2004 Scenic reviews

20 April 2014

Search

2004 Renault Scenic reviews

Renault Scenic reviews by year of make:1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 Read all reviews

Buy used imageBuy new / nearly new imageContract hire image

Mark Carter, Wales

Renault Scenic 1.9 dci Privilage 2004

1 star review

My Wife loves the car, I wish I could say the same! Where do I start with the list of things that have gone wrong? I bought this car when my son was born 5 years ago, but broke my ankle at the same time, so I wasn’t really interested in car paperwork. Then the problems started... I found out just by chance that it had passed its MOT with a list of advisory notices (The Renault dealer had removed the 2nd page so the notices were not attached to the MOT). The advisories never sorted and the deale said that as they were just advisories and didn’t need fixing to sell the car. Within 6 months water was pouring into the car and the electric windows started falling down. Eventually the dealer agreed to sort this. Then I noticed that the aircon had never worked (never fixed), which was followed by the heater packing up costing £390. Next the dashboard packed up, replacement cost £100 by Renault dealer, I was annoyed but paid it. This was followed by the gearbox linkage breaking (a tiny bit of plastic snapped but no, you have to buy the whole lot at £270 plus labour). Its also needed a couple of new batteriesfollowed by the best of all.... the Turbo packing up! I asked the dealer "So if I buy a new turbo it will be sorted?" to which they replied "Erm, we will not know until we fit the turbo". A fitted turbo costs £1000! Then on to engine problems, the deale advised "This will cost £1000 to remove then fix the problem or maybe another £1000, maybe more.. we won’t know until the engine is taken out." I then read on the net that this seems to a common problem with the 1.9 dci engine. SCRAP IT! It’s just not worth the hassle or cost. I’ve NEVER had a car with so much go wrong with it. It’s felt like something major has gone wrong with it every year.

Submitted: 2013-03-01 | ID: 46531

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Keith Reay, Cumberland

Renault Scenic 2004

5 star review

I have a Scenic 1.5 diesel 04, which I bought in 2007 with 30k on. It has now done 86k and is still doing an average of 50.5mpg, and does 55 to 65 mpg on longer journeys. It’s a nice car to drive and I have been happy with it. We might have been lucky with this car, but I can certainly recommend the 1.5 diesel Scenic. My next car will be a diesel Scenic.

Submitted: 2013-01-21 | ID: 46532

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Lee Inskip, England

Renault Scenic 2004

1 star review

My wife’s Scenic’s display went and even though Watch Dog on the net said Renault would only ask for £100 to replace it we had to pay £150 on Thursday. On Friday, after only doing 30’ish miles, the dash went up in flames. I had to jump out of the car, as did as my wife, in order to get our 9 month old baby son and our 2 yr old son out of the back before it exploded. The Renault garage said it doesn’t look like the display they fitted is really the cause of the damage and it looks more like the heater resistant has caught fire. I’ve pics I took of the car after the firemen put it out and the display unit is moulded to death and there are burns on the wires - it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to figure out the day after the dash was replaced the car went up in flames! The Renault garage is telling us to go though our insurance! Ha ha, no way! They are liable for nearly causing four deaths. The fire report states the fire started from the dash, behind the display unit. Say no more! What a cover up it is at the moment.

Submitted: 2012-11-11 | ID: 46533

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

John Welsford, Devon

Renault Scenic 2004

2 star review

I purchased my Scenic Privilege in 2004 and I had it for just over 3 years. When it was just out of warranty I had to pay for a window regulator costing £295. I kept the car in immaculate condition and sold it to my daughter when I purchased another.(Mine has been reasonably trouble free). My daughter had it one month when the engine developed a fault and had to be replaced. One year later the gearbox had to be replaced. It has also had 3 more window regulators, a heater fan, an electric roof and door mirror faults. Because The car was originally mine the guilt clicked in with regards to all these faults so I have contributed £££’s to keep her on the road. I am told the new Scenic is a better engineered car, but I would be nervous about buying another!

