2005 Scenic reviews

24 October 2014

Search

2005 Renault Scenic reviews

Renault Scenic reviews by year of make:1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 Read all reviews

Buy used imageBuy new / nearly new imageContract hire image

Chris Paul, Yorkshire

Renault Scenic 1.5 dci dynamique 2005

1 star review

I purchased this car in July 2008 and needed a new alternator after two weeks. I have also experienced lots of little electric faults; wipers, door locks etc. It has also needed a new turbo and egr valve, and now the dash has packed in. This has to be be the worst car I have ever had it’s only done 57,000 miles! My advice is AVOID, AVOID at all costs.

Responses to this review

Nah my Renault dci has been total good - from England

Submitted: 2011-09-11 | ID: 46521

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Paul Landeryou, Cambridgeshire

Renault Scenic 1.5 dci 2005

4 star review

My Scenic has now completed 130k miles from new. Apart from the dash board failing (£100 Renault repair) and regular servicing (now by a local garage) the car has never let me down once. I’m still on the original battery, clutch and exhaust. I had the cam belt changed with a full service and MoT and still got change from £500.

Submitted: 2011-07-22 | ID: 46525

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Carl Bracha, Yorkshire

Renault Scenic 2005 Dci100 Authentique 2005

4 star review

I have had the car for four years now and have to say it has been great. It has suffered a few of the faults that you will have already read about, such as the window mechanism breaking but overall, the car has been great and we are thinking of getting a new one soon. A little tip when dealing with Renault is phone Renault UK customer services when dealing with out of warranty claims. It only cost me £50 per window to have the mechanisms changed at the dealers and the car also does 50mpg and is super practical. I play golf every week and the car holds three people, three sets of clubs and three electric trolleys. I will definitely buy again - Carl from Rotherham

Submitted: 2011-03-07 | ID: 46503

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Richie, Essex

Renault Scenic Expression 2005

3 star review

Bought the 1.6 VVT Expression used 3 years ago. The coils went almost immediately, but the dealer (Car Giant) replaced these and the plugs without any fuss. Six months ago the instrument panel went - £100 to replace under the Renault scheme. No further problems until recently, when the dephaser pulley went. Had this and the timing belt replaced by an excellent local mechanic (AutoFrench, Woodford). Renault’s quote was farcical and insulting. The top engine mounting had failed and was replaced. This part cost an eye-watering £125 from Renault. Apparently it’s filled with some kind of shock-absorbing gel - typical Renault complication. I finish paying for the car in a year, and I’m fond of it. I just hope I incur no further expense until then! One more thing, to stop the fan motor failing, ensure you change the cabin filter at least once a year. If clogs up easily and the motor has to work harder sucking it air, causing it to burn out.

Responses to this review

Hi Richie I too have had similar problems to you, do you mind me asking how much was it to fix the timing belt and pulley? I got a quote from a Renualt dealer for timing belt alone for £266 - they said there was an offer on (RRP £455). I think my pulley needs doing too though. Also my car shut off today. No messages came up and I have no explanation. I have to put it through a computer to see what comes up. I would appreciate it if you gave me an idea figure as to what you paid for your repair. Cheers :) - Christina Moohan from Northern Ireland

Could I ask you how much Renault were going to charge for your timing belt being renewed? I have just had to have my engine breather unblocked which is a common fault on Scenics, so I told my mechanic to change timing belt as well. When purchasing another car, I wont be buying any French motors, oh and by the way Renault customer services suck - Karl Thompson from Lancashire

Submitted: 2011-02-25 | ID: 46504

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Jill Hepple, Yorkshire

Renault Scenic Automatic 2005

1 star review

March: New auto gear box. June: New defazer and handbrake adjustment, then work done on steering and suspension and a new timing belt fitted (following a dealership "health check")! July: New dashboard. August: Electronic faults including 4 new coils fitted; waiting for another tow as keeps stopping and won’t pull. Total cost so far £3,500 in 6 months. The car is only worth £3,500. Mileage? 37,000!<br /><br />

