1998 Hiace reviews

26 July 2017

Search

1998 Toyota Hiace reviews

Toyota Hiace reviews by year of make: 1953 1983 1984 1985 1986 1987 1988 1989 1990 1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 Read all reviews


andy booth, Blackburn with Darwen

Toyota Hiace 1997 - 2006

5 star review

I have a rare 2001 UK 300 GX LWB last of the bullett proof non turbo's .... I love it to death, im the second owner, ive had it 6 yrs and done some serious mods, even the VW boys are impressed, great great van, never let me down even though its only done 90k , way better than any other van on the road, superb Toyota reliability incredible build quality, im even going to take it abroad when i move over there..... I would have another in a heart beat, all i say is buy one you'll never regret it ...... Its a shame Toyota dont offer mods or upgrades like the VW's & its taken me years to find stuff for it, i have found some brand new genuine chrome grills which were an option, mines got stainless side bars Japanese headlamps & indicators, Toyota motor sport steering wheel, 1/2 leather hybrid seats, chrome tailgate handle, folding center table, Granvia side door with genuine limo glass, 17" HILUX Invincible alloys, chrome grill, bull bar, under seat storage, etc etc

Submitted: 2017-05-29 | ID: 141610

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Jim, Cheshire

Toyota Hiace 1997 - 2006

3 star review

Hi, I'm about to buy a 2003 hiace from a friend and I need to change the front middle seatbelt from a lap belt to a standard chest belt. Please can you advise what I need to do. I live in Cheshire and willing to try fit myself or pay a garage to do it but not sure what I require. Many thanks

Submitted: 2017-05-20 | ID: 141419

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

John, East Sussex

Toyota Hiace 1983 - 2006

5 star review

Hello, I have a 1989 MK2, 8 seater Toyota Hiace Super Custom, 2.4 diesel with a 5 speed box, I love this bus, I payed £500, around 15 years ago, admittedly it needed a radiator, tires, brakes, exhaust, a few steering components, and a bit of bodywork, but it drove fine, and came with a current MOT, I drive it everywhere, and in 2010 me and my partner decided to make a few simple modifications, using the wood of an old waldrobe we made shelves for the bus, and a make shift kitchen in the back of our bus, you see, we had no money for a professional job, but wanted to create a sort of camper, I wired it up for a hookup in campsites, bought ourselves a portable gas cooker, fitted in a microwave, the middle seats layed down to create our double bed, made curtains, wired in a small DVD player, purchased a second hand roof lock box, made final checks, and gave it an engine oil service, and decided to take a trip through Europe, our trip took us through Northern France, down to San Sebastian, on to Gibraltar to visit family, then we hugged the South coast of Spain through to Monaco, OMG the sights we saw were amazing, people were all smiles to see this old bus on the road, and the whole journey was not just for us to enjoy the trip, but to look after the Toyota (camper), we cleaned it everyday, made regular checks everyday, this was a journey that we will never forget, and the complete 7000km road round trip ran without missing a beat, I don't think this adventure would have been possible or even as reliable in a VW camper, since our road trip, we have been around Wales, Cornwall, with regular trips to London to visit the Parents, and regularly used as an everyday means of transport, its polished most weekends, its also waxoiled, I cant ever see me getting rid of it, I've not seen another like it, we feel lucky to have it, and we have decided to take another roadtrip through Europe in 2018 although I'm now hearing the beginning of a thrust bearing noise, so time for a clutch replacement, other than that, I'll tackle some minor bodywork, and good to go, recap, I have learnt so much working on this old bus, replaced what needs replacing, treat it carefully, change the oil regularly, keep it clean, and believe this old bus will keep going for ever, they don't make the like this anymore.

Submitted: 2017-05-02 | ID: 141062

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Juz, Denbighshire

Toyota Hiace 1983 - 2006

5 star review

I needed a van that I could use for running kids around, to get me to work and to be used as a surf bus, i did a little research on reliable vans and I bought an 02 hiace with 158000 on the clock for £1495 in June 2016, it's now November and the van is on 173000, it hasn't missed a beat, last weekend I drove it up to the top of Scotland and back 1250mls round trip, I love this van!!