Submitted: 2012-03-13 | ID: 46520

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Gareth Rice, Kent

Renault Scenic 1.6 II 2004

1 star review

Bought my Renault Scenic 1.6 II 04 reg in 2007 second hand, replacing our Mk.1 Scenic (an excellent model). This Scenic, however, a pile of rubbish. First the electric locking went on the driver’s door, which was repaired by the garage under warranty. Then three electric coils at £30 each, followed by the handbrake failure (a year before the recall) costing £800. Next was the rear offside passenger window which dropped, this was just the plastic clip failing and a replacement cost just £4. However, shortly after this the regulator failed on the same window, causing the window to open after locking, and then refusing to budge, which cost £200. More recently the electric dash display packed up, thankfully (I believe due to Watch Dog) this was replaced for £100. Now my battery keeps needing to be charged up. Renault I believe are aware of the faults, we tried to get them to pay something towards our electric brake failure costs, but as we could not prove it was part of the recall fault we got nowhere. I fear what’s next? As I’m sure do many others upon reading through previous reports.

Submitted: 2011-08-26 | ID: 46524

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Kevin Conway, Ireland

Renault Scenic 1.9dci 2004 2004

3 star review

I purchased the car as a 2 year old in 06 and for four years I couldn’t fault it.. it was slightly on the light side for towing a caravan. In the last 18 months the rear passsenger window dropped as others have described cost? £180. Key card stopped working, cost? £75. Lately the clock keeps resetting. I spoke with Renault and was told that the dash has a tendancy to fail!!!. New dash? £700. Mine may stay as it is or may stop. Not much chance of selling it as it is.<br /><br />

Responses to this review

Kevin, if your dash fails, Renault will replace it for £100. It’s a well documented fault with this car. The mileage isn’t carried over though - from Essex

Dashboard failure is a known issue with Scenic II models built between 2004 and 2005 and was featured on Watchdog last year. As a result, Renault has agreed to replace faulty dashboards for £100 if it fails. This is shown on Renault’s website and by my local Renault dealer who will be carrying out the work for me tomorrow - David Martin from Torfaen

Submitted: 2011-03-04 | ID: 46500

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Jono, Cornwall

Renault Scenic 2004

2 star review

I bought my Scenic just before Christmas. Since then it’s been in to the garage 3 times with regards to trying to find out why ’Electrical Fault’ came up on the dashboard, but they have so far only come up with ’it must be a glitch’. It seems to only do it in cold weather and as soon as I finally manage to get the thing to 65mph. Last week it was taken into the garage because the passenger door window wouldn’t work. This was found to be due to loose wiring which has been re-crimped. HOWEVER, on picking it up I had to put the heating on to demist... I managed to get about 2 miles from the garage when a plastic smell started closely followed by smoke coming through the heating duct! Needless to say, the car is back in the garage and currently having the wiring sorted! I’m glad it’s all under the 3mth garage warranty still!!! I have a feeling I won’t have this car very long at all!!

Responses to this review

I bought an ’06 model in August last year and within a month, I had to call the fire bridge! It had just been into my local Renault garage to have a burning smell investigated. We were told it was just the air conditioning that needed changing. This was done and we were told it was ready to collect and drove it towards home, but only got about five miles away from the garage when my husband had to pull in as it had smoke coming through from the vents. He bailed out and got our daughter out and waited for the fire brigade - from Perthshire

I have an ’05 Scenic II this Saturday, I also had to call the firemen out. I have three children between the ages of 1-10 and thought this would be an ideal car, WRONG! The car started revving uncontrollably, I couldn’t stop the car and the handbrake would not work. We did finally manage to get the car up on a curb as the car filled with thick black smoke, it was so thick we could see nothing. The car was still revving for about 4 mins after we had got out with the key and pressing stop! The firemen said that if this car would have been a petrol it would have become a fireball. I am just so glad that my children had been at grandparents for the weekend it could have been much worse. And to top it all off, car insurance won’t cover engine or electrical failure. I would never never put my children in a Renault again - Mickaela Ogden from Gloucestershire