Submitted: 2010-08-30 | ID: 46461

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Sarah Campbell, Inverness-shire

Renault Scenic 1.5 DCi Dynamique 2005

1 star review

Had the car from early 2006 when only 6 months old. Had the normal faults like the dash-board being replaced, seat-belts being re-called, hand-brake needing to be computerised, rear light unit being replaced as filling up with water. Had service done at local Renault garage, as always and nothing required but new tyres. Now just a few weeks later, a loud knocking noise from the engine. Called out RAC and took it to Renault garage. Told that Injector 4 has a fault, sump to be replaced and engine knock from the bottom caused by the injector fault. Then told that we need a new engine and advised it was not worth doing the work. Only at 79k. Can’t believe that all of this can happen with no warning. Car is well looked after and now told worth £300 for scrap!!! Can anyone help with if we have any comeback with the garage. Please, need some help. Thanks.

Submitted: 2010-08-10 | ID: 46456

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Karl Thompson, England

Renault Scenic authentique 1.5 dci 2005

1 star review

I have had two other Renaults before with probs, but this 1.5 dci Scenic takes the biscuit. I will never buy Renault again, customer service sucks, they always make excuses, good piece of Renault training that. They won’t own up and pay in full for any known manufacture faults. My 2005 1.5 dci, although comfortable to drive has had numerous electrical faults,i.e. needed a full wiring loom change, my reversing sensors don’t work, I had to get dashboard changed although Renault admitted about the fault I still had to pay £100. Total rubbish. Now I have an EGR VALVE FAILURE! Never will I buy one again, let this be a warning to other Megane/Scenic drivers, total c**p customer service.

Responses to this review

I totally agree I have a 2003 Renault Scenic and have lost count of the problems I’ve had. Both back windows stopped working. The display panel went and I had to pay £100 too. In the last three months it’s been to the garage twice with problems with the airbag and now the head gasket has gone. The back door doesn’t open from the outside but from the in - so much for child safety locks. I would never buy a Renault again. - from England

very disgruntled owner of grand scenic 1.5 dci 54 plate. I vow never to own another Renault. I too have had new dash at £100 - an insult considering it’s clearly manufacturing fault. Have just had to have a new engine at a cost of 3k (not via main dealer i hasten to add!) still have very rough idle (which was there before) and am told it probably needs new injectors @ £600 for parts alone and again that’s not via Renault. Also having intermittent starting failure IE tries and fails then at second push it will start. Am told this is also likely to be injector issue, never had that problem before the engine was replaced. It’s a heap of junk - never again. I could have bought a brand new (albeit smaller) car for less than this has cost overall - from Devon

Are Renault still offering to replace dasboards for around £100? - from England

Submitted: 2010-07-16 | ID: 46451

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Mark Gosden, Kent

Renault Scenic 2005

3 star review

I am just about to purchase a Megane CC even after looking at the Megane Coupe-Cabriolet reviews. I think I need to tell all of you that I had a 2005 Grand Scenic and whilst driving home from hospital with my wife in the passenger seat (on a breathing machine) there was an almighty bang and the whole glass roof shattered. This went everywhere and also cut my head. When I took it to Renault they said this was most unusual and couldn’t understand why it had happened. It seems to me now that Renault may be less than truthful to their customers. PS I still fancy the Megane CC, so i think I will only be able to use it on sunny days with the roof off!

