4 star review

Having read lots of reviews on here I had to have my say - this car is brilliant. I have the EGS model and the gears smoothly change with no hassle. I have had this car just over a year and the only problem is the petrol cap has started to stick which apparently is a fault so I am awaiting instructions from Citroen. I have 2 children and the 7 seats help with trips with Grand parents etc. Without the 2 extra seats up its great for camping as we can fit everything in the boot.

Submitted: 2009-01-22 | ID: 38257

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Andy, Hertfordshire

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso Exclusive 2007

2 star review

Firstly, This is an AUTOMATIC CAR not Semi Auto as some might think. According to the DVLA the car is an Auto - You need group A on your licence to drive it. I got my C4 in Aug 07. And it has been the worst car I have had, but only for two reasons. 1. The EGS gearbox is rubbish, and you need to make sure that you change gear correctly otherwise you run the risk of getting clutch slip, and also flywheel damage. I can some of the posts on here are on cars with less than 5000 miles, maybe these people can repost after they reach this mileage and see if anything has changed? My car has had a failed tailgate switch, great with a car with 2 dogs locked in the boot in 35c. Rear brakes replaced at 3000 miles due to binding noise and clonking in reverse. This was an upgraded set of pads made specifically for the Grand Picasso only, they were released in April 2008 and as long as your car was under a year old and covered less than 4000 miles Citroen will replace with the new compound pads for free. The clutch started to slip on my Picasso around 3400 miles. Last week the Fire Service came out to cool it down as it caught fire on the driveway because the clutch had burnt out. And this has also damaged the flywheel. This is the second identical failure of this car as I have also found one with the same issues that was replaced by Citroen for free in Canterbury. My car is now in a dealer having a new clutch, flywheel and actuators as well as loads more software updates. I have been told that this might happen again in 5 or 6000 miles. And you want to buy one? You have been warned. The EGS is no good, it is poor in damp conditions because the micro processor that runs it gets effected by cold and damp. So if you get shudder when you pull away, go to a dealer and ask them to check it over, chances are the clutch is slipping. Go for the full auto or stick with the manual for the best car you can buy in its class. Without the EGS this car is incredible, but it is seriously bad as the problems cause you too many headaches.

Submitted: 2009-01-07 | ID: 38259

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Mark Leckey, Northern Ireland

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 2007

1 star review

One star is being generous. I bought this car one year ago and have had nothing but trouble. The list of faults are endless - for example - engine needed to be replaced after 6 months due to unfixable oil leak; all the rear light clusters replaced due to water ingress; front braking system replaced due to a loud clunking noise whilst applying the brake in reverse; petrol cap mechanism replaced as the cap wouldn’t open from inside the car; gearbox removed and new actuator fitted as EGS system failed; dealer fitted a towbar and used the wrong wiring kit and had to go back to dealer three times to be fixed. There are more faults in this car but I don’t want to completely put you off buying one.

Submitted: 2008-12-03 | ID: 38251

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Gerald Oliver, Durham

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 2.0 vtr+ Diesel 2007

4 star review

Had this car 11 months, never missed a beat. Gearbox bit strange at first but now no problem. Returns 42mpg overall. Loads of storage space and seats extremely versatile. Drives well with one or 7 in but does not like high winds. Now owned more than 60 Citroen’s and it has been a pleasure to drive. May go for the 5 seater next as I don’t need a 7 seater.

Submitted: 2008-03-26 | ID: 38252

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Nadine Cooper, England

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso Grand Picasso 2007

1 star review

Put one as you can’t put 0 stars. Have owned a grand picasso diesel with automatic gear box for less than 48 hours, and already it’s in the garage. The parking break failing and ESP failing as well as service lights went on, car immobilized, one day sat at the dealer’s, had to take bus home as waranty only kicks in after so many hours, so had to go and get rent a car 25 km from home at night. Was enjoying it untill then, wish I had bought Volkwagen.......................... How can Citroen sell defective cars like so ??????????????????

Submitted: 2007-12-06 | ID: 38255

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Greg Damon, Oxfordshire

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 1.6 HDi SX 5dr 2007

5 star review

Brilliant car. We have 2 kids and a Welsh border collie and have plenty of space for all three. Very good cabin layout and extremely comfortable. It also comes with Isofix, which is perfect for our 13 month old. Very economical to run and very easy to drive. Visibility is excellent and it handles like a much smaller car. My wife also feels confident driving this and she’s not a great lover of driving. Very quiet engine. All round excellent car.

Submitted: 2007-11-15 | ID: 38256

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

The latest Citroen Grand C4 Picasso) deals on our sister site ContractHireAndLeasing.com (links open in a new window)

    Other people need your help

    Your review will help others decide which vehicle to buy. By spending just a little bit of time filling out a consumer car review you can share your experiences with other drivers, giving information only owners will talk about, no marketing spiel, just the real thing. We publish all reviews, whether you rate the vehicle high or low. We are impartial. We are independent. We are committed to 100% real reviews. Please give others the benefit of your advice: give them your review.

    Your review will be checked for offensive language within the next few days and then put on RoadTestReports.co.uk and all of our partners websites.

    Have your say!

    ^ Back to Top