Submitted: 2011-02-16 | ID: 46497

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Polly, Lothians

Renault Scenic 2004

1 star review

I bought this car October 2009, and had noting but problems with it. First thing to go was the window. It just fell down into the door and would not come back up. that cost £100 to replace at a local garage. Second window went 6 months later another £100. Then last summer 2010 Renault recalled the car to fix parking brake. Now the car has check emissions flashing all the time. I have had it checked 3 times at my local garage diagnostics all show no fault. Today the car would not start. Starter button fault or something. I am sick to death of this car. I will also NEVER buy another Renault. If Watchdog was asked to talk to Renault maybe they will audit the flaws in the Scenic and other models. Until then BUYER BEWARE and steer clear of this make. There are some good points to the car, drives well on motorways, lots of boot space and good seating, but not good on narrow country roads and does not handle corners well.<br /><br />

Responses to this review

I completely disagree with this. A lot of manufacturers have issues with window regulators, especially Volkswagen. A recall should not be seen as a bad thing, Renault have obviously realised there has been an issue with the parking brake, and recalled all the models to rectify the fault. Local garages do not have equipment to diagnose Renault’s complex electrical system that even compares the Renault diagnostic software. The plus points in the Scenic far outweigh any flaws it may have. It is an excellent family orientated car with so many useful features and conveniences it’s unbelievable. As for the handling on narrow country roads, that is utter nonsense. It brakes well, handles well, and has excellent road holding for a car of its size and shape. I’m sure Watchdog have better things to do that "audit" the flaws in Renault models, have you any idea how they would possibly carry this out? Have you not considered that Renault will continually be doing this through their warranty claims, and making the necessary rectifications to future vehicles? Was it the cam shaft sensor and dephaser pully that was causing the issue with not starting? That’s another issue you could maybe put in another review? - from Dumfriesshire

Submitted: 2011-01-17 | ID: 46492

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Terry Burns, England

Renault Scenic 1.4 16v 2004

4 star review

Got a low spec scenic 2004 1.4 16v car has done 100,000 mls, no problems and six years old. It’s just sailed through mot again with no probs. This car his the third scenic and I have had with no problems with any of them. My last one was 2000 scenic which my daughter and grandchildren are runing about in with no problems. Will buy again but must be over 5 yrs old.

Submitted: 2010-10-17 | ID: 46466

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Kevin, West Lothian (Linlithgowshire)

Renault Scenic 1.9 DCi 2004

2 star review

Bought this car in 2006 and is a great runner mechanically, No engine probs so far. However in the last year we’ve had both front window regulators fail and now rear drivers side has gone as well. My local independant garage managed to source first reg elsewhere 110.00, 2nd time he had to go to Renault direct 220.00. Not had third fixed yet but will likely just stop it up. From all the reviews, window probs are a regular and can’t believe Renault haven’t done something about it. I’ll certainly write and complain, but don’t hold out much hope.

Responses to this review

I would check it is actually your regulators that are broken. Can you still hear the motor turning when you press the button? (Even if windao does not move?) I has front passenger window break summer 09, and teh driver one break this summer (’10). In both cases it was a green plastic braket that lifts/lowers the window. It is known to be weak, and easliy broken. Renault tried to charge me £335 to replace the whole regulator - What a rip off! - So I tried to source the plastic brackets. And guess what? Ebay - I found a pair of new design brakets - apparently Renault originals, plastic moulded on a metal body. It took me 1 to 2 hrs to replace. But you need a ’torques’ set. The pair cost me £10, yes £10! Which you can’t buy from Renault. Had several problems with my Scenic, all the common ones. Most recently- Big end bearings! New engine at Renault will cost the value of the car! I suggest anyone with a Renault sell it ASAP. Now driving a Touran, and feel much more confident - Mark Jenkins from Cambridgeshire

I had the window regs go also, Renault in Louth supplied me with both drivers and passengers side clips for £4 the pair. It took 30-40mins to replace each. I’ve got check emissions problem changed all 4 coils and camshaft position sensor. Looks like it’s the dreaded de-phaser pulley problem as it matches starting issues - Daniel Baker from Lincolnshire