Responses to this review

I own a Grand Scenic 2006 and this week, my sunroof did the same - like a firework right over our heads, all over myself and my toddler. All I can say is I am glad he was sleeping when it happened as he had shards of glass all over his face and God forbid it had gone in his eyes. I had a few cuts and grazes and shards of glass stuck in my hand. <br />The insurance company was a nightmare in figuring out how to deal with it and in response, Renault have had no knowledge of this ever happening before! There really should be something done about this, it is so dangerous. Even just a layer of plastic on the inside to protect us from the shattered glass may well have left me feeling not quite so frightened. Surely in a collision, this could quite literally be fatal - Kate Hudson from Worcestershire

Submitted: 2010-04-15 | ID: 46432

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Rita Mitchell, Hampshire

Renault Scenic Diesel 2005

4 star review

I bought my Renault at 18 months old, it is my 2nd one because generally I love them. HOWEVER, having only done 30,000 miles I have had to replace two window electric motors in three last year costing me nearly £800. I agree with others about the expensive costs with dealers for work and parts and servicing, far too expensive! The window problem has put me off buying another Renault.<br /><br />

Submitted: 2010-04-10 | ID: 46430

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Lisa Burtenshaw, Kent

Renault Scenic 2005

3 star review

This is my second Scenic and third Renault and will def be my last. I had a ’Check Emissions’ appear on my dash a couple of months ago, I called the RAC who informed me it sounded like the CAT was on its way out. I got it booked into my local Renault dealer who advised that yes the CAT had been smashed to bits due to a faulty Oxygen Sensor (thats what the garage told me), I was told by them that a Renault part had to be fitted otherwise it would cause problems in the future and the total cost is £1069. I called Renault UK head office to ask about goodwill as my car had only done 28,000 miles, which they agreed to go half with me. The car was booked in on the 11th February and that is where it is now still not fixed, the problem the CAT is on back order with France. Yes I have been give a hire car, although this was after a week of trying to organise one, but the customer service is S**T. I have not heard from the garage in over a week, not even a courtesy call. If anyone has had a similar problem I would love to hear from you.

Responses to this review

We had that a few days ago actually and the car struggling to start at first, it was like it was on kangaroo juice, it then packed up all together. We took it to a garage and the coils had gone, cost us £170 to replace 4 coils,labour and new spark plugs. Renault wanted to charge us £190 just to replace 2 coils, now this is the first day back so not sure if its resolved... - Helen Wallace from Lancashire

Submitted: 2010-03-10 | ID: 46428

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Glyn Whitehouse, Warwickshire

Renault Scenic 2005

1 star review

If i could mark the pile of junk with minus 5 stars then I would. We have owned this car since the summer of 2009 and my wife uses it for work daily, about a 20 mile journey. First of all it was leaking water every time it rained and then the heater blew which has cost me well over £700, then the dash board packed in so I had to replace that at a cost of £631. Now the alarm goes of if you go within 10 foot of the useless piece of junk and  to top it all of both the windows (drivers side and passenger side) have decided to die . I HATE THE CAR, DO NOT BUY RENAULT EVER.

Responses to this review

I have owned my renault scenic 54 plate for one year. I have never owned a Renault before and I certainly won’t be buying one again. Mine has been in two garages in 4 weeks and is still there, they said I needed a new engine costing £1150. The car was lacking power and ’check emmisions’ light on, also making a tapping noise. By the way car has done 33000 on the clock so I said go a head, they have taken the engine apart no problems put engine back they are still trying to find problem. I HAVE JUST PHONED TO SEE WHAT’S GOING ON; they don’t know. This is the first time I have ever written and moaned about anything. IF YOU HAVE ANY SENSE DO NOT BUY A RENAULT EVERTHING COSTS OVER £700 TO REPLACE! Sorry Glyn, just leting off a bit of steam, I’m so fed up. The only good thing is lots of leg room. Nice looking car that’s it. This car will bleed you dry. Thanks - Lorraine Sweeney from Lancashire

I agree, DO NOT BUY A RENAULT SCENIC!! Am in the middle of yet another drama with mine; all I want is to be able to run the kids from A to B without and major hassles and break downs and apparently it’s not to be. Paid over £700 for a service at my local Renault dealer in December, only to have (apparently) my big end bearing go last week, they’ve quoted me £3000 for a new engine!!! Am currently researching it a bit more and checking out my options but can’t afford to do that so it looks like my 6 year old diesel with average mileage may have come to the end of its short life already! AAAGGGGHHHHHH!!! - Georgia Macleod from Ross and Cromarty Shires