Responses to this review

My 2002 Hiace is very nice to drive , except in the wet or impossible in the ice, Going round roundabout's or round corners. Has been life threatening. The back end of the van has turned round and faced the other way at least three times since I bought it. The tyres are Brimstone and are newish .About 6 thousand miles. It has made me slow down and other Van;s fly past me with no fear. I have put 4 bags of ballast in the back to keep the back down. But it still follow's me round on a roundabout on a damp road . Can any one suggest how to keep this vehicle on the road without the fear when on wet surfaces. - Barry brown from Kent

.....try steering into the slide?? - from Denbighshire

It's rear wheel drive.... Mine slides everywhere. Lots of "fun" going up narrow bendy lanes. Just hoping nothing's coming down. I've even put Winter tyres on the back: Hardly any difference. Apparently it's common with any RWD. However Mine's a 2007 job and I like it, converted to day van/camping. Never misses a beat and will plod forever.:) - from Gwynedd

Empty Hiace vans are notorious for their hard springing and 'lively' back ends. I suppose they're sprung for carrying a ton of bricks. Our campervan conversions (2003 280GS, 2.5l diesel, high top conversion by Hillside) has enough weight to calm things down, and its even better with a full tank of fuel and 75 litres of water. I guess the answer is to slow down on those bumpy corners- after three years driving the beast I guess I'm used to it. Incidentally, if your having doing a conversion, invest in some decent soundproofing - heavy pads inside the exterior panels and around the wheel arches pay dividends in reducing that rear end tyre noise. happy days! - from South Yorkshire

*update* Done over 30,000m in my Hiace now, took it for an MOT today and it passed with no advisorys, brilliant van!! - from Denbighshire

Submitted: 2016-11-12 | ID: 136648

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Lee, Nottinghamshire

Toyota Hiace 1983 - 2006

5 star review

Hi I needed a van quick . My t4 had let me down . Again .. So I found myself looking at the hiace 2004 deisel . Found one with 211.000 miles . Full service . This was in 2009 . I have run this van day in day out 6 days a wk . What an incredible van . I have had four tyes and two batteries one and 1 lower link arm in a total seven years . the van now has 232.000 miles . These are by far the best van on the road today . Don't hesitate just go and buy one now . You won't be disappointed ..

Submitted: 2016-05-27 | ID: 132090

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

gary, Ireland

Toyota Hiace 1983 - 2006

5 star review

bought a swb 2001 hiace 2.4 straght deisel with 132k on it,(owned 1 year) ok not the fastest but not too bad on fuel. so very happy with that, seeing as i do a bit of mileage, hope to keep this van for a while will update next year

Submitted: 2016-02-26 | ID: 128212

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Phil Gilpin, West Yorkshire

Toyota Hiace 1983 - 2006

5 star review

Bought a Hiace 2004 280GS 2495CC In 2008 147000 miles same clutch exhaust, service it every year, only just changed brake pads, had to put 2 new batteries on, but starts upevery time, She pulls our 22ft caravan all over England,and the Low turbo keeps the speed up constantly. Only thing I would say is it is very light on the back, and skids in the slightest snow.even with winter tyres, I would buy another one, but want to keep this one for a classic,

Responses to this review

Could you tell me why it has two Batteries - Bert Love from City of Edinburgh

Could you tell me why it has two Batteries - Bert Love from City of Edinburgh

Submitted: 2015-10-21 | ID: 122554

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Guy Keath, Worcestershire

Toyota Hiace 1983 - 2006

5 star review

Most reliable van ever made never had to change anything other than service consumables still even on original clutch and exhaust at 140000 miles this van has never not started or broken down and at 15 years old almost rust free. So what if its a little slow its worth it. If they still made these vans I would buy another new I am so glad I bought it when I see my mates Transits and Sprinters rust away in under 10 years and the cost of running Transporters Ha.