Submitted: 2010-10-07 | ID: 46467

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Mark, Pembrokeshire

Renault Scenic 1.5Dci 105bhp 2004

1 star review

Bought this car in sept 2007, within 1 month, started to get "check Injection" light on dash, went back to dealer 4 times as it was still under warranty, each time the dealer said they had fixed the problem to no avail, finally had to have a complete new turbo charger, which Renault eventually agreed to pay for. Car had only done 36,000 miles. Since then it’s been back to the workshop every couple of months, New Dashboard replaced under warranty after 25,000 miles New alternator = £300 New Heater Ballast control = £360 Water pouring in due to engine bay drain plugs blocked = £170 Air Conditioning packed up = £750 to replace, have not bothered Timing belt £670 to replace - OUTRAGEOUS Bonnet blew open whilst driving on the motorway = £1500 worth of damage. Now on last day of holiday in France, engine started to sound like a bag of spanners, found out the Big End shell bearings have gone, possible £1500-£2000 to fix. Seems there are major problems with the Scenic II c.2004, but Renault are not interested, looks like they only design their cars with a shelf life of 3-5 years to enable their dealers to make a mint. Have got two years of finance left on this car and it makes me want to weep. Will never buy another Renault again. Our other car is a Rover 420SDi, 12 years old, 125,000 mles never had a problem with it, Curse the Govt, Jeremy Clarkson and the British people for not supporting them and letting them fold.<br /><br />

Responses to this review

Mark, You say that you still have two years worth of finance on your car. Is the finance from the dealer or is it from another source e.g. a bank loan? If it is from the dealer then there is one little trick I discovered when dealing with a thoroughly rubbish Ford Galaxy (bought from new). Check the small print of your finance deal and you will find a clause which tells you that until the final payment is made the car remains the property of Renault. I argued with Ford for years about innumerable faults on the Galaxy we bought until I said to the service manager "take YOUR car back". At first he said it’s not Fords car it’s mine, that’s when the penny dropped with me. When I said ’actually it’s not my car until I’ve made the final payment, it’s YOURS’ his attitude changed instantly. No matter what they tell us about quality control it’s just a numbers game. Occasionally you get a Friday afternoon car (the Germans call it a Monday morning car) comes off the production line, that is just plagued with faults. There’s no way to return the car to the manufacturer, it has to be returned to a dealer, and none of them want a bag of s**t (that they know about) on their forecourt. To Ford or Renault 0.01% of all cars they produce being absolute lemons is a good record. BUT to you or I being the unfortunate soul who bought the 10,000 th car which just constantly fails it’s an economic disaster. Ford cost me over £4,000 in hire cars and lost earnings on a car I bought from them brand new for £25,000. I expected that I would have 5+ years of trouble free motoring spending that much on a car, and I can honestly say in 20 years of motoring the Galaxy spent more time in the garage than any other car I’ve ever owned - Including those early cars we all had that cost us £500 or so. The main point for you though Mark is to tell them to come take THEIR car away and see what response you get!! - Paul McGuinness from Inverness-shire

Submitted: 2010-08-15 | ID: 46462

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Other people need your help

Your review will help others decide which vehicle to buy. By spending just a little bit of time filling out a consumer car review you can share your experiences with other drivers, giving information only owners will talk about, no marketing spiel, just the real thing. We publish all reviews, whether you rate the vehicle high or low. We are impartial. We are independent. We are committed to 100% real reviews. Please give others the benefit of your advice: give them your review.

Your review will be checked for offensive language within the next few days and then put on RoadTestReports.co.uk and all of our partners websites.

Have your say!

Ian McQueen, Rutland

Renault Scenic PRIVILEGE 2004

4 star review

I have owned my French wheelie bin (Renault Scenic) for over 4 years now. It is certainly very good when you want to shift stuff and junk, and also good for carrying 3 adults in the back. Plenty of room in the boot for the mother in law, which is very spacious. The downsides to owning a French car is the cost of work and repairs as the car gets older, I recently had a hi pressure diesel pump changed and this set me back a grand! That is why I have only given the rating 4 stars instead of 5. I have carried all sorts of stuff in the back, all my work kit, a huge double bed from Ikea, which was flat packed but the chunky mattress wasn’t. All in all a great car.

