1990 Hiace reviews

26 September 2016

Search

1990 Toyota Hiace reviews

Toyota Hiace reviews by year of make: 1953 1983 1984 1985 1986 1987 1988 1989 1990 1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 Read all reviews


Lee, Nottinghamshire

Toyota Hiace 1983 - 2006

5 star review

Hi I needed a van quick . My t4 had let me down . Again .. So I found myself looking at the hiace 2004 deisel . Found one with 211.000 miles . Full service . This was in 2009 . I have run this van day in day out 6 days a wk . What an incredible van . I have had four tyes and two batteries one and 1 lower link arm in a total seven years . the van now has 232.000 miles . These are by far the best van on the road today . Don't hesitate just go and buy one now . You won't be disappointed ..

Submitted: 2016-05-27 | ID: 132090

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

gary, Ireland

Toyota Hiace 1983 - 2006

5 star review

bought a swb 2001 hiace 2.4 straght deisel with 132k on it,(owned 1 year) ok not the fastest but not too bad on fuel. so very happy with that, seeing as i do a bit of mileage, hope to keep this van for a while will update next year

Submitted: 2016-02-26 | ID: 128212

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Phil Gilpin, West Yorkshire

Toyota Hiace 1983 - 2006

5 star review

Bought a Hiace 2004 280GS 2495CC In 2008 147000 miles same clutch exhaust, service it every year, only just changed brake pads, had to put 2 new batteries on, but starts upevery time, She pulls our 22ft caravan all over England,and the Low turbo keeps the speed up constantly. Only thing I would say is it is very light on the back, and skids in the slightest snow.even with winter tyres, I would buy another one, but want to keep this one for a classic,

Responses to this review

Could you tell me why it has two Batteries - Bert Love from City of Edinburgh

Could you tell me why it has two Batteries - Bert Love from City of Edinburgh

Submitted: 2015-10-21 | ID: 122554

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Guy Keath, Worcestershire

Toyota Hiace 1983 - 2006

5 star review

Most reliable van ever made never had to change anything other than service consumables still even on original clutch and exhaust at 140000 miles this van has never not started or broken down and at 15 years old almost rust free. So what if its a little slow its worth it. If they still made these vans I would buy another new I am so glad I bought it when I see my mates Transits and Sprinters rust away in under 10 years and the cost of running Transporters Ha.

Submitted: 2015-09-20 | ID: 121392

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

justin, Australia

Toyota Hiace 1983 - 2003

3 star review

I got a 1988 Hi ace and it has 4 gears box and i t has a bad rattle like some thing is spinning in the box does any one know what it could be

Submitted: 2015-08-10 | ID: 119573

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Mequel, Bahamas, The

Toyota Hiace 1983 - 2006

1 star review

I would like to delete my account and all question ask because I'm not getting a response

Submitted: 2015-05-27 | ID: 116505

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Phyllis Love, New Zealand

Toyota Hiace 1983 - 2003

4 star review

Hi there. I have an annoying problem which has just cropped up. I have a 2006 Toyota Hiace 10 seater minibus (petrol), loved for 2 years without issue. Noticed the other day, when putting it into Reverse, the 3 light glows (low gear) but goes out when put back into drive. Now when taking the key out everything goes out but the next morning the dash lights are glowing, as if the keys are in, so the battery is dead. Any ideas? Has anyone had /solved this problem before? Thanks, Phyllis

Submitted: 2015-05-21 | ID: 116308

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Bob, Canada

Toyota Hiace 1983 - 2006

5 star review

Hello, how's everybody? I purchased a 1994 Hiace in April 2013 in Japan, it is an ex Gov. fire truck off a little island in southern Japan that had 9,996 Km. original. I looked for a while and am I glad I held out. This is four doors with a pick up box on the rear. The first thing my friend (Toyota trained) did was remove the radiator and have it tested, changed the water pump and timing belt, all fluids. I drive this daily and it's amazing, the fuel mileage is about 31 mpg. and ample power for what it is. I love this truck and in Kamloops B.C. it gets a lot of looks. I will keep this truck for as long as I drive I hope (I'm 60). My only regret is that I didn't know about them before 2012 when I saw my first one and fell in love with it and the search was on. Good luck to all and have fun.