Submitted: 2015-09-20 | ID: 121392

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

justin, Australia

Toyota Hiace 1983 - 2003

3 star review

I got a 1988 Hi ace and it has 4 gears box and i t has a bad rattle like some thing is spinning in the box does any one know what it could be

Responses to this review

Could be the alternater I had similar issue with my 2004 model mechanic isolated by removing belt and noise disappeared The noise is annoying but I haven't bothered to replace it and seven years later it's still no worse - from New Zealand

Submitted: 2015-08-10 | ID: 119573

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Mequel, Bahamas, The

Toyota Hiace 1997 - 2006

5 star review

Thank you Trebor from Lancaster I changed the blinker relay in my hiace van now the turn signal works fine ,I took the part off my old 2000 desiel hiace and install it in my 1999 it looks different but it fit ,can this damage my cumputer

Submitted: 2015-05-27 | ID: 116506

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Mequel, Bahamas, The

Toyota Hiace 1983 - 2006

1 star review

I would like to delete my account and all question ask because I'm not getting a response

Responses to this review

This isn't a review, it's a statement from a petulant child who didn't get an answer to their question immediately. - from Portugal

Submitted: 2015-05-27 | ID: 116505

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Other people need your help

Your review will help others decide which vehicle to buy. By spending just a little bit of time filling out a consumer car review you can share your experiences with other drivers, giving information only owners will talk about, no marketing spiel, just the real thing. We publish all reviews, whether you rate the vehicle high or low. We are impartial. We are independent. We are committed to 100% real reviews. Please give others the benefit of your advice: give them your review.

Your review will be checked for offensive language within the next few days and then put on RoadTestReports.co.uk and all of our partners websites.

Have your say!

Phyllis Love, New Zealand

Toyota Hiace 1983 - 2003

4 star review

Hi there. I have an annoying problem which has just cropped up. I have a 2006 Toyota Hiace 10 seater minibus (petrol), loved for 2 years without issue. Noticed the other day, when putting it into Reverse, the 3 light glows (low gear) but goes out when put back into drive. Now when taking the key out everything goes out but the next morning the dash lights are glowing, as if the keys are in, so the battery is dead. Any ideas? Has anyone had /solved this problem before? Thanks, Phyllis

Submitted: 2015-05-21 | ID: 116308

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Bob, Canada

Toyota Hiace 1983 - 2006

5 star review

Hello, how's everybody? I purchased a 1994 Hiace in April 2013 in Japan, it is an ex Gov. fire truck off a little island in southern Japan that had 9,996 Km. original. I looked for a while and am I glad I held out. This is four doors with a pick up box on the rear. The first thing my friend (Toyota trained) did was remove the radiator and have it tested, changed the water pump and timing belt, all fluids. I drive this daily and it's amazing, the fuel mileage is about 31 mpg. and ample power for what it is. I love this truck and in Kamloops B.C. it gets a lot of looks. I will keep this truck for as long as I drive I hope (I'm 60). My only regret is that I didn't know about them before 2012 when I saw my first one and fell in love with it and the search was on. Good luck to all and have fun.

Responses to this review

I am researching Hiaces with an intention to purchase one. Your story interests me, especially travel to Japan to purchase one. Would you be willing to send me your email address so that I might discuss your experiences in your acquisition? - zelik segal from Canada

I am researching Hiaces with an intention to purchase one. Your story interests me, especially travel to Japan to purchase one. Would you be willing to send me your email address so that I might discuss your experiences in your acquisition? - zelik segal from Canada

Hello Zelik. If you email me I have 3 Hiaces for sale hiacehunt@gmail.com. - from Canada

Hi I'm interested in purchasing a campervan and I've always owned Toyota cars, due to reliability. I want to convert into a little mobile home for me and a doggie. Thoughts on things I should look out for? Costs associated with maintenance, etc. I'll be in the UK - anyone have any recommendations of where to go to buy an inexpensive one in the UK? Thanks, Faithe - from Surrey

Submitted: 2015-01-17 | ID: 109701

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

dave, Derbyshire

Toyota Hiace 1997 - 2006

5 star review

I bought my van from a dealership and have owned it over 5 years. I have covered over 150k. Still on the original clutch at 202k. It has never broken down jap solid build at its finest.

Submitted: 2014-10-06 | ID: 104168

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Bjorn, Netherlands

Toyota Hiace 1983 - 2006

5 star review

I now own a Hiace 2.4D Van. Before me it was bought new by my Grandfather. It now has 162.218km on it in 18 years. My Grandfather always thrashed it maximum powerr all the time. The beautiful 2.4D engine loves to be thrashed. Now with 162.218 km on it it realy starts to work! Never anything wrong with it. It has been in my life for 18 years... well to me there is nothing better. I love the Hiace, I even call her my Green Queen. I will keep it as long as I can. I don`t want any modern rattlebox. 1. It fires up when you look at it (any type of weather) 2. Good fuel usage (1L for 14km *Diesel* 3. No oil usage 4. Maximum speed 145km.h 5. No problems with a hill. I have driven Merc/Ford/Renault/Iveco Vans, they all fail. Toyota Hiace 2.4D. It's Simply THE BEST!