Submitted: 2010-02-27 | ID: 46420

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

George, Cambridgeshire

Renault Scenic Expression 2004

3 star review

I bought this car second-hand at the 3 year point but thankfully I had paid to have an extended 3 year AA warranty included in the price. This more than paid for itself within the first year after 2 trips back to the garage to replace the coils and more recently to have the drivers electric window mechanism replaced, a commonality with these cars it seems. I would advise to steer clear of servicing at Renault garages as not only are their services over priced, but I’ve checked before and after the work is carried out and found that they haven’t even done what is stated on the service sheet, so it’s no wonder faults continue to develop on them. Otherwise, it has been a fantastic family car proving reliable day in and out on the daily chores and being a comfortable ride on longer holiday trips. You pay for what you get though, and you have to remember that aftersales service is just a big a money maker for the car industry these days! Bon voyage ;D<br /><br />

Submitted: 2010-02-17 | ID: 46426

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Julie Starrs, Ireland

Renault Scenic 1.5dci80 2004

1 star review

I’m having major problems with this car. First of all the heater broke. Got that fixed then the 2 key cards stopped working; got messages on the screen saying card not detected.Cost £260 for 2 new key cards; had them ordered and paid for through my Renault dealer on the Tuesday, then on the Wednesday the car halts whilst I’m driving it and says injection failure. I had to have the car towed to my parents house and it’s been sat there ever since. My mechanic has been up to look at it and he said just to scrap it ’cos it’s not worth fixing; there goes £4500. Have just rang Renault and have been told that to fix the problem it could cost anything up to £3000!!! So now I’m sitting with a car that won’t drive and 2 new keys waiting to be programmed to the car. We bought the car Sept 2008 and it’s only really been used for school runs and shopping, just general usage. NEVER, EVER WILL I BUY A RENAULT AGAIN!!

Submitted: 2010-02-03 | ID: 46419

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Eric Lees, Lancashire

Renault Scenic 1.4 Dynamique 2004

1 star review

The worst car I have ever owned. It’s just done 50000 miles, I bought it at 14000 miles - just at the end of the 3 year warnnty. It’s had reversing light problems which would not work, bulbs ok, new switch fuse ok, but cost £56 to fix, said it was a wiring problem; new water pump £250 - was leaking; new passenger electric window unit £300; now it looks like it needs a new head gasket heater blower resistor pack needed replacing £399.

Responses to this review

Where is the head gasket heater blower resistor pack located? - from Dumfriesshire

Submitted: 2010-01-21 | ID: 46406

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Peter, County Londonderry

Renault Scenic 1.9 dci Privilege 2004

1 star review

Bought this car when it was about a year old, and loved it, very little problems for the first few years, but as other people have reported at 5 years it just seems to fall apart. Heater not working properly, sunroof not working, keyless entry not working properly, clutch has gone, £1000 drive shaft gone, £300 aircon doesn’t work... and the list grows, don’t buy one more than 3 years old, that’s for sure.

Submitted: 2010-01-20 | ID: 46408

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Steve Clark, Northamptonshire

Renault Scenic 1.4 Authantique 2004

4 star review

I purchased this car from new mainly due to its spacious size and safety rating. I have covered 25000 miles with no major problems apart from a set of ignition coils that cost me £38 a set and I fitted myself with ease. The fuel economy ranges from 33 to 45 miles per gallon and if careful up to 50 can be achieved. The car is easy to do oil change etc for the diy person. I find there is ample power when there is 2 in the car and motorway driving is good as the car is very stable and can cruise at over 80mph all day. My only gripes are the passenger seat doesn’t recline fully to accomodate long loads and the centre gear change housing can make the left leg feel restricted. With the rear seats fully removed this car carries as much as a small van so is ideal for many uses.

Submitted: 2009-12-27 | ID: 46416

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Ben Hoffman, Kent

Renault Scenic privilage 2004

1 star review

I bought this car from new. In the last year I have had nothing but electrical problems. I will never buy a Renault care ever again and I strongly advise all people to take heed. Last summer BOTH of my front electric windows failed and I had to replace their motors. One went then a month later the other . 720 pounds. then we had a little wire in the dash which operated the Air Conditioning and that caused smoking and burnt out. 526 pounds. Now my dashboard has completely died and I got conned into the 100 pound inherent problem that Watchdog found and Renault are not admitting to. Renault UK was not helpful at all. DONT BUY RENAULTS.