I completely agree Glyn and can’t wait to get rid. I just wish I’d come across this web site before i’d bought mine, it’s put me off Renaults for life! - Rachel Derby from England

Hi, we had same light come on as you, check emissions, took it to garage and the fault was a faulty sensor. Cost less than 100 pounds to fix including going on diagnostic machine. They did phone Renault and it’s a common fault on Renaults of a certain couple of years - from Derbyshire

Submitted: 2010-02-24 | ID: 46421

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Other people need your help

Your review will help others decide which vehicle to buy. By spending just a little bit of time filling out a consumer car review you can share your experiences with other drivers, giving information only owners will talk about, no marketing spiel, just the real thing. We publish all reviews, whether you rate the vehicle high or low. We are impartial. We are independent. We are committed to 100% real reviews. Please give others the benefit of your advice: give them your review.

Your review will be checked for offensive language within the next few days and then put on RoadTestReports.co.uk and all of our partners websites.

Have your say!

Richard Carney, Ireland

Renault Scenic Dynamique 1.6 petrol 2005

5 star review

The 2005 model is our fourth Scenic. We have had very little trouble with it, it is comfortable, roomy, pleasant to drive and swallows up almost any amount of cargo. After 5 years it has recently developed a few rattles, but still starts and goes every time. We will buy a diesel next time because the tax regime in Ireland has changed, favouring low CO2 engines.<br /><br />

Submitted: 2010-02-18 | ID: 46427

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Ross, Surrey

Renault Scenic 1.6 Auto Dynamique (Petrol) 2005

1 star review

From the very first day of owning this vehicle we have experienced nothing but problems. 4 x Breakdowns / Injection coils x 4 have all failed individually and been replaced approx £150 each time via Renault. Stalling problems - camshaft sensors failed x 2 types and been replaced. Very noisy clacking on starting due to camshaft dephaser - needs replacing (approx £700). Auto Gearbox failure - New gearbox required (Renaults advise) at approx. £3,000 / we opted for a repair to part of the gearbox by a specialist at £1,000. We have finally given up on this car following many heated conversations with Renault, but do they really care!?!? At face value these cars appear to be good value, but on hindsight if we had spent more money initially on buying a more premium quality car e.g. Toyota / Honda, we would be much better off in the pocket and a great deal happier. DO NOT BUY THIS CAR !!!

Responses to this review

Hi Ross, I can sympathise with you! We had the same faults as yourself... but Renault did all the work for free!! It’s a common design fault apparently, so as an act of goodwill they did all the work for nothing. Arnold clark also deserve praise for pressing Renault to get the jobs done!!! - Dave Westhead from Lancashire

Submitted: 2009-06-18 | ID: 46550

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Roy Tustin, Gloucestershire

Renault Scenic 2000T 2005

3 star review

Car has a lot going for it, lovely car to drive, roomy, comfy, plenty of power even in sixth gear and controls are well placed and easy to operate (my wife loves driving it). Even though it is a big car it is still easy to park. The down side is the high petrol consumption, only 20 mpg in town and 42 to 45 for motorway driving when you can stay in sixth gear. It really is a car for long distance driving, although it is great for the big supermarket shopping trip!! The big shock was when I came to replace a tyre; they are 205/55R17V. Choice is limited to about three manufacturers and they are all the top end of the market. The cheapest I could find was £120 each tyre and that is a Dunlop Fastresponse. Looking at reviews on other websites, until recently, Continental were the only suppliers of this size of tyre and of course, loaded the cost of their tyres. As usual Renault have little interest in after sale support - why? They make some super cars why spoil it by poor support? I shall buy a Japanese car next time, friends tell me they get superb support and no nasty surprises. PS When I read the reviews on the Renault Scenic not one mentioned the tyre problem, hence the reason for my review.

