2006 Combo reviews

01 September 2015

Search

Van Leasing Banner

2006 Vauxhall Combo reviews

Vauxhall Combo reviews by year of make:1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 Read all reviews

Buy new / nearly new imageContract hire image

John, Herefordshire

Vauxhall Combo 2001 - 2011

3 star review

Bought my 2003 1.7Di from a van dealer who must have seen me coming. Never owned a Vauxhall Combo and didn't much like them when I worked for a company and had a company van (always chose the Berlingo option 2.0 HDI awesome). Now I provide my own wheels the Vauxhall seemed like the best of a bad bunch that I looked at. The 1.7Di engine is actually very impressive for what it is and long journeys are pretty pleasant. I regularly do 250 mile plus trips across the country and it has just enough poke on motorways to be useful. Occasionally runs out of steam on steep protracted inclines but plan ahead and it is fine. Fuel consumption seems pretty good despite a heavy throttle and wind and engine noise is negligible. Milage is about 140,000 . Not a big fan of the low down driving position and lack of ground clearance and the clunking and banging going over even small speed bumps at low speed is terrible. Had new suspension and linkages put in when I had it as part of a service so nothing should be worn now. Biggest drawbacks and why I would never ever ever get another one. Water in the footwell - Perhaps I should have done more research but this came as quite a shock the first time it rained . Took me right back to the 80's when all cars leaked and steamed up. Not going back there again. Secondly (and I know seats get saggy with age) horrendous driving position/seat. After the aforementioned long journey with plenty of rest stops I still end up paying with a dodgy back for the next few days. Finally dated style. Most vehicles go through a facelift after 4-5 years but from what I can see the Combo basically looks the same today as it did in 2001 . Good for interchangeable spares I guess but now I'm looking for a newer vehicle I don't want one that looks 15 years old even if it isn't. Only good thing about it is the 1.7Di engine and load space. Rest is dated and rattly garbage. Try and find a Berlingo HDi instead.

Submitted: 2015-08-16 | ID: 119891

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Scott, Warwickshire

Vauxhall Combo 2001 - 2011

3 star review

IM glad i looked this site up,a few people having the leak in drivers footwell problem,iv had my combo just over a month and it's damp.it's a nice enough van to drive,although i seem to have bought a bad one.one month in and it's just cost me £350 in garage,and i may need a new engine.wish i had not visited the garage i got it from in Birmingham. apart from these problems,once sorted i hope i have at least 2 decent years service out of it.

Submitted: 2015-06-02 | ID: 116716

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Joel wyart, Hertfordshire

Vauxhall Combo 2001 - 2011

4 star review

Hi all. I've had my Combo crew van with sliding metal bulkhead for 2 years now. It's very clean and tidy bodywork and interior despite its age and 220,000 miles! There is not a great deal of power on tap from the 1.7di but it's been very reliable so far. Comfortable, nippy, cheap to run and with a full length rack very practical. Problems are: the typical water leak into the driver`s side footwell. Vauxhall tried to sort but failed. The spanner light is on but it's due to a pin in the ecu rotted off, so I just have to put up with it. Oil leak from under the turbo area. One of the 2 side sliding doors sometimes refuses to open. Despite these problems it's always got me to and from work and I enjoy driving/ using it. Cheers

Responses to this review

Hi I had the same problem with water flooding my footwell after heavy rain but I cured it , find your way to the servo under the bonnet you will see a seal around the servo that is how the rain gets down into the footwell . This is how I cured it , buy a pot of car grease and put loads on a paintbrush and plaster loads all around the seal ,this is what I have done and I got a result so no more water getting in good luck Trevor bevan - Trevor Bevan from Pembrokeshire

Hi I had the same problem with water flooding my footwell after heavy rain but I cured it , find your way to the servo under the bonnet you will see a seal around the servo that is how the rain gets down into the footwell . This is how I cured it , buy a pot of car grease and put loads on a paintbrush and plaster loads all around the seal ,this is what I have done and I got a result so no more water getting in good luck Trevor bevan - Trevor Bevan from Pembrokeshire