Submitted: 2009-12-17 | ID: 46415

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Tim, England

Renault Scenic 2004

1 star review

I am sat here writing this because the battery on my renault has failed again... This is the fifth time in two weeks. I won’t bother with listing the other problems I’ve had with it. I have always driven a renault but this is the worst car I have ever had the misfortune to own and along with almost everyone else on this site will never go near one again. Damned shame because they are great family cars in so many other ways.

Submitted: 2009-12-08 | ID: 46413

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Louise Collings, Lothians

Renault Scenic 2004

1 star review

I wouldn’t recommend anyone to buy a Renault. Everyone I know with a Scenic has electrical problems amongst a long list of other items! My car has been stalling regularly. The garage couldn’t find what was causing it, having replaced the battery and given it a service. The car started stalling again a day after leaving the garage and is now on my drive and won’t start. The electric roof hasn’t worked for 4 years, one of the rear seats won’t go down. I hate it and can’t wait to get another non-french car.

Responses to this review

Hiya, I had the same problem and took it to an electrician that I use, he told me it wasn’t electrical but a rubber pipe on the engine managment system, which he changed and it runs great now. This pipe is situated under the top right hand side of the engine compartment - from Lancashire

Submitted: 2009-12-05 | ID: 46411

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Dave, Staffordshire

Renault Scenic 1.5 DCi 2004

5 star review

Bought the car second-hand 2 years ago. I can’t fault it. Comfortable, spacious and very economical (averages around 56 mpg). Whilst I would much prefer to buy a British car, sadly this is no longer possible. Of all the imported cars I would certainly buy another Scenic. Top marks.

Responses to this review

I take it that you work for Renault? I bought a 04 megane 2 years ago and have spent some serious money on a bundle of scrap !!! NEVER BUY RENAULT AGAIN - Ian Rolleston from County Down

Submitted: 2009-09-14 | ID: 46399

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

DCAM, England

Renault Scenic 2004

1 star review

RENAULT SCENIC II 1.6 authentic comf 5 door 2004 faulty? Check emmisions fault plus motor symbol and odometer reading extra kilometers now instrument panel is dead and car is cutting out when idling. This is the worst car I have purchased in my life and will never ever buy a French car again and will be certainly telling everyone I know about the problems I’ve had.

Responses to this review

I agree entirely. I have a 54 Scenic 1.6 VVT - pile of c**p that is always going wrong with electrical faults. Wish I bought a C-Max! - from Devon

I totally agree with you guys. I bought my 54-plate 1.6 Scenic Rush VVT in February 09. It was trouble free until October 09 then required: a new battery, new coils and now....apparently the motorized throttle Pot is going to cost me 350 pounds to replace as the without this the pile of rubbish will keep cutting out!! I wish I’d kept my Focus! - John Love from Lanarkshire

I’ve got a 2005 model, which I’ve had for 5 months and already I’ve had to replace the dashboard electrics due to it going dead with only 14k on the clock. Now the check emmisions warning has come on. What the hell’s this for? Told by Renault they would do a diagonostic check for £20 and then tell me how much it will cost to repair; they already know the fault!! I had a ford galaxy for 7 years and never had a problem. - This is the first and last Renault!- Craig from Staffordshire

I’m in the same boat and have spend hundreds and still no closer to finding the fault. My car will not idle - from Essex

Submitted: 2009-08-28 | ID: 46394

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Steve, Northamptonshire

Renault Scenic 1.9dci 2004

1 star review

I feel very disappointed in my Scenic 1.9dci. I have had this vehcle from new. It has had a few problems with the electrics but the car has been quite reliable up until 3 months ago when I had a major rattle in the engine. I then had to pay £82 for the privelege for the dealer to tell me that the bearings on the crankshaft are going and with 62,000 miles on the clock and being only four and a half years old, I feel this is a major fault on the engine and have heard of other vehicles having this same problem. A big thumbs down for Renault reliability!!!!!!!!!! Both dealer and Renault are not interested in helping me. A car that doesn’t last as long as my kettle!!