Responses to this review

Never get tired of reading these reviews, I ran a 2.4 diesel Hiace compact for seven years it was a superb van. And you are correct they are the best van on the road, I now have run a 2.5 diesel D4D Hiace for nearly seven years and will only replace it with another Toyota. - Chris Holt from Yorkshire

Never get tired of reading these reviews, I ran a 2.4 diesel Hiace compact for seven years it was a superb van. And you are correct they are the best van on the road, I now have run a 2.5 diesel D4D Hiace for nearly seven years and will only replace it with another Toyota. - Chris Holt from Yorkshire

Please I would like to know which one is better out of 2004 Toyota hiace automatic transmission and 2004 Toyota hiace manual transmission? Planning to buy one but was a bit confused on which transmission to get. - from Nigeria

Please I would like to know which one is better out of 2004 Toyota hiace automatic transmission and 2004 Toyota hiace manual transmission? Planning to buy one but was a bit confused on which transmission to get. - from Nigeria

Hi Chris, They are just simply the best around. If mine ever gets worn out ill overhaul the engine and it will be good to go again. Mine just keeps on getting better and fitter. (Shell Fuelsafe Diesel combined with Shell Vpowerdiesel. Regular oilchance (wintertime 5W40 )The engine is a dream. So are the extremely durable brakes still got the original brakediscs aswell as original Drumbrakes which are only halfway worn after 167.467km. Sir from Nigeria, My experience is a manual gearbox always wins from an automatic. A couple of points that make the manual win over the Automatic: 1. You decide when to chance gear (Cold weather that's very important to prevent a blown headgasket) 2. Fuelusage is recuded 3. In wintertime you can use the clutch and play with it in order to get out of a snowbank. 4. The engine doesnt get worn out as quickly. So Buy a manual is my advice. Greetz Bjorn - from Netherlands

Submitted: 2014-08-22 | ID: 101910

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Griffyn, Australia

Toyota Hiace 1997 - 2006

5 star review

I bought a 2007 manual Hi Ace for my mobile bicycle repair business back in 2009. I had it for 5 years, it had 36k on the clock & never let me down once. After 180,000 I stalled in reverse & recked the transmission, it also needed new tyres new shocks new brakes new coolant system new thermo & had a heap of body damage repaired, over $10,000 worth & was cheaper to trade up so...... .......I traded it in for the new model & will never buy another brand of van. These things a bullet proof, apprentice proof & dare I say it women proof. I can rate these things high enough they really are the best van on the market. Griffyn Branagh Director No Limit Cycle repairs

Responses to this review

I'm a woman and I've been driving my Hiace for 7 years - I love it but it's 96 and the T belt light has just come on. The MOT test and tax are due and it probably will need 3 new tyres. I`m wondering if it's time to finally let it go. Your comments about it being women-proof is rubbish...get over yourself - Selina Harris from Ireland

Submitted: 2014-08-04 | ID: 100878

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

simon, Cornwall

Toyota Hiace 1983 - 2006

4 star review

Had my 1996 hi ace for 7 yrs it only let me down once when the battery failed easy fix! it never failed an MOT and i didn't have to touch it, it never ever went wrong, i didn't even have to change exhaust/brake pads/shoes in 7yrs!!!!just servicing , without doubt the toughest most reliable vehicle i have ever owned, even ran sweet on neat cooking oil (when i could get it) alas its achilles heal was its thirst for juice and eventually i let it go for a fiat scudo which is superb on fuel but nowhere near as well built, if i could afford a much newer one i,d definitely have another.

Submitted: 2014-07-24 | ID: 100310

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Frobisher Mudenda, Zambia

Toyota Hiace 1997 - 2006

1 star review

My 1999 4WD Toyota Hiace Van had oil transmission leaks from the breather on two occasions after driving for about 10Km on each occassion. There were no noticeable changes in the transmission oil level when checked using the dip stick. Could there be a problem in the gear box?