Submitted: 2009-05-06 | ID: 46547

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Ruth, England

Renault Scenic 2005

2 star review

I have had my Renault Scenic for three months and in that time it has never started first time, it’s terrible. I have taken it to two garages and they say it has no problems. It’s now with the company I bought it from they said its OK too, we told them to keep it till it goes wrong so they can fix it. Gone off it a bit because of this can’t afford to change it, not sure what to do, the whole thing is very stressful and I feel like ramming it up a wall.

Responses to this review

Try using your spare key instead...might work? - Denny Jones from Northern Ireland

I have a 2005 dcI Scenic and Im having the same problem with it not starting first time I’ve only had the car 5 days and its done it from day 1! Does anybody know a possible cause for this? Also, my preheating/ignition warning light has never come on - Amanda Gorton from Cheshire

I have a 54 plate 1.5 dci that won’t start first time, and the ignition coil light comes on very rarely. Anyone know what I should expect on the bill if I took it in? - from Norfolk

Submitted: 2009-04-21 | ID: 46559

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Martin Hargreaves, Suffolk

Renault Scenic Expression 2005

3 star review

The Grand Scenic is a lovely sized car , with 3 good separate seats in the rear (all separately removable). The rear most 2 fold flat seats are for children only. Good front seats & plenty of under seat & floor storage bins. Door pockets (front) have blocked access when doors are shut... very poor. Overall, for car size, the Grand Scenic is really spacious, cannot find any better elsewhere for the price. I have the 1.9 litre 120DCi Engine, non particulate filter version. Over 50 mpg & a low CO2 thus about £140 tax. BUT HEY, there are faults & plenty of them... I have had 2 engine mounts snap & replaced & I drive relaxed, cruiser style. I have had the glow plugs fail & replaced, oil leaks, electronic faults with front & rear washers, headlamp bulbs fail (needing the car to go into garage as, cannot access headlamp without removal of front panels, big job and costing over 100 pounds !!!!!). Rear light letting in water, manufacture fault etc... Now just to help you out there. Look at getting your extended warranty with www.warrantydirect.co.uk as they are far the best, covering wear & tear , MOT failure parts, labour etc... look on-line for peace of mind & a good price. Using the Renault or AA or others are not so good. Please note the newer Scenic use the DCi130 engine and although better, they use the particulate filter which has to be replaced every 9,000 miles - this is a pain as you still have to come in for those services to engine later . Worth looking into. WELL THAT’S ALL FOLKS!!

Submitted: 2009-03-23 | ID: 46553

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

John Tennant, Lancashire

Renault Scenic 2005

5 star review

Very comfortable, good on fuel; an excellent car. Always said I would have another Renault Scenic after owning one for three years; great to drive and spacious.

Submitted: 2009-02-18 | ID: 46563

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Pete Warren, Staffordshire

Renault Scenic 1.5dci Dynamique 2005

5 star review

This is the Third Scenic to date and possible the best in both comfort and economy, the previous two one was a 1.9 dt and the last one a 1.6 16v ,although both had there good points this series 2 ,has now made a very good motor even better, economy and speed, masses of pull with the small 106 engine and around fifty five to the gallon, only one fault is the design of the tailgate if you open this in the rain prepare for a wet boot, so beware, also the roof line being narrower than the doors also tends to let the rain into the door switches and the front foot wells, apart from these small problems a very good all round vehicle.

Submitted: 2008-01-28 | ID: 46566

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

The latest Renault Scenic) deals on our sister site ContractHireAndLeasing.com (links open in a new window)

    Other people need your help

    Your review will help others decide which vehicle to buy. By spending just a little bit of time filling out a consumer car review you can share your experiences with other drivers, giving information only owners will talk about, no marketing spiel, just the real thing. We publish all reviews, whether you rate the vehicle high or low. We are impartial. We are independent. We are committed to 100% real reviews. Please give others the benefit of your advice: give them your review.

    Your review will be checked for offensive language within the next few days and then put on RoadTestReports.co.uk and all of our partners websites.

    Have your say!

    ^ Back to Top