Responses to this review

I’m thinking I may have the same issue with my car, a 06 model 70k. Does it make a thumping noise while turning or bearing right? what happens when they do go? - from Wiltshire

Submitted: 2009-08-26 | ID: 46392

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Brian Matthews, Northern Ireland

Renault Scenic 1.4 Dynamique 2004

1 star review

The worst car I have ever owned, and I once owned a Datsun Cherry. My car has about 60,000 miles on and already a rear window motor has gone (400 Euro’s), the other one is about to go (another 400 Euro’s), a rear wheel bearing has gone (200 Euro’s), the sunroof no longer works (probably the motor, 400 Euro’s) and the driver door check strap has gone (400 Euro’s). I am trying to ignore the noise from the front wheel or suspension when I go over a bump as I’m sure it will cost big. I also own a 9 year old Saab 9-3 which has never given any trouble. It was obviously built to last. Renault shouldn’t be allowed to make and sell cars and I will strongly advise anyone I know not to go near any Renault model.

Responses to this review

Did you find out what was causing the noise? Mine is also making a noise, especially when going over bumps. Have had it in at 3 garages, and nobody can find the problem - Sharon Garside from England

I have had 2 Laguna’s with that problem, it turned out to be the shocker top mounts. Don’t take it to Renault - John Hall from Northumberland

In reply to the question about the noise, I did find out what it was. Amazingly it was something minor, a loose bolt somewhere under the engine. It only cost a few quid to have someone locate the problem and tighten it. However, since I wrote the review the other rear window motor has gone, I’m not bothering to get it fixed. Also the automatic handbrake packed in, which cost 730 euros to replace. DO NOT BUY ONE OF THESE CARS. (My 10 year old Saab 9-3 is still going like a dream) - Brian Matthews from Ireland

Still have this car. Now front passenger window motor is kaput. Haven’t bothered replacing it. Replaced the 2nd rear window motor with a non-Renault part for a quarter of the price, works fine. Also the dashboard display is gone, the clock, fuel consumption, trip mileage etc. reset every time the key card is taken out and the speedo cannot now be set to read in kilometers. Please do not buy one of these or any Renault - Brian Matthews from Ireland

Submitted: 2009-07-22 | ID: 46542

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Richard Wright, Yorkshire

Renault Scenic 1.5 DCI Expression. 2004

1 star review

Nothing but problems with this car as soon as the 12 mnth dealers warranty ran out (Renault dealer). Had it just over 18 mnths, had a new EGR valve (diagnosed by renault), new mass airflow sensor, another new sensor (cant remeber what and still hasn’t solved the problem (engine under load, injection light and no power) My local garage sick of seeing me (every 2 weeks) then to top it off failure of slave cylinder in clutch which results in a complete gearbox disassembly just to get to and repair, boot catch refuses to release or lock depending on its mood. Needless to say wont touch French cars with a barge pole now, clutch repaired (and off to part ex it for summat more reliable). Steer well clear if you can. On the flip side, I had a good garage who didn’t rip me off unlike Renault who charged me £85 to diagnose the issue grrr.

Submitted: 2009-07-08 | ID: 46541

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Julie Holland, Cheshire

Renault Scenic Grand Dymanique 2004

1 star review

Giving a star rating of 1 for this car is being very generous. We have had a ridiculous amount of problems with this it ending in it needing a new engine and so I am at last getting rid! We have a number of friends who also have a Grand Scenic and all but one have also had problems. When it is working it is great but this is sadly very rare! I will NEVER buy another Renault. Bought from Arnold Clarke in Warrington, never again!!!