Submitted: 2014-09-19 | ID: 103292

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Vince East, Cornwall

Vauxhall Combo 2001 - 2011

4 star review

Hi everyone, I brought my 2002 1.7DI Combo in December 2013. It has covered 150,000 miles. It starts every morning without fail and I feel drives very much like a car also returning very good mpg. It is no racing machine but its more than adequate for every day running around. I did find the seats quite uncomfortable but, I went to my local scrapyard and purchased the seats from a Vauxhall Corsa 2005 SXI along with the leather bound steering wheel and various other dash parts for only £25. I also brought the alloys from the SXI for £100. All these parts are now fitted and now it is the perfect little van, a car at the front with loads of room in the back. I do have an engine management light on though which reads back as a gearbox sensor??? No one seems to know what or where this is so I will have to carry on the search for this. Despite this annoying light the van functions as normal with no sign of being held back or abnormal running and has done this from the day I brought it and for the owner before. And finally I did have a water leak (common problem) when it rained from the seal around the brake servo. I cured this by pressure washing all the crap out from the area and once dried poured bitumen where the water runs down the channel let it dry and reapplied again. Touch wood I have had no leaks since and very cheep indeed to fix. I was quoted a ridiculous amount by Vauxhall to replace the seal. All in all I love my little van and would recommend one to a friend. Like any car you get good and bad ones. One good thing to remember is if you buy an EX: Royal Mail, BT, British Gas etc the chances are it has been driven by half of the UK and lets be honest here, how many of us have thrashed the company van to get home early or because we are late for the next job? My point exactly you would not treat your own vehicle like this now would you. Mine was owned by a self employed carpenter from new and seems to have been looked after. A privately owned one is your best bet.

Submitted: 2014-06-12 | ID: 97559

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

David, Cumbria

Vauxhall Combo 2001 - 2011

1 star review

I have had nothing but PROBLEMS with my Vauxhall combo 2003, Always breaks down rides horrible and has cost me loads of money. It has a very bad electrical problem which means it won't start and and rev/speedo counter stops working on and off when driving, This is a common problem for Vauxhall and its something that garages can't fix!!! I won't list all the problems because ill be here until next week... I will never Buy A Vauxhall again, Biggest pile of crap ever made… If you want a reliable useful vehicle either for home or work DON'T buy a Vauxhall!!!!!!!

Submitted: 2014-04-08 | ID: 93524

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Andy, Kent

Vauxhall Combo 13cdti 2006

1 star review

Not impressed with the van, had nothing but trouble with it. First altenator, every lock has failed and now belt chain has broke. My advice? Don’t buy one!

Responses to this review

I agree, I had the alternator go after only six months. I’d say mileage was around 60k. I had no lock problems but one of my side doors refuses to open. Now I’ve had the cam chain go at 86k and putting new engine in for £1,000. I can’t get a repair manual for it from anywhere so doing it blind, it’s a nightmare. I won’t buy another one, I want another VW Caddy, they rock! - Ros Dowdell from Dorset

I agree too!! I have had nothing but PROBLEMS with my Vauxhall combo 2003, Always breaks down rides horrible and has cost me loads of money. It has a very bad electrical problem which means it won't start and and rev/speedo counter stops working on and off when driving, This is a common problem for Vauxhall and its something that garages can't fix!!! I won't list all the problems because ill be here until next week... I will never Buy A Vauxhall again, Biggest pile of crap ever made… My advice to anyone - If you want a reliable useful vehicle either for home or work DON'T buy a Vauxhall!!!!!!! - from Cumbria

Submitted: 2011-04-13 | ID: 49159

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

John Staton, England

Vauxhall Combo 2006

5 star review

The best van your money can buy, on my second one, 66 thousand miles no trouble john.

Submitted: 2010-08-21 | ID: 49170

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

The latest Vauxhall Combo) deals on our sister site ContractHireAndLeasing.com (links open in a new window)

    Other people need your help

    Your review will help others decide which vehicle to buy. By spending just a little bit of time filling out a consumer car review you can share your experiences with other drivers, giving information only owners will talk about, no marketing spiel, just the real thing. We publish all reviews, whether you rate the vehicle high or low. We are impartial. We are independent. We are committed to 100% real reviews. Please give others the benefit of your advice: give them your review.

    Your review will be checked for offensive language within the next few days and then put on RoadTestReports.co.uk and all of our partners websites.

    Have your say!

    ^ Back to Top