Responses to this review

I am researching Hiaces with an intention to purchase one. Your story interests me, especially travel to Japan to purchase one. Would you be willing to send me your email address so that I might discuss your experiences in your acquisition? - zelik segal from Canada

I am researching Hiaces with an intention to purchase one. Your story interests me, especially travel to Japan to purchase one. Would you be willing to send me your email address so that I might discuss your experiences in your acquisition? - zelik segal from Canada

Hello Zelik. If you email me I have 3 Hiaces for sale hiacehunt@gmail.com. - from Canada

Submitted: 2015-01-17 | ID: 109701

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Bjorn, Netherlands

Toyota Hiace 1983 - 2006

5 star review

I now own a Hiace 2.4D Van. Before me it was bought new by my Grandfather. It now has 162.218km on it in 18 years. My Grandfather always thrashed it maximum powerr all the time. The beautiful 2.4D engine loves to be thrashed. Now with 162.218 km on it it realy starts to work! Never anything wrong with it. It has been in my life for 18 years... well to me there is nothing better. I love the Hiace, I even call her my Green Queen. I will keep it as long as I can. I don`t want any modern rattlebox. 1. It fires up when you look at it (any type of weather) 2. Good fuel usage (1L for 14km *Diesel* 3. No oil usage 4. Maximum speed 145km.h 5. No problems with a hill. I have driven Merc/Ford/Renault/Iveco Vans, they all fail. Toyota Hiace 2.4D. It's Simply THE BEST!

Responses to this review

Never get tired of reading these reviews, I ran a 2.4 diesel Hiace compact for seven years it was a superb van. And you are correct they are the best van on the road, I now have run a 2.5 diesel D4D Hiace for nearly seven years and will only replace it with another Toyota. - Chris Holt from Yorkshire

Never get tired of reading these reviews, I ran a 2.4 diesel Hiace compact for seven years it was a superb van. And you are correct they are the best van on the road, I now have run a 2.5 diesel D4D Hiace for nearly seven years and will only replace it with another Toyota. - Chris Holt from Yorkshire

Please I would like to know which one is better out of 2004 Toyota hiace automatic transmission and 2004 Toyota hiace manual transmission? Planning to buy one but was a bit confused on which transmission to get. - from Nigeria

Please I would like to know which one is better out of 2004 Toyota hiace automatic transmission and 2004 Toyota hiace manual transmission? Planning to buy one but was a bit confused on which transmission to get. - from Nigeria

Hi Chris, They are just simply the best around. If mine ever gets worn out ill overhaul the engine and it will be good to go again. Mine just keeps on getting better and fitter. (Shell Fuelsafe Diesel combined with Shell Vpowerdiesel. Regular oilchance (wintertime 5W40 )The engine is a dream. So are the extremely durable brakes still got the original brakediscs aswell as original Drumbrakes which are only halfway worn after 167.467km. Sir from Nigeria, My experience is a manual gearbox always wins from an automatic. A couple of points that make the manual win over the Automatic: 1. You decide when to chance gear (Cold weather that's very important to prevent a blown headgasket) 2. Fuelusage is recuded 3. In wintertime you can use the clutch and play with it in order to get out of a snowbank. 4. The engine doesnt get worn out as quickly. So Buy a manual is my advice. Greetz Bjorn - from Netherlands

Submitted: 2014-08-22 | ID: 101910

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

simon, Cornwall

Toyota Hiace 1983 - 2006

4 star review

Had my 1996 hi ace for 7 yrs it only let me down once when the battery failed easy fix! it never failed an MOT and i didn't have to touch it, it never ever went wrong, i didn't even have to change exhaust/brake pads/shoes in 7yrs!!!!just servicing , without doubt the toughest most reliable vehicle i have ever owned, even ran sweet on neat cooking oil (when i could get it) alas its achilles heal was its thirst for juice and eventually i let it go for a fiat scudo which is superb on fuel but nowhere near as well built, if i could afford a much newer one i,d definitely have another.

Submitted: 2014-07-24 | ID: 100310

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Dave E, England

Toyota Hiace lwb 1990

5 star review

I’ve had a Hiace van for 16 years. So far still going stong, the best van I’ve had, just wish Toyota would import the new Hiace to the UK.

Responses to this review

Hi, are you selling your Toyota Hiace? - Saqib A from Yorkshire

Hi, I have an ’89 diesel Hiace for sale - one owner, 86k miles. Call 0780 298 9137 - Imran Haq from Lancashire

Submitted: 2011-03-17 | ID: 48079

Respond to this review | Have Your Say

Other people need your help

Your review will help others decide which vehicle to buy. By spending just a little bit of time filling out a consumer car review you can share your experiences with other drivers, giving information only owners will talk about, no marketing spiel, just the real thing. We publish all reviews, whether you rate the vehicle high or low. We are impartial. We are independent. We are committed to 100% real reviews. Please give others the benefit of your advice: give them your review.

Your review will be checked for offensive language within the next few days and then put on RoadTestReports.co.uk and all of our partners websites.

Have your say!

Other people need your help

Your review will help others decide which vehicle to buy. By spending just a little bit of time filling out a consumer car review you can share your experiences with other drivers, giving information only owners will talk about, no marketing spiel, just the real thing. We publish all reviews, whether you rate the vehicle high or low. We are impartial. We are independent. We are committed to 100% real reviews. Please give others the benefit of your advice: give them your review.

Your review will be checked for offensive language within the next few days and then put on RoadTestReports.co.uk and all of our partners websites.

Have your say!

^ Back to Top