Submitted: 2009-05-18 | ID: 46548

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Nick Schemanoff, England

Renault Scenic Expression dci80 2004

4 star review

Well... Don’t believe all that Renault and their dealers say as they fib (to put it mildly). I bought my Scenic last October to save some money on fuel... It’s averaged around 55 mpg which I’m delighted with... my BIG problem came when I pulled out of my supermarket car park and lots of alarm bells and flashing lights told me I had a parking brake problem (now is this a case of Renault overcoming a problem that never existed or what!!!... an automatic hand brake)... I took it to my main dealer who told me the motor unit was sealed (first fib) and it needed replacing at a cost of £370 for the unit (plus VAT) plus fitting (another £200 quid)... I asked my dealer in Plymouth if I could get a refurbished one or one from a breaker... The answer was no as it needed to be programmed to my car and it was a one-off system that couldn’t be reprogrammed (second fib). I wasn’t happy with that so I called Renault... they said the same (third fib)... I tried the dealer in Saltash... same answer (fourth fib). I then by chance ended up at a Renault specialist in Exmouth (Carlton Garage... excellent guys). I asked them if I could use a part from a breaker... they said no problem; they’ve done a few... I got one for £40 and they reprogrammed and fitted it for £80... Problem solved... apart from that the cars excellent, very reliable, comfortable and cheap to run.

Responses to this review

My hand brake got stuck in the on position so I pulled the release rope. Renault then told me it was the motor and it had packed in. The new hand brake system required was £750 from Renault so I got a local garage to fit a new one for £300 less - Gutted Very from Leicestershire

I do have the same problem with my Scenic and Renault doesn’t want to know. They said it was the motor on the hand brake that was faulty and nothin to do with them - David Irvine from Northern Ireland

I have had the same problem with Renault. When I went to the dealers about the parking brake fault they said it would cost roughly £650 and £75 per hour to fix it that only a Renault dealer could fix it. I wasn’t happy with this so went to try to find someone else to help me, in the mean time Renault contacted me by letter to ask me to bring in my scenic as there was a fault with the parking brake only for them to tell me when I went over that I would have to pay to have it fixed (same old same). Then I went to an auto spark who said it was a fault with the circuit board and it was up to Renault to fix it as this shouldn’t happen. Could you tell me the name of the part you got? Thanks - Dee Irvine from County Antrim

Submitted: 2009-04-21 | ID: 46555

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Graham Gilbert, Neath Port Talbot

Renault Scenic 1.5 diesel 2004

1 star review

I have a fault in the braking system. I have got about an inch of play in the pedal and then the brake bites making the car tilt forward. I have tried a neighbours scenic and the pedal goes down smoothly.

Submitted: 2008-10-14 | ID: 46576

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Peter Evans, Kent

Renault Scenic 2004

1 star review

Since my last report it has had another electrical fault which stopped it in its tracks, discs and pads, and clutch replaced and now two weeks ago it dropped out of 6th gear on the motorway a couple of times and has now had a brand new gearbox fitted! Total bill for repairs since the warranty ran out is about 15k! Thank God I am not the lease company...

Submitted: 2008-05-16 | ID: 46575

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Peter Evans, Kent

Renault Scenic Grande Scenic 2004

1 star review

Got a top spec 2004 Grande Scenic on a lease which whilst the most practical, economical, child friendly and comfy car I have ever had has today broken down for the sixth time in a year. Since the warranty ran out last May the lease company (thank god I took the maintenance package out!!!) have spent �8,600 on repairs. These have been to date Oil pump and turbo (�2,000), complete engine 3 months later due to oil starvation (�5,000), discs, pads, batttery and clutch (�1,600) and today its died again. Its done 80,000 easy motorway cruising miles and hasn’t been thrashed or abused. I am on first name terms with the Renault garage staff and most of the AA in Kent! How can Renault produce cars like this?

Responses to this review

Many of the correspondents are commenting on cars which are fairly old, i.e. 2001/3/4, and often have covered many miles. Surely it is a fact that well worn mass produced cars break, and the scenic was somewhat infamous for this in its earlier incarnations? Can we have any comments on 2009/2010 models? - Duncan Morrison from England<br />

Submitted: 2008-03-25 | ID: 46568

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

The latest Renault Scenic) deals on our sister site ContractHireAndLeasing.com (links open in a new window)

    Other people need your help

    Your review will help others decide which vehicle to buy. By spending just a little bit of time filling out a consumer car review you can share your experiences with other drivers, giving information only owners will talk about, no marketing spiel, just the real thing. We publish all reviews, whether you rate the vehicle high or low. We are impartial. We are independent. We are committed to 100% real reviews. Please give others the benefit of your advice: give them your review.

    Your review will be checked for offensive language within the next few days and then put on RoadTestReports.co.uk and all of our partners websites.

    Have your say!

    ^ Back to Top