Submitted: 2014-05-14 | ID: 95525

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Keith MARSLAND , Hertfordshire

Toyota Hiace 1997 - 2006

5 star review

Bought my 2002 88bhp gs 7 yrs ago at 104,000 miles. Not one breakdown, misfire or weird problems. Did start to lose water very slowly and when I had cambelt done at 138,000 miles, garage said water pump had very slight leak. New waterpump, diff and gearbox oil change. Had shock absorbers and twin batteries changet last year. Now 150,000 miles with new discs and pads and still on original clutch even though I commute to north London. So easy to drive and pull away. Does 30 mpg or 400 miles to tank in London or 40 mpg/500 miles to south of France. I would rather pay bit more on fuel than heaps of trouble of other makes.

Submitted: 2014-04-13 | ID: 94155

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Trevor Brandon, London

Toyota Hiace Gs LWB 1998

5 star review

Purchased my van about 10 years ago. Quite simply the best vehicle I have owned. Only problem being faulty rear internal light bulb (90p) Halfords. 100% reliable now done 122,000 miles. Not the fastest or the biggest, but most certainly the best. Just buy!

Responses to this review

Will Trevor get this review? If so which engine is in your van? I am looking at a 2.7 petrol engined 2000 vehicle and cannot find info about mpg. Any guidance gratefully received - Adrian Fielding from Cornwall

Hi Adrian im sorry for my late reply. My van has the 2.4 D engine on a 98 S plate I mainly use around town covering small areas and get around mid 30s per 5L.It has now covered nearly 140, 000 miles and after 9 years required two new Toyota batteries. Still absolutely love it to bits.I do hope you are enjoying yours.Regs Trevor - Trevor Brandon from Essex

Hi Adrian im sorry for my late reply. My van has the 2.4 D engine on a 98 S plate I mainly use around town covering small areas and get around mid 30s per 5L.It has now covered nearly 140, 000 miles and after 9 years required two new Toyota batteries. Still absolutely love it to bits.I do hope you are enjoying yours.Regs Trevor - Trevor Brandon from Essex

Submitted: 2012-10-29 | ID: 48136

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Dave Benyon, Cornwall

Toyota Hiace diesel automatic 1998

1 star review

I’m writing about a mates experiences with SurfAce, TownAce and HiAce day-vans (or picnic wagons as I call them) VERY BAD although the vehicles were all about ten years old. The automatic gearboxes gave a lot of trouble refusing to change up into top gear until they were hot (old fluid and clogged filters?) Head gaskets blew as the vehicles were apt to boil on steep hills. After one repair the mechanic (not me!) made the gaffe of fitting a new oil filter without noticing that the old rubber ring was still stuck to the block. It was a pitch black night, no moon, no stars and no street lamps where the Ace spewed out its oil. I was called out to tow the beastie back but I don’t think this helped the transmission which was pretty knackered anyway. (Not many transmissions have a second hydraulic pump on the output shaft these days but the old Borg-Warner 35s from the 1960s could be towed OK) On that night all our torches mobile phones and cigarette lighters chose to fail and as those Toyotas are hard enough to work on in daylight over a pit, fixing it in the dark, cold and filth wasn’t really possible. The van survived for a few more months but rolled-over on a bend when the driver over-corrected after nodding off. According to the AA man these Aces are top of his list for roll-over incidents as the track width is so narrow compared to the height. (Japan taxes vehicles on width). There are also no Haynes manuals for these vehicles. Hopefully newer models are better but my impressions of Japanese machinery are that spares are extremely costly and back-up is difficult to obtain.

Submitted: 2011-01-31 | ID: 48101

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Other people need your help

Your review will help others decide which vehicle to buy. By spending just a little bit of time filling out a consumer car review you can share your experiences with other drivers, giving information only owners will talk about, no marketing spiel, just the real thing. We publish all reviews, whether you rate the vehicle high or low. We are impartial. We are independent. We are committed to 100% real reviews. Please give others the benefit of your advice: give them your review.

Your review will be checked for offensive language within the next few days and then put on RoadTestReports.co.uk and all of our partners websites.

Have your say!

^ Back to Top